John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
72 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

72 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 of 5.0

4.7 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
Order by :
  • Rachel

    Rachel Aberle , Married on 28/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Neither of us are big decorators, so our rule was that our venue needed to be beautiful without much dressing up. The Boathouse fit that bill to a tea. It's a gorgeous location with a great staff - and your rental includes tables and chairs that they set up prior to your rental time. We also used their linen rental, which was affordable and was also set up outside our rental time. It's not the cheapest place, but we got married on a Monday which made it much more affordable, and when we factored in the included equipment rentals, it was a no-brainer.

    Sent on 18/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Congratulations to you both on your wedding! Rachel, thank you so much for submitting your review of the UBC Boathouse. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your day and your photos are beautiful!

  • Nicole Ditomaso, Married on 18/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our dream wedding at the UBC Boathouse! The venue is AMAZING. Karen and the team were so helpful from the very beginning, even before we had booked the venue. Every email I sent was answered quickly and professionally. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour on the lower deck, and then moved upstairs for the reception. Everything about the venue is breathtaking, and it's naturally beautiful so minimal decor is needed. My husband and I looked at so many different venues but none of them felt right until we saw the UBC Boathouse. Book your wedding here - you won't regret it! :)

    Sent on 23/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you for submitting a review Nicole! We are so thrilled that you chose the UBC Boathouse and that we were able to be a part of your dream wedding day!

  • Courtney Hanna, Married on 11/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse was the absolute perfect venue for our wedding! The space is so versatile allowing for you to create whatever vision you have for your big day. The staff are very helpful and responsive. We would definitely recommend this venue to anybody looking to host an event or wedding!

    Sent on 29/09/2017
  • Emily Sham, Married on 05/08/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Karen and the rest of the team were a dream to work with. We were able to tell them our ideas but they also gave us suggestions when we were lost. The venue is breathtakingly beautiful. We had our ceremony on the dock and our reception upstairs. We were able to bring in our own vendors and even our own liquor!!!

    Sent on 27/09/2017
  • Kassandra

    Kassandra Bergeron-Bailey, Married on 28/07/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at UBC boathouse in July and absolutely loved it! We really wanted something on the water in Vancouver and after looking around for a couple months we found and feel in love with UBC boathouse! Karen and her team are absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 22/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you Kassandra! Working with you both leading up to your wedding day was was so much fun and so memorable. We are thrilled that you were happy with everything on your wedding day!

  • Eri Nomoto, Married on 09/07/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We decided to pick the UBC boathouse for our wedding venue and that was the best choice. The venue was beautiful, outstanding, bright, and spacious for about 110 guests. Karen has been very helpful, flexible, informative and friendly since the we checked the venue at very first time. They have a list of recommended catering companies and we picked the Emelle's Caterting, which often serve at the UBC boathouse so their collaboration and teamwork were excellent. We were very lucky because Karen allowed us to bring some of the decoration and drinks one day before the wedding which gives us more time to prepare and take pre-wedding pictures on the wedding day. ( It was based on the booking availability ) We have received great feedback from our guests from elderly to family with young children. The venue is accessible for elderly and not boring for kids because of the views of birds and airplanes coming and going. Overall we are very happy that we got married there on Sunday, July 9th. I would say Saturdays are a bit expensive but Fridays and Sundays are affordable.

    Sent on 23/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Eri, thank you so much for leaving a review, we love seeing your wedding photos too! We are overjoyed that you loved your wedding day and the vendors that you chose, including Emelle's Catering! It was such a pleasure to work with you both and I am glad that we were able to accommodate the early drop off of your decor for you! Best wishes to you both.

  • Brogan Hartley, Married on 01/07/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We LOVE the John M S Lecky UBC Boathouse!!! All of our guests couldn't say enough about the space and location, not to mention the VIEWS! It was everything I could ever have imagined for our special day, and then some. Dealing with the staff there was fantastic and I always received prompt response! Thank you to the amazing team for helping us create our special day.

    Sent on 21/07/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you for leaving the venue a review Brogan! It was so much fun working with you both and fitting in planning appointments when you were in town. We are so glad that your guests were happy with your venue choice and that you all have stunning memories looking back on this special day. We are in love with your photos by Matt Kennedy photo, especially the Oh Canada sparkler photo on the dock!

  • Juliana Ramza, Married on 23/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC Boathouse is a great venue. We loved how we could get married outside on the dock and then have the reception inside. The reception space is so pretty with floor to ceiling windows with an incredible view. On a warm summer day is does get a bit warm inside but luckily some windows can be open and make sure the dance floor is by the patio to get some air in too. The staff are very helpful at the boathouse, they know the venue inside and out and were really fantastic in making sure our wedding day went on without a hitch. What's also great about the venue is that you bring your own alcohol and catering so you can afford to have an open bar and bring in some amazing caterers. One cautionary note though that the seagulls love the dock at the UBC Boathouse. We had a huge swarm at one point at the ceremony and some ppl did get hit. In the end, we look back and laugh. Definitely memorable!

    Sent on 20/07/2017
  • Tori, Married on 17/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Regular
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I really enjoyed working with the staff at the UBC boathouse and found them to be very helpful. I would definitely recommend the location as it is really beautiful on a summer day. The only downside is they are surprisingly not flexible and you pay for every additional minute you are in the space, which can really add a lot to a budget.

    Sent on 20/07/2017
  • Gregory Chang, Married on 10/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy that we held our wedding reception at the UBC Boathouse! It was a beautiful space that really didn't need much additional decor, and showed off the natural beauty around the venue. It was a great size for our 130 guests, with space for a well-sized dance floor! The team was great - professional, informative, responsive, and so friendly! They allowed us to come in a couple times before the event for measurements, laptop testing, etc., which really helped our planning. Would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 25/07/2017

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info