Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Something Borrowed Beauty

Something Borrowed Beauty

Something Borrowed Beauty

Calgary, Alberta
4.9 out of 5 rating, 19 reviews
View more information

19 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 19

14 User photos

  • Taesagh
    Taesagh M. Married on 01/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy and Beautiful!

    We chose Something Borrowed Beauty for our wedding hair and makeup services and are so happy we did! Their system is efficient and their artists are amazing! I personally had Joanne as my makeup stylist and Kelsey as my hair stylist and they did such an amazing job of taking my abstract ideas into beautiful reality! They were easy to chat with and were able to work with a variety of hair and skin types. I cannot recommend more highly!
  • C
    Catarina Married on 03/06/2022
    2.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Book someone else!

    Where do I begin? After finding positive online reviews and a recommendation from my wedding planner we booked Jennifer for our wedding. I had a request to do airbrush makeup for the big day. Jen response that she was able to help with this, great let’s book you in.

    All payments are to be made in advance (which I was fine with) however when the invoice was to be paid there was several issues. She had forgot to add travel fees (200) per artist and insisted on early starting fees (50) per artist. Which resulted in that I was given 2 different invoices that didn’t even added up to the first quote (also no official quote document was sent). My wedding planner was able to reduce this cost some but it was an unexpected cost. And just weeks front the wedding + I already paid initial
    Invoice I felt forced to move ahead.

    I booked a makeup trial with Jen about a week before the big day. She did not bring the airbrush equipment and when I asked she made excuse on excuse. I was left with on other choice then to do the trial with regular foundation. Jen did reach out the day after asking how I felt with the foundation and if she should bring the airbrush for the wedding day. However I did not feel confident to do so without a makeup trial.

    We had a 4:30 pm ceremony she insisted on 3 artist instead of the 2 that was requested by my very experienced wedding planner. 2 would have been fine. Did not listen to my request.

    The day off. Makeup and hair was planned to arrive at 9 pm. We woke up at 8 pm by someone knocking on the door. The hair and makeup team was already here. Not asking if they could come in and start setting up, they more or less barged in. We had a planned to have breakfast that was to be delivered at 8:30 and then get ready for the girls to arrive. One of my bridesmaids questioned the time and got the answer that there’s a time change (there’s no time change from Calgary to Emerald lake).

    The morning went on and we had to stress all the other women that was getting ready to come over way earlier then scheduled. Myself and the bridesmaids were to be ready at 12pm (like the day off schedule stated they they had received). Anyhow, everyone was ready way earlier then requested (which I mean is good but as a result created a stressful start to what should be a amazing day. They all left at 1 pm but should have (according to schedule) stay until 4 pm. I had no chance to retouch my makeup after the first look and wedding photos, which had been promised. To add as well it was small showers of rain all day.

    Overall happy with the result of the hair and makeup but extremely disappointed with how Jen runs her business! If you can’t go with someone else I suggest you do!
  • Anita
    Anita D. Married on 19/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning hair and makeup

    I am so glad I booked Something Borrowed Beauty for my bridal hair & makeup. The booking process was very well organized and during my trial Tamara really listened to what I was looking for and my hair and makeup was exactly what I envisioned. On the day of the wedding, Tamara did such a stunning job on my hair and makeup, I couldn't have been happier
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jackie Married on 16/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Wedding Makeup

    Something Borrowed did a fabulous job on my wedding makeup! I had to do a venue change less than two months before the wedding and Jennifer was very accommodating of that and was super easy to communicate with. Tamara did my bridal party makeup the day of the wedding and did a fabulous job making everyone look glamorous!

    The only issue I had was that I did a makeup trial with Jen and then Tamara was the one who did my wedding makeup the day of. This switch in people was not communicated to me, and it would have been nice to have a heads up that change was happening. It also seemed like the pictures from the trial were not shared between makeup artists so luckily I had taken my own! Again, Tamara did an outstanding job and I was very happy with the results!
  • Nikolina
    Nikolina L. Married on 28/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent service and timeless beauty

    I booked something borrow beauty to do my mine, my mom's and my 3 bridemaids hair and makeup on my wedding day! I also did a trial beforehand and the whole process was so easy. They gave great recommendations on what to do beforehand and where to find great hair extensions since I wanted them on my day. They made sure everyone was comfortable along the way and took time to ensure we were all happy with the final look. And literally my makeup and hair held up through the whole day. Didn't have to apply lipstick or anything. Would highly recommend and would use again!! Can't thank you enough for everything!
  • Manuel
    Courtney Married on 17/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Timeless bridal beauty

    We hired Something Borrowed for our wedding hair and makeup. Kelsey and Joanne were our artists. We could not be more thrilled with their work and our experience with Something Borrowed.

    Everything was seamless, the hair and makeup was gorgeous for myself and my closest friends/family. We loved spending time with Joanne and Kelsey and would not hesitate to recommend them to any brides!
  • T
    Teghan Married on 25/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So Perfect!!

    This is the first time I had my makeup professionally done. I looked and felt so beautiful. I highly recommend something borrowed :)

    The foundation they used was beautiful - provided the right amount of coverage, and felt light as a feather.
  • Jen
    Jennifer Married on 07/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing services

    Something Borrowed Beauty was amazing to work with. We had the pleasure of working with Kelsey and Tamara on the wedding day and they did such a great job. My bridesmaids and mother loved their hair and makeup and it lasted the entire day! Kelsey and Tamara made me look and feel stunning, their services really pulled everything together!
    I would definitely recommend!
  • L
    Leah Married on 20/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing artistry and team!

    We were lucky enough to have Something Borrowed Beauty for our big day!

    They were so responsive and helpful throughout the whole process. Very accommodating of special requests and the results were spectacular. We had hair and make up done for bride, bridesmaids, flower girl, and mothers, and I have no idea how they made us all look so good so quickly!

    I went for a hair and make up trial before the wedding, and it was such a nice experience. I walked around feeling like a movie star for the whole day. They were so good at replicating the look (with a few tweaks) on the day of.

    All our hair and make up stayed perfect throughout the day. I'm not kidding, I only reapplied lipstick once!

    Thank you so much Something Borrowed Beauty!
  • Corinne
    Corinne D. Married on 30/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service

    Tamara did my bridesmaids' makeup and mine and we all loved our look. She was very professional and knew what she was doing. She did everything in a timely manner and I was really impressed how my bridal makeup looked so flawless even after the reception. I'm also very happy with how I looked on our wedding photos and video. The owners, Jen and Kelsey, were also great making sure they responded to my queries right away. I would definitely recommend SBB to brides to be out there. And I'd love for Tamara to do my makeup again in the future!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message