Airwaves Music
990 Lagoon Drive V6G 2R9 Vancouver (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Airwaves Music

4.8 / 5

4.8 of 5.0

67 reviews
  • Quality of service

    4.8

    Value

    4.8
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Responsiveness

    4.7
  • Flexibility

    4.8
Order by :
  • Marcus C, Getting married on 19/07/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Regular
    • Flexibility:
      Regular
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Poor communication pre-event; excellent resolution of customer complaints.

    UPDATE: Shortly after posting this review, I was contacted personally by Waira from Airwaves to apologize for his part of the experience we had and to explain what had happened on their end to contribute to the issues I identified. He was professional, apologetic, and made a solid effort to identify any areas of deficiency in the experience that we had had. I hope that the level of customer service I experienced from him in that phone call is more typical of what most customers receive, and I can see that our experience was the result of a number of unfortunate errors rather than part of a pattern of poor service. I have amended my rating to reflect the excellent customer service on Waira's part in dealing with an event that does not live up to a customer's expectations. If they make the changes we discussed over the phone to prevent these sorts of errors from occurring in the future, I would be willing to recommend their services.

    INITIAL REVIEW: We hired Airwaves to be our DJ company for our wedding in the Okanagan in summer 2018. Our experience with Airwaves was quite frustrating overall and I would recommend couples avoid this company based on our experience.

    The first warning sign should have been an unprofessional email from Waira Mendoza suggesting that my wife might have been crushed under a filing cabinet because he (mistakenly) thought that we hadn't yet paid our deposit. The communication was poor from start to finish, with Airwaves staff continuing to contact my wife despite our repeated requests to contact me with questions or updates. Once we had our DJ assigned and we started working on our planning form, our next red flag should have been the fact that no one from Airwaves seemed to be able to see the content we had filled out on the form they sent us. Eventually we had to get the event details and our music requests to our DJ by sending him screenshots from his own company's online form. We are big music fans and had made three separate playlists for the different phases of our wedding day, and all our DJ had to do was put the right playlist on at the right time, but our DJ didn't mention to us that he was having trouble seeing our playlists or requests until the event was already underway, so I spent a bunch of time on my wedding day trying to micromanage our DJ's music choices so that we didn't have to listen to the generic pop and wedding songs he was playing otherwise. After the event, their feedback form didn't allow me to even select our DJ, and given the failure of their website for our wedding, I'm sure my feedback won't be seen by anyone anyways. Would not recommend. Would have been happier renting our own PA and using an iPod.

    Sent on 13/06/2018
  • Melissa Ashley Mcneice, Married on 16/06/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Highly recommend

    Dj John Bird was the absolute best!! He played all of the music we wanted, and had guests of all ages on the dance floor for the better part of the night! He took our vision for the wedding and exceeded our expectations, everything was perfectly timed and our guests even demanded a few encores!

    Sent on 17/06/2018
  • Ally Woods, Married on 15/06/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves- John

    We hired John from Airwaves to DJ our wedding ceremony and reception and we could not be happier. John was both quick and fun with his effects and quips during speeches that impressed both us and our guests. Everyone was up dancing all night and we received multiple compliments about the music.
    Thanks John for being so in tune with the crowd at the wedding!

    Sent on 18/06/2018
  • Megan

    Megan Blagborne, Married on 09/06/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Wedding DJ

    We got married this past Saturday, with DJ Beau Loomer. He was so great! I’m pretty sure he had everything planned better then I did haha. He stepped up to the plate when our MC needed help without having to be asked, and made most of the music choices for me which was awesome. I would highly recommend Beau Loomer. We are a younger crowd but I think he would be just as well with any ages

    Sent on 13/06/2018
  • Shanna Smith, Married on 23/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We chose to go with Airwaves for our wedding DJ’s services and they were beyond incredible for our entire wedding experience. DJ John Bird was our guy and he went above and beyond! Everyone raved about the music for our whole day. He even met us in his own time a couple days before our wedding so we could be sure he had all of our correct “important songs aka. Walking down the aisle some, first dance, last dance etc. We really appreciated that and it made us feel so confident and relaxed on our day. Our wedding was in Kelowna so it’s nice to know too that they aren’t just in Vancouver. We would recommend Airwaves and John again and again! Thank you for helping to make our day perfecf John!!

