John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
90 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews for John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Reply

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
90 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
Order by :
  • Christy Mahlberg , Married on 20/10/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Beautiful venue!

    The UBC Boathouse was an absolutely stunning venue - what a find! The location is beautiful - right by the water, with the mountains in the background. Our guests loved it! The staff was exceptional in the months leading up to our wedding - the most responsive of all of our vendors, answering our questions so quickly and going out of their way to be helpful. We were also very impressed with the day-of venue coordinator who was so professional and so helpful, and went above and beyond. This venue is overall a great value for the money (and additionally, we were married on a Sunday which helped our budget a bit). Because the building and surrounding area are so picturesque, our decor needs were minimal. We would recommend this venue without hesitation to anyone!

    Sent on 29/06/2018
  • Nicole

    Nicole , Married on 24/08/2018

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing Venue

    My husband and I got married Friday August 24th, 2018 at the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse. It was a magical day and I couldn’t have asked for a better venue to have our dream wedding at. The boathouse was incredibly organized and professional throughout the entire time! Always there to answer any questions and trust me I asked a lot. They also were two steps ahead of me with the organization of my wedding it was amazing! Thank you so much UBC Boathouse for making our wedding flawless from start to finish and for making it such a night to remember!

    The wedding of Nicole and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
    Sent on 18/09/2018
  • Mikayla

    Mikayla Swirski , Married on 27/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Absolutely Lovely!

    An absolutely beautiful venue! The dock was lovely for the ceremony, and I appreciated that UBC boathouse had a back up plan in case we were rained out. The reception areas is so open, and made for great photos. We appreciated the list of preferred vendors, which made choosing a catering company easy. The ceremony was delayed by 1.5hours due to 4 car accidents and a nearby fire and UBC boathouse was flexible and didn't miss a beat.

    Sent on 24/08/2018
  • Lexi Tattrie , Married on 21/07/2018

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    UBC Boathouse team surpassed all expectations! Couldn't have planned my wedding without all their support.

    The UBC Boathouse team completely surpassed all expectations. I am very hands-on and organised and Karen + the team were extremely responsive, detailed-oriented and really just had an answer for any of my concerns or worries. It was pretty clear from early on in the wedding planning process that these ladies knew exactly how to run an event with ease and professionalism. Thank you ladies so much for your continued support this year and all that you did to make mine and Marc's day top-notch!

    The wedding of Lexi Tattrie and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
    Sent on 29/08/2018
  • Teresa L , Married on 26/05/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Dream venue

    The venue was everything we wanted. The backdrop is stunning and the location is convenient. The staff was responsive and open to our ideas. We loved the flexibility of the space from the outdoor ceremony on the dock to indoor airy space for our reception to the patio bar. We could not have asked for more.

    Sent on 25/08/2018
  • Jessica Lee , Married on 22/04/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    It was awesome

    Karen was so easy to communicate with and she was flexible. She would make sure that our wedding would run smoothly. It was a shame that she was not there on our actual wedding day but she did help us a lot throughout the wedding planning process. Thank you Karen.

    Sent on 12/07/2018
  • Shilo Hansen , Married on 19/04/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Love ubc boathouse!

    Everything about our wedding at the UBC Boathouse was absolutely perfect... from the most stunning scenery of the Fraser River and the mountains, to the very helpful and responsive staff, to the beautiful and well-kept interior. We truly couldn't have picked a better venue.

    Sent on 19/04/2018
  • Kelsey Nicole Claydon , Married on 31/03/2018

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Perfect Day!

    The staff was very quick and helpful with questions and responses. The views and venue was clean and beautiful. I would have liked to be contacted on the day when the venue decided it was nice enough to have our ceremony outdoors. But other than that it was a flawless wedding!

    Sent on 20/04/2018
  • Laura Lilley , Married on 30/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stunning Venue!

    When my husband and I were deciding on a venue it was an easy decision to agree on UBC Boathouse. The venue is stunning rain or shine. We booked in November for a late March wedding. We knew the weather would be a toss-up but even if it was pouring rain and storming the venue would be beautiful.
    The planning process with UBC Boathouse was very well organized. Karen and Katie were always available to help and were prompt to respond to emails and phone calls. When it came to deciding the floor plan Karen was very helpful and adaptable with working with our vision.
    The day of the wedding went smooth and we were in luck with sunshine! All our vendors were very happy with their interactions with the venue staff and my husband and I had a fantastic time. We would definitely recommend UBC Boathouse for your wedding. It is great to have a venue with such professional staff that you know your wedding is in good hands. They were able to take a lot of stress off of me which is invaluable while planning a wedding. Thanks UBC Boathouse!!

    Sent on 23/04/2018
  • Sarah

    Sarah Prigge , Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mountain Views & Gorgeous Venue

    Wow! The UBC Boathouse is a stunning venue with a staff that makes wedding venue planning easy. Their website is intuitive with almost all the info you would need and the staff are ready to help with any question or concern. I planned my own wedding -so this is a BIG deal.

    My now husband and I are very chill and did not want to have to think much about the details of the day. Katie helped us to plan it out in about a half hour and let us dream. She is easy to talk to and fun to be around.

    Everything around finances was smooth and simple with the Boathouse. They are very professional and honest with costs. The UBC Boathouse provides many resources that are very helpful for the day such as sound equipment, tables, chairs, table clothes [extra minimal fee], patio furniture, coat racks, partners to the UBC Boathouse to help plan vendors, and views of the mountains you can’t get anywhere else. Compared to other venues this has the best value.

    The venue itself has its own character, minimal decor is needed to make it look wonderful. We basically only added florals and lights to make it look how we desired it to.

    I’m a huge fan of the UBC Boathouse, I will continue to recommend it to everyone I tell about my wedding.

    We had our wedding on the dock in March! Turned out to be a stunning sunny day, everything ran so smooth. The day of the wedding there was a spectacular sunset and the photos we took were whimsy.

    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
    Sent on 23/04/2018

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.