Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Pear Tree Photography

Pear Tree Photography

Pear Tree Photography

Vancouver, British Columbia
4.9 out of 5 rating, 36 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
36 reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

36
  • RJ Domingo
    Rj Domingo Sent on 03/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best of the best!

    To say that we had the BEST of the best is truly an understatement!!!!

    We are from out of province and when we were looking for our potential photographers and videographers it was important for us to have that connection right from the get go. They were the only one who suggested to have a phone call rather than just exchanging emails. That we truly appreciated and after talking to them we knew we had to work with them. Throughout the process of wedding planning — their customer service has been phenomenal!!!

    We had David, Nicky, Ana, and Erik part of our wedding at Sea to Sky Gondola in Aug 2023. My husband (then fiancé) was blown away on how easy it was to be ourselves with them. David was very friendly and ensured that I was ok throughout our mini hike to our first look. Everyone was very approachable, friendly and professional and always ensured that they were there to capture every moment!!! We felt so comfortable to let them do their thing and trusted the whole process. We were quickly provided with our sneak peeks and everything has turned out amazing, we can’t wait to see the final edits!

    Thank you Pear Tree Photography, we know we had only met in person once and spent only a couple of hours during our wedding but we truly would like to say that we love and appreciate you guys for everything that you have done!!! You guys are truly the best!!!!!!!
  • William
    William Q. Sent on 03/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Genuine & Professional

    During the wedding planning process I remember telling my (then) fiancé that photography was VERY important to me and I wanted to be very particular about who we hired for the wedding. Coming from the acting industry, I knew how important it was to hire people who are not just talented but media artists who are passionate about the project.

    My (now) husband and I were completely blown away by the flexibility, professionalism, generosity and talent of Pear Tree Photography. From the start it has been evident that David & Irene truly care about the couple they are shooting and were willing to go above and beyond to make our vision come true. In the initial stages of planning, we had our venue fall through but David & Irene were so patient with us as we sorted out a new location. Additionally, they had no problem helping us with our wedding timeline, using their experience to give us feedback which would help the day go smoothly and without needing to pay more than necessary. During our meetings, David showed his genuine care for us by taking personal interest in learning about who we were and what we did outside of the wedding. By the time the wedding came around, I felt like I was shooting with a friend rather than someone I had hired.

    On the wedding day, David came an hour early to scope out the venue and assess the best locations for photos; meanwhile the other half of his team had to be extremely flexible as we did not have a confirmed location for our groom & groomsmen get ready until 12p that day - this was no problem for them. Throughout the day, David’s top priority was making sure the bride was comfortable while capturing the best photos.

    Of course, the meat of the review is the photos we received! David was so passionate and thrilled about our wedding that he returned over 100 sneak peek photos the following day with more to be expected in the coming weeks. The photos are simply incredible capturing joy, love, intimacy, style and fun. It has been a pleasure and a gift to receive their care, attention and service.
  • D
    D Yj Sent on 08/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing work! Definitely recommend!

    We are so impressed with David and Jeffs work for our wedding!
    It blew our minds how they capture the world in a light we never knew existed.
    They worked so harmoniously and professionally, everyone was so happy to have them at the party.
    Several of our guests approached us with extremely positive remarks about the photographers. 

    Their creativity and thoughtfulness exceeded our expectations on what was possible with photography. We couldn’t be happier with their work.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • V
    Victoria H. Sent on 25/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Photography Package

    Pear Tree Photography was incredible to work with. They were not only communicative, helpful, kind, and knowledgeable, but they also just simply took the most beautiful photos of our wedding - from getting ready through to the dance floor, they captured so many amazing moments and then edited them to perfection. We also worked with Pear Tree for our engagement photos two years prior. They were with us the whole way, even graciously allowing for two date changes to accommodate pandemic postponements. Awesome company, great people! We would work with them again and recommend them to anyone.
  • E
    Ena G. Sent on 26/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Pear Tree is amazing - 11/10 recommend!!

