Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Scottish Cultural Centre

Scottish Cultural Centre

Scottish Cultural Centre

Vancouver, British Columbia
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 32 reviews
View more information

32 reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 32
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner

6 User photos

  • T
    Tara M. Married on 15/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    great venue for great value!

    My hubby and I had fabulous experience working with Darryl and Brett when using the SCC for our September wedding . They were both super responsive, easy going, helpful and relaxed throughout the whole process. They let us come in numerous times to measure/look at the space and over all were just super easy and professional to communicate with. The venue was the perfect size for our 220 person wedding with a spacious layout and dance floor in the main hall once all the tables set up. Highly recommend this venue for the value, space and staff!!
  • A
    Alyssia Married on 07/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    The staff are so kind, responsive and very accommodating.

    The hall itself is large, customizable and is a very fair price!

    :)

    If you're having a large wedding and want to have the decorations etc. the way you envisioned it-- go to the Scottish Cultural Centre !
  • J
    Jenna Married on 31/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue!

    We felt totally at ease working with Darryl and Brett at the SCC. They were so professional, responsive, and flexible. If you want to have your wedding in a large and versatile venue, I would definitely recommend SCC!
  • Caryn
    Caryn Married on 30/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved working with Darryl and Brett with their friendly helpful personalities. We knew our venue so well we didn't stress or worry leading up to the day and on the day. Darryl was readily available to answer any questions and easy going when we had to change our date. Brett was amazing with suggestions and ideas for table layouts and spacing so it was intimate but not crowded.
  • A
    Angie Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding reception here and it was a great experience from beginning to end. Darryl and Brett were always friendly and accommodating. We easily fit 300 guests with a dance floor. There's a bar area, a reception area (where our photobooth was later set up). They had air conditioning. The Centre looked great with the decorations set up from a decorator they recommend (Margarit). We would definitely recommend Scottish Cultural Centre!

    Scottish Cultural Centre's reply:

    Thank you for your kindness, Angie. It was wonderful getting to know and work with you and Hans! Warm wishes for a bright future together!
  • Brigitte
    Brigitte Married on 08/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the ultimate DYI wedding at the Vancouver Scottish Cultural Centre and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The staff were so friendly and extreemly helpful, who often went out of their way to help and always with such a positive attitude. They helped with so much from advice on resources to how best approach decorating the hall. My husband I and instantly felt at ease working with Darryl. He always made time for us to come look at the facility anytime we needed to sort out details and was so accomodating, which made the little details leading up the the event less stressful. Anytime I made contact with him to get information he always gave such considerate responses, often going beyond what I was expecting. The facility itself is great, it has everything needed to make for a successful event. They have facilitated countless weddings and it shows, they were very sensitive towards us during such a big moment in our lives and we appreciated their calm and reassuring demeanor. It was beyond our expectations how friendly and accomodating they were, such a reasonable and honest place and group of people to work with.
  • Rachel
    Rachel Married on 29/04/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Overall we were really happy that we booked the Scottish Cultural Centre. We were looking for somewhere affordable that would allow us to bring in our own alcohol without charging a corking fee, and that was fairly central to transit/hotels/the airport. The Scottish Cultural Centre ticked off those boxes. Darryl (the manager) and Brett were fantastic. Darryl allowed me to make the final deposit a couple of days late when my chequing account went into overdraft (I hadn't accounted for all the vendor deposits coming out on the same day...wedding brain...) with no problems. Brett helped us set up and take down our tables and chairs, as well as a video we played for the guests. He has a fun personality, and had us laughing and relaxing every time we met up with him in the days before the wedding. The only (minor) hiccup we ran into is that they don't allow you to use 3M Command Hooks, so we had to get a bit creative with how we could hang some of our lights, decorations, and modified our plans for the Selfie Station. It's basically a big hall, so you can put your own touch on the room. We mainly just stuck to putting up lights and decorating the tables and stage. All in all I'd highly recommend the Scottish Cultural Centre if you're looking to avoid exorbitant corkage fees and a DIY bride/groom.
  • C
    Christine Married on 01/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As we got married in Scotland last year, there was no better place for us to have our Canadian reception party than at the Scottish Cultural Centre. Darryl was incredibly helpful with all of my pesky planning questions and we had lovely Duncan come in to call a Ceilidh for us which the guests had an absolute blast at (no Ceilidh dancing experience required!). Brett bent over backwards (sometimes literally) with the set up, caretaking and strike on the day. The guests really got an authentic taste of Scotland that night and the party really couldn't have gone any better!
  • Marlena
    Marlena Married on 11/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a great experience working with SCC. The space is huge, the options you have are great, and the price is great value for money. Having the entire professional kitchen at the disposal of your caterer is a game changer; the food is just so much fresher, hotter, better. We were able to have a playlist on an iPad and use their audio system for the dance, a huge cost savings. Being able to bring in our own bartenders and alcohol was another great cost savings and helped us keep control over that portion of the night a good bit too. Both Darryl and Bret are super guys and were a pleasure to deal with at each stage. I enthusiastically recommend.
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 12/11/2016
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Staff are very friendly are helpful, the manager Darryl is available to answer all questions which I had many and gets back to you very quickly. Absolutely loved this venue for our wedding and had the best time, would definitely recommend it to other couples getting married :)