A Slice of Art
Red Deer T4N 2X1 Red Deer (Alberta) View map
47 reviews

Number of guests 10 to 1000

Reviews for A Slice of Art

4.8 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.8
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Reply

    4.8
  • Flexibility

    4.8
47 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
Order by :
  • Kayla Holcomb , Married on 15/09/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Wedding cake and minicupcakes

    Oriol really took the time and effort to make everything perfect with the cake and cupcakes I ordered for my wedding I was so happy to see everything all set up at my venue and ready to go it was beautiful and everything was delicious I would definetly recommend her :)

    Sent on 17/09/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you so much Kayla and Gage for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to be a small part of your Wedding. I loved creating your cake and purple ombre roses. Thank you again so very much! All the best to you both!
    Oriol

  • Tessa , Married on 25/08/2018

    1.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Unacceptable
    • Value:
      Below Average
    • Flexibility:
      Unacceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Below Average

    Oriole at Slice of Art

    We changed our original cake idea she was not happy about it as our new cake would cost less. We paid for delivery and when she came to drop it off my mother in law remarked she was in a horrible mood and was very displeased. The slab cake was supposed to have our names and date of wedding on it and it didnt. No one must have like the cake because the next day we had 5/6 of the cake left over . We delivered it to the mustard seed in red deer so it wouldnt go to waste . She was hard to get a hold of over the phone or email and never sent receipts for payments.

    Sent on 26/09/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Hello Tessa, thank you for taking the time to review my services. I set a high standard for myself and your satisfaction is my #1 priority. I am truly sorry that you feel my services did not satisfy your expectations.

    I was in Hawaii when you sent me an email regarding changing your wedding cake design. I did return your email explaining I would contact you upon returning to discuss. In no way did I express to you, or feel upset regarding this change.
    I did deliver your cake at the requested time, on time. I truly apologize if your Mother in law thought I was "in a horrible mood and very displeased", it was a very busy delivery day for me and I was very focused, not unhappy. When I asked her where she would like the cake, I saw a lovely table set up for a cake, and asked her if that is where she wanted it, she said "that is for the fancy cake". I was confused. She told me to put your cake in the kitchen. I was curious to see the other cake. I was not aware that your Mother in Law had made you a feature cake. If I would have known, I would not have felt confused.
    I do sincerely apologize for not writing your names on the cake. That is truly an oversight on my behalf and I am sincerely sorry. You mentioned in our email feeds that "maybe you could write congratulations Tessa & Shelford on it ? " I did not know that you wanted the date as well. Regardless, it was my mistake and I am truly sorry for my oversight.
    I am truly sorry that there was cake leftover. I am unsure as to why that happened. I bake everything from scratch and make melt in your mouth swiss meringue buttercream. I usually say that if my cake is cut, it will get eaten. I wish that you would have brought it back to me vs a food bank.
    I am sincerely sorry you feel that I was hard to get a hold of. I try my best to respond to all my clients in a timely manner.

    I always give reciepts for the paid retainer, at our tastings. I apologize that I did not send you a final payment reciept. Going forward I will rectify this and always ask if a reciept is wanted.
    I wish all the best for you both. Congratulations again Tessa and Shelford.

    Regards,
    Oriol






  • Tessa

    Tessa Olsen , Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing service!

    Oriol was amazing and sweet. Super professional service. When we told her our idea, wasn’t %100 sure what we wanted, she was amazing with suggestions when we showed her photos of what we liked! Love her :) awesome attention to detail!

    Sent on 03/10/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Hello Tessa and Brad
    Thank you so very much for your lovely review!
    Your lovely two tier ivory cake with sugar flowers was such a pleasure to make.
    I am so very happy that you both loved your cake!
    It was such a pleasure to be a small part of your Special Wedding Day!
    Thank you both again so very much!
    All the best to you both!
    Oriol

  • Kim Voight , Married on 22/07/2018

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    4 level wedding cake

    She makes absolutely beautiful cakes!!! Was exactly what we wanted. Only thing i cpuld say is the flavors were a little bland.. we had 4 differnt flavors. The best tasting was the choclate mint. She was very nice and easy to deal with.