    Cheers

    Shanna and Cody Davis

    Sent on 23/10/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Than you so much for taking the time to leave a review Shanna. I know John had a great time at your wedding and it means a lot that you chose to work with our team. :)

    We wish you and Cody all the best!

  • Kara Rae, Married on 23/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Acceptable

    Booked airwaves on a promo for free ceremony music when you booked the rest. Overall, very happy! There was a spot in our forms to fill out DJ attire, which we didn't fill out. Well, he was wearing shorts and flip flops, which we kind of laughed at, but if you are picky about vendor attire, I'd advise specifying!
    DJ Les was great with requests but keeping to our overall theme. Loved working with him and would recommend.
    Air waves as a company I was less thrilled with, finding the response time lacking, and they would tell me things that my contract stated otherwise ex my contract said payment was required 14 days prior to the wedding, but they started sending out invoice emails 2 months prior with a note that payment was due 30 days before the wedding. After following up they were quick to say "no no, your contract is correct", but it felt really shady having the invoice come in with a different date.

    The wedding of Kara Rae and Airwaves Music 1
    Sent on 20/11/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Hi Kara,

    Hey Kara, thank you for the review. I'm really glad to hear that the music was great. We have a dress code for all of our DJs, so I am going to look into the shorts and flip flops.

    As per the final payment reminder, I'm very sorry about that! We were trying to setup this darn auto-reminder program to make sure we didn't miss any payments, but it caused more confusion than good. My apologies for that.

  • Lisa

    Lisa Lynn, Married on 02/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Bad
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Acceptable

    I am basing most of my review around the fact that we got the best Dj possible for our wedding ! Dj Boomerang was amazing and we couldn't have asked for a better person to play amazing beats for our epic dance party!! It was nice to have a qualified Dj that could mix in songs and make remix's to all our favorites so we could here all the music we requested which was over 100 songs for a 4 hour period of time! He made my day a lot easier by doing his job to the fullest ! I didn't have to once stay in top of him! He was where he was suppose to be at the times we requested! So thank you so much Dj Boomerang your rocked it!! As for the booking and dealings before wedding we were not that impressed and a little worried about what was to come for the day of but it turned out great and that's is all thanks to the Dj!

    Sent on 15/09/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Hi Lisa!

    DJ Boomerang is a great guy and Im really glad you enjoyed having him at your wedding. As per the responsiveness of our Event Planner, we have since hired someone new for that role and have also began tracking our response time to ensure it is the best in the business. Thanks for your honest feedback. We will use it to become better moving forward.

  • Lisa Wipf, Married on 02/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    yes, Travis was punctual and kept the crowd engaged. During dinner I requested jazz/relaxing music and it had my mom in tears, and made the night feel like a dream. When it came to the dancing portion, he had everyone on their feet all night wishing it wouldn't end.

    Sent on 04/11/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Thanks so much Lisa! I'm so glad you enjoyed having Travis at your wedding :) It was a pleasure to work with you and to be a part of your big day!

  • Kaitlin, Married on 26/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We loved using Airwaves Music for our wedding. Our DJ was Mitchell and he was absolutely great!! All of our questions were promptly answered by either phone or email from the initial contact date right up to our wedding. Mitchell definitely knew how to feel out crowd and what songs to play to keep the party going. He was professional, organized and very personable. We would hands down recommend Airwaves and Mitchell to anyone!!

    Sent on 18/09/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Thank you so much Kaitlin! It was great to be a part of your wedding. I'm happy to hear that we met your standards every step of the way.

  • Rachelle

    Rachelle Naidu, Married on 06/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Our DJ we had booked had an emergency so they found a replacement a day prior. The DJ started the music before we even had our bouquets and the song was skipping. By the time I got half way down the aisle the song had ended so they had to replay it. The DJ took cues from the officiant when she was meant to take it from our wedding coordinator. Communication was lacking.

    Sent on 04/09/2017

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    Hi Rachelle,

    Thank you for your review and feedback and thank you for taking the time to chat with us so that we could get more information about your experience. We strive to provide our clients with excellent service and take feedback very seriously. We've taken steps to ensure that issues like the one you encountered during your ceremony aren't repeated. Thank you again your patience and understanding.

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info