Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Sounds Unlimited Disc Jockey Services

Sounds Unlimited Disc Jockey Services

Sounds Unlimited Disc Jockey Services

Calgary, Alberta
4.9 out of 5 rating, 95 reviews
View more information

95 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 95
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner

3 User photos

  • C
    Christine M. Married on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Banger after Banger after Banger

    If you are looking for a great DJ, Jay is your guy. My feet wanted to keep dancing long after the rest of my body was done for the evening. Jay was great with communication leading up to the event and an absolutely perfect DJ for our ceremony and reception. I was worried maybe our song choices would be a bit hard for him to make work but he did a fantastic job. Even though our wedding was a smaller event (about 40 guests) there was almost always at least a couple people on the dancefloor having a great time. He made sure to adapt to the general vibe throughout the evening (played a lot of great older classic dancing songs in the beginning, switched up to more modern hits when the tweens and teens wanted to show off, and was great about finding that perfect balance of music that you can't help but want to dance to).

    The price was more than reasonable for his services, and we had multiple people tell us afterward that they thought he did a great job. He also made sure we had an extra mic for our MC. Thank you so much Jay, you really helped make our day that much more wonderful! We would definitely recommend Jay and Unlimited Sounds for anyone that needs a good DJ!
  • S
    Shannon R. Married on 18/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Easy and painless

    Our experience with Sounds Unlimited was so easy. A quick phone call and I had our date booked in. They sent us an easy to fill out information form and then they basically did the rest!
    The DJ we got was amazing! So friendly and really catered to what our guests wanted.
    We got so many compliments about him!
  • Jasmine
    Jasmine F. Married on 30/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome wedding DJ

    Jay did a wonderful job for our wedding. He read the crowd well and kept the party going. He was also flexible with requests and catered to some special requests from family members making it a very memorable night! Thanks Jay!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Shannon M. Married on 08/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    No complaints!

    Sounds Unlimited and our DJ Mike were great to work with. All we did was fill out a form with some info on special songs, likes and dislikes and they did the rest.
    Highly recommend.
  • Melissa
    Melissa C. Married on 24/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ, Fantastic Music!

    Jay was such a professional and fun DJ, and made our wedding day so memorable. I hadn't met Jay in person prior to our wedding day, we just spoke over the phone, but I knew he was a good fit for us. He arrived and set up on time, and played every single song requested and more. The ceremony music was perfect, as was our reception music - and then the dance was fantastic! We had multiple guests comment on how great the music was, and that they had a great time. I will 100% recommend Jay and Sounds Unlimited to friends and future brides of my business!
  • P
    Patty R. Married on 29/08/2020
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Poor Customer Service

    I was totally disappointed in Jay from Sounds Unlimited. I paid a $400 deposit for a DJ service for August 2019. I was unable to use it due to COVID restrictions and pushed the date back. I am still unable to use it and asked for a refund - he refused the refund stating that he used the deposit to help him get through the rest of the year. Meaning that he spent the money so he can't refund it.
    Although I understand that COVID has affected businesses the worst, I was told that the deposit was "to solidify the date" and was never advised it was non-refundable. EVERYONE is in a tight spot due to COVID, not just this business. Every other vendor has provided a refund or at least a partial one.
    There was no contract, zero understanding of the situation, they have not provided a service for payment, and they refuse to issue a refund. Do better, Jay.

    Sounds Unlimited Disc Jockey Services's reply:

    I am real sorry Patty and I understand your frustration. Due to the circumstances our company has lost a full year's worth of revenue and we are simply unable to issue a refund. I am more than willing to issue company credit for a different event or to move the date for you so we can still provide the services which you had booked us for, so that your money does not go to waste. Typically deposits are non-refundable as indicated by the cancellation fee on your invoice, but this is clearly not your fault and I would 100% return your money if I could. Also, this booking was for August 2021 and was a bit of a premature cancellation, as venues are open again and you could have had your wedding on the date that you had us booked for.
  • Stevie
    Stevie P. Married on 10/07/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would recommend!

    Sounds unlimited was quick to respond to our messages and was very professional. We had some unique requests for our first dance music and surprise bridesmaid's dance, and sounds unlimited met those requests and it all went flawlessly!
  • Kristi
    Kristi S. Married on 21/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    September 2019 Wedding

    great price, great DJ. Had the whole place rocking until the very end.
  • S
    Steph Married on 04/08/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded our expectations!

    Jay is extremely timely in responding to emails, and is extremely professional. I’m not sure who our actual DJ was but everyone raved about him and the dance floor was always full! He did a great job of reading the crowd (ie, getting all the old songs out for the older aunts and uncles to dance to before they leave, and then the country/rock came out afterwards!). Would recommend them to anyone else, they were also very affordable!
  • Veronica
    Veronica C. Married on 03/08/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply and easy

    From start to finish hiring Sounds Unlimited was simple and easy. Jay's forms made it very easy to pick and keep all the ceremony and reception music organized. Once I filled them out we talked over the phone about what I wanted my music to be like and timelines and Sounds Unlimited took it from there. Jay had worked with my venue before and I didn't have to do anything he just showed up, set up, and did an amazing job. I received many compliments from my guests on the music and everyone danced all night. Would definitely recommend Sounds Unlimited for your event!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message