    Sent on 23/09/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you Kim for taking the time to review my services. Thank you for your compliment that my cakes are beautiful, and that I am pleasant to deal with. I am sorry that you thought my cake flavors were bland. The cream cheese with salted caramel and the red velvet with raspberry are very popular flavors, and I always have rave reviews regarding them. I am happy to hear you loved the design and the chocolate cake with mint filling. Thank you Kim for your feedback, I truly appreciate it.

  • Meagan

    Meagan Bouwsema , Married on 21/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing work!

    Our cake was absolutely beautiful! She made it just the way we wanted it. The cake and cupcakes tasted amazing they were such a big hit at our wedding. I would most definitely go with her again for any occasion!

    The wedding of Meagan Bouwsema and A Slice of Art 1
    The wedding of Meagan Bouwsema and A Slice of Art 2
    Sent on 26/07/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you so much Meagan and Danny. It was such a pleasure to create your birch tree cake and cupcakes. Your venue was very lovely. Thank you again so very much for your kind review. All the best to you both!

  • Crystal , Married on 11/06/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Incredible Boat Cake!

    Thank you Oriol for the absolutely awesome job you did on my husbands boat cake for his 40th birthday! The detail you put into the cake to make it just like our boat was incredible! The cake was not only amazing to look at but tasted incredible as well!! Thank you!

    Sent on 11/06/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you so much Crystal for your fantastic review! I truly appreciate it! I loved making the Chapparel boat cake and I am so happy that you all loved it as well! Thank you again Crystal !

  • Natasha Deminger , Married on 26/05/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing cake!

    We absolutely loved our cake. It was the most amazing thing we have ever seen. Everyone commented on it. It was absolutely perfect. It also tasted so good!! I would hands down recommend to anyone looking for a cake

    The wedding of Natasha Deminger and A Slice of Art 3
    Sent on 28/05/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you Natasha and John for a lovely review.! It was such a pleasure to create your Special Wedding Cake! Thank you again and all the best to you both!

  • Kirsten Larochelle , Married on 20/05/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Wedding cake!

    We were very pleased with the cake for our wedding. Most weddings I've been to, the cake doesn't get eaten. But at ours it was all gone! It was delicious and better than the dessert provided by the caterers. I brought a picture of what I wanted, and it was replicated very well. We felt we were in good hands with Oriol because you can tell she has a lot of passion about what she does, and is very accommodating. She was able to make vegan cupcakes for some of my relatives as well.

    Sent on 31/05/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Hello Kirsten and Jorden,
    Thank you so very much for your lovely review!
    That is fabulous to hear that your cake was all eaten. I agree..if your cake gets cut, it will be eaten! Thank you again so very much and all the best to you both!

  • Lisa

    Lisa Olson , Married on 21/04/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Clint and Lisa’s Wedding

    Thank you for such a wonderful cake! We had plenty for everyone and than some. Oriole had also made up a birthday cake for us. There was lots of compliments on the cake from family and friends. I would recommend ‘A Slice of Art’.
    Thanks again

    The wedding of Lisa Olson and A Slice of Art 4
    Sent on 28/05/2018

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you Lisa and Clint for such a lovely review! It was such a pleasure to create your Special Wedding Cake and Birthday cake. All the best to you both!

  • Danny and Nicole Tyess , Married on 24/06/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Oriol was amazing to work with. She not only made a visually beautiful cake but one of the best tasting ones we have ever had. We would highly recommend her for any type of event, you will not regret it.

    The wedding of Danny and Nicole Tyess and A Slice of Art 5
    The wedding of Danny and Nicole Tyess and A Slice of Art 6
    Sent on 30/08/2017

    A Slice of Art's reply:

    Thank you both so much for the fantastic review! It was such a pleasure to make your Book themed Wedding cake and Cupcakes. All the best to you both! Again, thank you so much!

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.