Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Great Events Catering

Great Events Catering

Great Events Catering

Calgary, Alberta
4.5 out of 5 rating, 14 reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
14 reviews
90% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

14
  • L
    Lonneke G. Sent on 09/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely delicious food, stunning plating, kind staff

    Great Events was amazing! How delicious our food was was mentioned to me by many of our guests, one of our guests even stated it was one of his top meals of all time. We had plated meals, with marry me chicken and alberta beef sirloin as the mains. They were perfection. The watermelon feta salad, garlic mashed potatoes and lemon compote cheesecake were also amazing. The service the day of the wedding was fast and good. We had table wine service and glasses were always full. The company was responsive to emails and questions, sometimes after a few days but this was understandable with a summer wedding. We had one minor issue come up after the wedding, but the way it was handled by the company was just amazing. They were very professional and quick to resolve the issue. We always emailed with Rosa and she was lovely to connect with, always willing to help and answer questions. I would recommend this company for anyone who wants a standout meal at their wedding!

    Great Events Catering's reply:

    Hi Lonneke,

    We're overjoyed by your fantastic review! Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with Great Events Catering. We're thrilled that our food delighted your guests, and it's amazing to hear that the chicken, the Alberta beef sirloin and salad were a hit.

    We're glad that our service met your expectations on your special day, and we appreciate your understanding during the busy summer wedding season. Rosa and our team are grateful for your appreciation of their efforts.

    Thank you for recommending us to couples seeking a standout meal for their wedding. Your feedback fuels our passion and dedication. We're honored to have been a part of your celebration and wish you all the best on your journey ahead.

    Great Events Catering
  • P
    Prarthna T. Sent on 13/07/2023
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding food

    The team at Great Events were wonderful and super responsive to my asks.
  • Jessica
    Jessica Sent on 16/08/2022
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with terrible service!

    Beautiful venue with TERRIBLE SERVICE!

    The organizer we dealt with wasn’t there on the day of our wedding to ensure things were done correctly, and as a result nothing went according to plan. The kitchen supervisor did not read our contract and made lemon cheesecake instead of turtle cheesecake. Both myself and my husband are lactose intolerant but were going to splurge and have our favourite dessert that night (we paid a premium for this cheesecake). The chef assigned firstly was not the chef we originally had a tasting with and second did not review the menu listed on our contract the day of our event. As a result, our guests were served lemon cheesecake which differed from the menus we had printed and placed for our guests. Most of the party asked us where the turtle cheesecake was. My husband and I did not have dessert on our wedding night. As well the food we were served at our tasting versus what was served at our wedding was not even close. Presentation and taste were extremely lacking, the salad looked like a mess on your plate with little to no dressing, chicken choice was dry and overall presentation looked rushed and sloppy. My husband is a big foody and raved about the tasting telling our family and friends that the food was going to be wonderful and looked like a fool on the day.

    The venue organizer was told several times both verbally and in writing and confirmed with us that there would be no TICKETS on the day of our wedding. The cocktail hour was to be a hosted bar and we prepaid for 2 drinks per person. Upon arrival to the cocktail hour our guests were told they required a ticket to get a drink, the tickets were placed at their seats and most guests were not made aware how the system worked and ended up paying for their drinks themselves. We had asked for a cash bar for the remainder of the night which again involved a ticket system which consisted of 5 different categories of tickets where you paid for at a cash register then stepped 2 feet over and handed it to the bartender to redeem. Hey everybody welcome to the carnival that is now our wedding!!

    Prosecco was supposed to be served just prior to our grand entrance but instead were handed out during the cocktail hour. Their excuse for this was that their staff didn’t understand our instructions. That we should have been clearer. We don’t really know how we could have been clearer on this one except maybe to have served our guests ourselves.

    Our wedding cake, that we specifically instructed the organizer not to cut for guests on the day as we wanted to keep it for our one-year anniversary and some for the BBQ the next day ended up being distributed to some guests and only that I (the bride) caught them we would not have had any for the next day BBQ. Unfortunately, we won’t have any for our one-year anniversary.

    What they offered us for compensation was basically what they owed us! Reimbursement for the wrong cheesecake, the prosecco as it was brought out at the wrong time and the remainder of the money that was not used during our cocktail hour because no one knew about the tickets as that was NEVER supposed to happen! They did offer a 3-course meal and a bottle of wine as compensation for the terrible experience we had but why in god's name would we go back for a meal to the restaurant that ruined my day? Also, they offered to bake us a cake for our one-year anniversary to which we declined as what significance does this cake have to our day only to remind us of all the irresponsible mistakes made by their management.

    Bad management, terrible communication and overall, the worst experience of my life. A day that was supposed to be magical turned into a day filled with disappointments. Having to point out everything that went wrong instead of enjoying our special day.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Carolina
    Carolina C. Sent on 14/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing staff and food

    Cathy was so easy to work with since day one. We had to plan our wedding during COVID and she was so flexible and responsive. She also took care of all of our rentals throughly Great Events rentals. She was like a wedding planner. The venue looked amazing on our wedding day and the food was incredible. We had so many compliments on how delicious the food was.
  • R
    Raheela Sent on 30/11/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Slightly over priced but food was amazing. Staff does all setup and take down and also serves during function
  • N
    Nancy W. Sent on 16/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food, fantastic service

    This is the caterer that comes with the venue. Still, the price is competitive, the menu selection is very good, and the food was very good! The servers were fantastic. They worked hard to help us however possible, and were friendly and pleasant right through the long day! Thanks so much for helping to make the day a great memory!
  • Tiare
    Tiare B. Sent on 02/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Reception Catering

    I used this amazing catering company for my wedding reception at Spruce Meadows. They did an outstanding job. They set up all of the tables, place setting, and made the most elegant dishes. The food was delicious, and they were so accommodating to all the allergies and intolerances present. I specifically worked with Michelle, who worked SO hard, and was SO flexible, to ensure the evening was perfect. She was extremely quick to follow up on emails, and always answered in great detail. The servers, cooks, and everyone else behind the scenes did an amazing job to make our wedding reception wonderful! My husband and I are eternally grateful.
  • S
    Steph Sent on 20/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly as expected

    We opted for their steak/Caesar salad/potato options from the Rare Cut BBQ division of Great Events Catering. It was exactly as the trial tasting. Their professionalism and ensuring the bridal party was happy was right on par.
  • Jen
    Jen Q. Sent on 04/07/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food!

    The food was great! And they were able to customize our midnight snack to what we wanted.
  • Olivia
    Nathan Sent on 23/06/2019
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Good food, some miscommunication

    We had a gourmet burger buffet with mac and cheese, beans and salad. The food itself was very tasty but some people did not get their burger of choice due to poor communication among servers and guests.
    The head table wasn't served properly (we probably should have gone up to the buffet but I didn't want to spill food on my dress and the supervising server said it would be no problem to serve us). We were just getting our mains when our guests were finished eating because they "needed everyone at the head table to be seated before they serve." Overall the servers were attentive to guests but I wouldn't recommend any changes to their routine as that's where we ran into some issues.