    To say we were blown away and amazed with Pear Tree Photography's service is an understatement. We had David, Sasha, Nicky, and Christie as part of our wedding in July 2022 and all of them were an absolute pleasure to work with. David was extremely patient and informative with all our questions throughout the process, flexible and accommodating to our requests, provided amazing wedding planning/timeline advice, and made us feel very comfortable. David was always very open to our ideas, and shared anticipated outcomes for what we wanted. He was very personable and made an effort to get to know us and our love story as a couple -he did this genuinely and with real interest which is rare. The engagement shoot was super fun and he provided lots of direction and guidance on how to stand/pose while still capturing our candid moments beautifully and to our vision. On the wedding day, the four of them were quick at scouting locations, efficient with capturing every aspect of the wedding, and it was clear they were very professional and knew exactly what needed to happen. We had a helicopter tour with only one extra seat, and Nicky was able to do both video and photo footage together which was really valuable. Most of all, we received a lot of positive feedback about Pear Tree team from both our parents, our entire wedding party, and many of our guests pointed out they were super friendly and fun to be around. The sneak peeks they shared with us were absolutely stunning and we have no doubt the rest of the products will exceed our expectations too. We feel David and the Pear Tree team went above and beyond to make us feel special and we are so grateful to have them as part of our day. We wholeheartedly recommend Pear Tree to anyone - they will not disappoint. Thank you so much David, Sasha, Nicky, and Christie!
  • Sidney
    Sidney N. Sent on 30/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 recommend! David is fantastic at what he does!!!

    David is a fantastic photographer!! He and Sasha took photos for my husband and I on our wedding day, and he took our engagement shoot photos as well. We couldn't have been happier with the results of both. He is friendly, personable and meticulous, and he will take the time to get to know you as a couple. He and his team are great at capturing the intimate little moments that you will treasure forever.

    David and Sasha, thanks again for giving us (and our friends and family) such great photos. You helped make our special day even more special!
  • Felicia
    Felicia L. Sent on 27/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top-notch service.

    It has been such a pleasure working with David and his team at Pear Tree Photography for my wedding at Cecil Green Park House. He was able to capture and deliver elements that we were looking for in our wedding pictures, such as brightness, unique shots, and natural editing. We had a last-minute change in the location of our bridal party pictures, and David and the team were quick on their feet to find a new location that we loved.

    I would definitely recommend working with Pear Tree Photography for your upcoming wedding or special event, as they are all so professional, kind-hearted, and they deliver quality work. Thank you so much, David and the crew, for making our dream wedding our reality and for capturing all the special moments with our family and friends.
  • S
    Sam Z. Sent on 27/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Proposal/Wedding Photography & Videography

    I have nothing but good things to say about David Tam.

    I had an idea for a surprise proposal which involved several secret photo sessions while my then-girlfriend and I were on various dates over the course of a year and initially contacted about 8-10 photographers / photography businesses around Vancouver to see who might be the best fit.

    Some places wanted at least 2-4 weeks notice before each session (not always easy to do when the point of each session was supposed to be candid and spontaneous). Others were charging really ridiculous prices per hour. Some did not want to do it outright because they didn't think shooting from afar and having to remain hidden would produce good photos.

    After communicating with David, I had no doubts that Pear Tree would be my choice. Initial impressions were that David was confident in his ability to carry out my vision and that he was very reasonably-priced. As the year went on, I also discovered he was very flexible (sometimes making it to a date with just a few days notice) and personable. Most importantly, despite keeping the photos a complete secret from my then-girlfriend and thus having no posed shots, all of them captured the moment perfectly.

    I was so impressed with David that I asked him to do the videography on the day of the proposal as well as both the photography and videography for our wedding day. There was very good communication and planning with David prior, to ensure that him and his team were on the same page as what my wife had in mind for the feel and type of photos she was hoping to capture. On the day of, David and his team were professional and efficient, working practically non-stop and taking us to multiple locations around Vancouver. They even stayed later than scheduled, to get one more final shot in, free of charge. The final products were authentic and exactly what my wife had wanted.

    5/5! Definitely would recommend.
  • N
    Nancy Sent on 25/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and friendly team, outstanding photos

    The Pear Tree team is attentive and thoughtful with their guidance during the shoot, without being intrusive. They strike an excellent balance of knowing where to be to obtain great angles and capture candid moments, without being in the way. When it is time to pose, they also are adaptable enough to work with a variety of people who have different comfort levels. The examples in his portfolio will speak for themselves, but we also thought their style and edits (for our engagement and wedding photo/video shoot) were both delightful and tasteful.

    An added bonus - if you and your family/friends are Cantonese speaking - you will really appreciate that David can speak Cantonese fluently. It can make the interactions much more personal. Since David understands Chinese culture and traditions, he also knows how to capture certain moments. All together a great experience with Pear Tree.
  • Sharon
    Sharon C. Sent on 09/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and insightful

    David was great throughout the planning and execution of our vision. He made sure to make us feel like he was always available to us. On the day itself, he made us feel comfortable and helped us capture the moments that were special to us! He was also very quick to finish editing the photos.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message