Scottish Cultural Centre
8886 Hudson Street V6P 4N2 Vancouver (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Scottish Cultural Centre

4.9 / 5

4.9 of 5.0

30 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    5.0
  • Flexibility

    4.9
Order by :
  • Jenna, Married on 31/03/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing Venue!

    We felt totally at ease working with Darryl and Brett at the SCC. They were so professional, responsive, and flexible. If you want to have your wedding in a large and versatile venue, I would definitely recommend SCC!

    Sent on 06/04/2018
  • Caryn

    Caryn, Married on 30/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We loved working with Darryl and Brett with their friendly helpful personalities. We knew our venue so well we didn't stress or worry leading up to the day and on the day. Darryl was readily available to answer any questions and easy going when we had to change our date. Brett was amazing with suggestions and ideas for table layouts and spacing so it was intimate but not crowded.

    The wedding of Caryn and Scottish Cultural Centre 1
    Sent on 16/10/2017
  • Angie, Married on 09/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding reception here and it was a great experience from beginning to end. Darryl and Brett were always friendly and accommodating. We easily fit 300 guests with a dance floor. There's a bar area, a reception area (where our photobooth was later set up). They had air conditioning. The Centre looked great with the decorations set up from a decorator they recommend (Margarit). We would definitely recommend Scottish Cultural Centre!

    Sent on 19/07/2017

    Scottish Cultural Centre's reply:

    Thank you for your kindness, Angie. It was wonderful getting to know and work with you and Hans! Warm wishes for a bright future together!

  • Brigitte

    Brigitte, Married on 08/09/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had the ultimate DYI wedding at the Vancouver Scottish Cultural Centre and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The staff were so friendly and extreemly helpful, who often went out of their way to help and always with such a positive attitude. They helped with so much from advice on resources to how best approach decorating the hall. My husband I and instantly felt at ease working with Darryl. He always made time for us to come look at the facility anytime we needed to sort out details and was so accomodating, which made the little details leading up the the event less stressful. Anytime I made contact with him to get information he always gave such considerate responses, often going beyond what I was expecting. The facility itself is great, it has everything needed to make for a successful event. They have facilitated countless weddings and it shows, they were very sensitive towards us during such a big moment in our lives and we appreciated their calm and reassuring demeanor. It was beyond our expectations how friendly and accomodating they were, such a reasonable and honest place and group of people to work with.

    The wedding of Brigitte and Scottish Cultural Centre 2
    The wedding of Brigitte and Scottish Cultural Centre 3
    Sent on 15/12/2017
  • Rachel

    Rachel B, Married on 29/04/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Overall we were really happy that we booked the Scottish Cultural Centre. We were looking for somewhere affordable that would allow us to bring in our own alcohol without charging a corking fee, and that was fairly central to transit/hotels/the airport. The Scottish Cultural Centre ticked off those boxes. Darryl (the manager) and Brett were fantastic. Darryl allowed me to make the final deposit a couple of days late when my chequing account went into overdraft (I hadn't accounted for all the vendor deposits coming out on the same day...wedding brain...) with no problems. Brett helped us set up and take down our tables and chairs, as well as a video we played for the guests. He has a fun personality, and had us laughing and relaxing every time we met up with him in the days before the wedding. The only (minor) hiccup we ran into is that they don't allow you to use 3M Command Hooks, so we had to get a bit creative with how we could hang some of our lights, decorations, and modified our plans for the Selfie Station. It's basically a big hall, so you can put your own touch on the room. We mainly just stuck to putting up lights and decorating the tables and stage. All in all I'd highly recommend the Scottish Cultural Centre if you're looking to avoid exorbitant corkage fees and a DIY bride/groom.

    The wedding of Rachel B and Scottish Cultural Centre 4
    The wedding of Rachel B and Scottish Cultural Centre 5
    The wedding of Rachel B and Scottish Cultural Centre 6
    Sent on 01/06/2017
  • Christine, Married on 01/04/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    As we got married in Scotland last year, there was no better place for us to have our Canadian reception party than at the Scottish Cultural Centre. Darryl was incredibly helpful with all of my pesky planning questions and we had lovely Duncan come in to call a Ceilidh for us which the guests had an absolute blast at (no Ceilidh dancing experience required!). Brett bent over backwards (sometimes literally) with the set up, caretaking and strike on the day. The guests really got an authentic taste of Scotland that night and the party really couldn't have gone any better!

    Sent on 06/04/2017
  • Marlena

    Marlena, Married on 11/03/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had a great experience working with SCC. The space is huge, the options you have are great, and the price is great value for money. Having the entire professional kitchen at the disposal of your caterer is a game changer; the food is just so much fresher, hotter, better. We were able to have a playlist on an iPad and use their audio system for the dance, a huge cost savings. Being able to bring in our own bartenders and alcohol was another great cost savings and helped us keep control over that portion of the night a good bit too. Both Darryl and Bret are super guys and were a pleasure to deal with at each stage. I enthusiastically recommend.

    Sent on 07/04/2017
  • Kelsey, Married on 12/11/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Staff are very friendly are helpful, the manager Darryl is available to answer all questions which I had many and gets back to you very quickly. Absolutely loved this venue for our wedding and had the best time, would definitely recommend it to other couples getting married :)

    Sent on 22/11/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Scottish Cultural Centre was a great hall for our son and daughter in law who held the wedding reception there. There were no hidden cost, questions were answered quickly and the staff was wonderful. I would recommend this hall to anyone.

    Sent on 11/09/2016
  • Angela Polymenakos, Married on 02/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The whole team at the Scottish Centre was really amazing as a venue for our wedding! So accommodating, flexible, and friendly!! The hall was clean, and spacious! Really made our experience stress free and as relaxing as wedding planning can go!
    They were also super accommodating to our vendors! We would HIGHLY recommend them for future events!!!!

    Sent on 06/07/2016

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info