Prép Beauty Parlour
1054 Hornby Street V6Z 1V6 Vancouver (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Prép Beauty Parlour

23 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0

5.0 / 5

  • Quality of service

    5.0

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    5.0

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    5.0

    23 of 23 couples recommend it

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mika is AMAZING! She made a great job with my makeup for my wedding. Her team is great and very professional! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I booked Mika and her team as my beauty squad for my wedding in April 2016 and cannot recommend them enough. I was already a regular at Prep for eyelash extensions and was really happy with their work, plus I loved the fresh and modern vibe of the salon. In the waiting room, I saw glimpses of clients having their makeup done and they always looked FABULOUS...so when it came time to choose a beauty team for the most photographed day of my life, Prep was my top choice. Thankfully, they were available for my wedding and from then on it was really pleasant and effortless dealing with them. Katrina and Destiny at reception are super organized and always got back to me really fast when I emailed them with questions.

    I had a hair and make-up trial with Mika and Faye a couple months before the wedding which I really enjoyed. I showed them a few pictures and they did a great job of translating the looks onto me. I liked that they asked me very specific questions (like "Do you want more blush?", "Do you want the curls tighter?", etc), I could tell they were perfectionists and really wanted me be happy with the finished look.

    On the day of, the Prep team did full hair and makeup for TWELVE ladies and believe it or not, we were done ahead of schedule! My bridal party didn't have matching dresses so they all wanted something different for hair and makeup. The prep team pulled off a wide range of looks, from natural makeup for my mom and mother-in-law to full-on glam. The looks held up for the whole evening and it all photographed great! As for myself, I looked and felt fantastic and it was an excellent experience from the first email inquiry to seeing how I looked in my pictures. Highly recommended, you can't go wrong!!!

    Sent on 16/10/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    My makeup artist and hair stylist was professional and extremely talented.
    Would recommend Studio by Mika to anyone.
    My makeup stayed on for the entire day (until 3am!) and received many compliments!

    Sent on 06/01/2016
  • Danielle Roberts, Married on 17/05/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I used The Studio by MikaDoesMakeup for my May wedding - I found Mika originally through weddingwire.com and then all the high ratings and praise on Yelp sealed the deal. The reviews from customer after customer speak for themselves!

    The staff at The Studio are crazy-helpful. In all the stress of wedding planning I actually had front desk staff from the Studio calling, texting, and emailing to make sure I was properly booked and confirmed for various trials and appointments. It's so rare these days to find customer service like this - and I really love the text appointment reminders and confirmations that you can receive. It made my hectic life so much easier.

    Mika herself is a doll to hang around with and a true professional. When she couldn't make it to my hair and makeup trial she made sure that I was able to keep my original appointment for the hair and had the makeup done by another artist (Faye, who is also awesome). Then Mika followed up and booked me another makeup trial free of charge with her so that I could redo and finalize the official wedding day look.

    As for the wedding day - my bridesmaids and I all looked flawless. Faye gave me a down-do with loose curls that literally lasted all day long, through hours of outdoor ceremony and photo taking and even through all the dancing at the reception. The makeup that Mika applied stayed picture perfect as well - nothing ran, I didn't look shiny (which for me is usually a given by the end of the day - and it was hot out), and I have wedding photos that look like we all walked out of a magazine. I had never felt more beautiful.

    Mika and all the girls at the Studio are awesome. Professional, super flexible, helpful, and also a joy to be around. We all had a blast. Thank you SO much, Mika, for making my wedding day such a relaxed, fun, memorable day :)

    Sent on 23/06/2015
  • Natalie Lachowicz, Married on 16/05/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I looked and felt amazing on my wedding day with the help of Mika and Faye. They really listened to what I wanted and helped me to look stunning but without looking cookie cutter bridal. I felt very at easy in the shop and would recommend them for hair and make up.

    Sent on 10/11/2015
  • Angela Allester, Married on 04/04/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mika and her team were lovely and made us feel so beautiful for my big day!

    Sent on 10/11/2015
  • Morgan Browne, Married on 10/11/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Studio is the perfect place to get a quick fix plus relax in the city. I have used The Studio for a number of services and keep on going back. This convenient location is perfect for anyone in Downtown Vancouver.
    Mika did my make up for my wedding and a number of ladies in the wedding party - everyone was so pleased with her work and couldn't stop raving about the make up in photos!

    Also, the staff at the Studio are wonderful and extremely professional. I would recommend The Studio to anyone I know. A current beauty bar, professional nail technicians and trusted services for eyelash extensions ;)

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • Sabrina Chow, Married on 29/06/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mika and Faye did an excellent job on my makeup and hair on my wedding day and I was very impressed at how professional it looked! Both were very attentive to my requirements and completely exceeded my expectations. They were both very friendly and made the experience fun, despite how stressed I was with the weather!!

    I also had my french gel nail extensions done by Noriko and they were fantastic!

    Sent on 29/07/2014
  • Benz Banternghansa, Married on 31/08/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I was very pleased with my bridal hair and makeup by Kym and Faye from the studio. They were great listeners and did an amazing job to create my dream look and hair.

    Sent on 28/07/2014
  • Adriana Minella, Married on 12/08/2012

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Both Mika & Faye were amazing at making my sister & I look fabulous for my wedding. As someone who does not wear makeup regularly, I was amazed at how "naturally" beautiful I looked ... Mika is exceptional with being able to transform "plain to fabulous". Faye is a miracle worker when it came to doing my hair as I really do not have much to work with. I received so many compliments from my friends and family.

    Adriana

    Sent on 03/10/2012

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info