Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Julia Joy Beauty Co.

Julia Joy Beauty Co.

Julia Joy Beauty Co.

Canmore, Alberta
5.0 out of 5 rating, 146 reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
146 reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

146
  • Megan
    Megan A. Sent on 24/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Ladies

    I first got in contact with Nadine and she was so great to talk to and very accommodating with all the changes I needed to make before the actual wedding day (how many of us needed hair and/or make up).

    I had the pleasure of having Candice for my trial (photo) and day-of hair/make up, and Jordana joined us on the wedding day to do my girls' hair. They provided such a calming presence that it made the morning so smooth and so fun. Honestly felt like a bunch of girlfriends hanging out just playing around with make up and doing each other's hair.

    Even though the day ended up being the windiest day of the week, the curls in our hair kept all throughout the day and our makeup even lasted through all the happy tears.
  • Melissa
    Melissa Sent on 18/04/2024
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unfortunately Disappointed - Vendor Late & Used drugstore products

    My partner and I eloped in Banff Summer 2023. I needed an 8am start as I have long hair that can be challenging to work with, the team communicated quickly and this was not a problem in advance and adjusted the start time. However on the day of the stylist was an hour late which pushed into our tight timeline. As I mentioned my hair can be challenging however certain products do work for my hair which I had requested and the stylist did not arrive with those products and rather used Tres Emme products on my hair vs a professional product which I didn't realize until she had left as she had left and empty bottle on the counter. I had given them so much information about my hair and I feel the stylist didn't take that into consideration. She tried to rush my make-up as we were late and suggested I don't put too much on however I regularly wear make-up and this was unacceptable to me. I ended up having to fix my hair and make-up however because of the hair products used my hair was mostly straight by the time we arrived at the ceremony site which was only 15 minutes away. It unfortunately set the tone for the day. She tried to make up for it and was apologetic and kind however, blaming being an hour late on traffic between Calgary and Banff on a Thursday morning is unacceptable to me as a professional and it was really disappointing. Just be mindful of this when booking as I wouldn't have booked if my needs weren't going to be considered.
  • Breana
    Breana B. Sent on 24/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    This company is fantastic to work with! They are so well organized and get back to you quickly. Mel & Katie were my lovely team who did mine & my gal’s hair and makeup! I had my trial a few weeks before the wedding, and it was great. Both Mel and Katie took time to look at photos and hear about what I was hoping for. Everyone looked gorgeous on the day of! They were so well organized and the timing for everything was great.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay W. Sent on 13/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, Highley recommended

    These ladies did an absolutely amazing job on me (bride) and my two bridesmaid's. They showed up on time and went right to work! We all got exactly what we were looking for and more. All three of us got hair and airbrush makeup done, and I have to honestly say, we went to a couple windy places for photos and our hair NEVER MOVED! We were all shocked that is held up to the conditions we put it through lol.

    Great job ladies!!! Highly recommend
  • K
    Kimberley B. Sent on 26/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    I had the absolute pleasure of working with Candice for hair and make up and she is such an artist! She had so many helpful suggestions and ideas during my trial when I wasn’t really sure about things and I could not have been happier with the results! Both mine and my husbands moms are not big into makeup, and she was so thoughtful with them and put them at such ease. She was early on our wedding day despite the roads not being ideal, and everyone had so much fun getting ready with her. And to top it all off, we all looked damned good!!! Love her, totally recommend!!!
  • K
    Kim L. Sent on 12/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience!

    Nadine did the makeup for myself, my bridesmaids, and my mom. She is amazing and kind! Everyone loved their makeup! I had a great experience dealing with Julia Joy Beauty Co. from beginning to end. Great communication and professional service. Highly recommend!
  • Jessica
    Jessica H. Sent on 30/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would recommend

    Great experience with Julia Joy Make Up. My updo and air brush makeup were perfect - they lasted all day and night despite some sprinkles outside and a good amount of dancing!
  • S
    Shikha Sent on 25/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    High quality bridal and bridesmaids makeup

    Candice did a wonderful job on my wedding day and addressed every little feedback from the trial. The hair and makeup stayed in place all day, Nadine was very professional with the coordination and follow-ups ups so I had no stress as a bride, I highly recommend them!
  • Cara
    Cara E. Sent on 21/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience!

    I hired Julia Joy Beauty Co for my wedding and I was so impressed! From the very start the communication and flexibility were both amazing, as I changed how many clients and schedules a few times. My hair and makeup trial was perfect and exactly what I had pictured. I had Nadine and Sara for my team on my wedding day and both were so lovely, kind, fun, and accommodating! I asked for a few adjustments from my trial and they did exactly what I asked. I felt so beautiful, and everyone who had the pleasure of receiving their services looked and felt the same. I would highly highly recommend their services to anyone, the best hair and makeup I have ever had done!

    Julia Joy Beauty Co.'s reply:

    Hi Cara,
    We are honored by your wonderful review. Your satisfaction is our ultimate goal, and we are thrilled that we hit the mark for you. Thank you for having us be a part of your big day!
  • Shelby
    Shelby Sent on 18/11/2023
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A hard review to write.... :(

    This is a hard review to write...I want soo much to leave a good review for them! However, looking back at my wedding, when people ask me about the day, I think about how amazing everything was - AFTER the hair and makeup process was done.

    Everyone was fantastic leading up to the day - communication was prompt and they were very accommodating with shifting numbers of bridesmaids needing to get their hair and makeup done, which I soo very much appreciated. I did have to reach out to them to follow up on booking a makeup and hair trial, but they were able to fit me in within a week or two of that follow up.

    Now for the sad part...the team was late due to a trial booked before my wedding. They started a half hour late, and were unfortunately not able to make up the time. I was honestly pulled out of the makeup chair by my mother about 10 minutes prior to when the wedding ceremony was supposed to start - I had no dress on, and, other than my hair and makeup, I was not at ALL ready. I hadn't done photos in my dress, or done the First Look that my husband and I had hoped to do.

    Everyone looked beautiful, but, as the bride, I did not feel prioritized, and it really had an impact on the day.

    I'm not sure if there was a miscommunication about when the ceremony started, but neither artist asked or confirmed the timeline of the day - at least not ON the day, despite very open conversations being had around us as my makeup was being done about how late we were getting.

    I know things happen that are sometimes out of our control, but I feel like more open communication on the day could have helped to salvage the day and make everyone feel special.

    Here's hoping this was a once in a blue moon experience!

    Julia Joy Beauty Co.'s reply:

    Hello Shelby,

    This is Julia, the owner of Julia Joy Beauty Co. Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to read you had a frustrating experience - I really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.

    Please accept my sincere apologies and disappointment regarding your experience. Keeping our clients satisfied is important to us, and we would never leave them feeling anything less than satisfied. I apologize that this was not the case, and please be aware that this was a very unusual circumstance. We strive to provide the best possible customer service and quality services at Julia Joy Beauty Co.

    I have sent you a direct email. Thank you again for providing your feedback.

    Kind regards,
    Julia
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message