John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
86 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 / 5

4.7 of 5.0

86 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
Order by :
  • Christy Mahlberg, Getting married on 10/20/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Beautiful venue!

    The UBC Boathouse was an absolutely stunning venue - what a find! The location is beautiful - right by the water, with the mountains in the background. Our guests loved it! The staff was exceptional in the months leading up to our wedding - the most responsive of all of our vendors, answering our questions so quickly and going out of their way to be helpful. We were also very impressed with the day-of venue coordinator who was so professional and so helpful, and went above and beyond. This venue is overall a great value for the money (and additionally, we were married on a Sunday which helped our budget a bit). Because the building and surrounding area are so picturesque, our decor needs were minimal. We would recommend this venue without hesitation to anyone!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • Jessica Lee , Married on 04/22/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    It was awesome

    Karen was so easy to communicate with and she was flexible. She would make sure that our wedding would run smoothly. It was a shame that she was not there on our actual wedding day but she did help us a lot throughout the wedding planning process. Thank you Karen.

    Sent on 07/12/2018
  • Shilo Hansen , Married on 04/19/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Love ubc boathouse!

    Everything about our wedding at the UBC Boathouse was absolutely perfect... from the most stunning scenery of the Fraser River and the mountains, to the very helpful and responsive staff, to the beautiful and well-kept interior. We truly couldn't have picked a better venue.

    Sent on 04/19/2018
  • Kelsey Nicole Claydon , Married on 03/31/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Perfect Day!

    The staff was very quick and helpful with questions and responses. The views and venue was clean and beautiful. I would have liked to be contacted on the day when the venue decided it was nice enough to have our ceremony outdoors. But other than that it was a flawless wedding!

    Sent on 04/20/2018
  • Laura Lilley , Married on 03/30/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stunning Venue!

    When my husband and I were deciding on a venue it was an easy decision to agree on UBC Boathouse. The venue is stunning rain or shine. We booked in November for a late March wedding. We knew the weather would be a toss-up but even if it was pouring rain and storming the venue would be beautiful.
    The planning process with UBC Boathouse was very well organized. Karen and Katie were always available to help and were prompt to respond to emails and phone calls. When it came to deciding the floor plan Karen was very helpful and adaptable with working with our vision.
    The day of the wedding went smooth and we were in luck with sunshine! All our vendors were very happy with their interactions with the venue staff and my husband and I had a fantastic time. We would definitely recommend UBC Boathouse for your wedding. It is great to have a venue with such professional staff that you know your wedding is in good hands. They were able to take a lot of stress off of me which is invaluable while planning a wedding. Thanks UBC Boathouse!!

    Sent on 04/23/2018
  • Sarah

    Sarah Prigge , Married on 03/11/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mountain Views & Gorgeous Venue

    Wow! The UBC Boathouse is a stunning venue with a staff that makes wedding venue planning easy. Their website is intuitive with almost all the info you would need and the staff are ready to help with any question or concern. I planned my own wedding -so this is a BIG deal.

    My now husband and I are very chill and did not want to have to think much about the details of the day. Katie helped us to plan it out in about a half hour and let us dream. She is easy to talk to and fun to be around.

    Everything around finances was smooth and simple with the Boathouse. They are very professional and honest with costs. The UBC Boathouse provides many resources that are very helpful for the day such as sound equipment, tables, chairs, table clothes [extra minimal fee], patio furniture, coat racks, partners to the UBC Boathouse to help plan vendors, and views of the mountains you can’t get anywhere else. Compared to other venues this has the best value.

    The venue itself has its own character, minimal decor is needed to make it look wonderful. We basically only added florals and lights to make it look how we desired it to.

    I’m a huge fan of the UBC Boathouse, I will continue to recommend it to everyone I tell about my wedding.

    We had our wedding on the dock in March! Turned out to be a stunning sunny day, everything ran so smooth. The day of the wedding there was a spectacular sunset and the photos we took were whimsy.

    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
    Sent on 04/23/2018
  • Jessica Van Der Kuur , Married on 03/09/2018

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Best Experience

    My fiance and I have had nothing but good experience working with the UBC boathouse. We went to the boathouse twice to check it out, take pictures, talk about decorations, etc. and both times were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We met again 30 days prior to the wedding and they created a digital floor plan of exactly what we envisioned for our wedding reception. They were glad to accept any changes prior to the wedding or the day of. The night of our wedding went without a hitch, there were no problems, and if there were, I never knew as the UBC boathouse desired a point person other than myself to talk to throughout the night. The facilities are beautiful and easy to use. We appreciated having all the tables and chairs set up as well as the linens, as we ordered them from the UBC boathouse as well. I would highly recommend the UBC boathouse as a destination for any wedding or reception, any time of the year.

    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 7
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 8
    Sent on 04/19/2018
  • Rachael Sproston , Married on 12/31/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    New Years Eve Wedding

    The Boathouse wasn’t on our radar until I stumbled across a photographers blog; talking about their favourite venues to shoot.
    Originally drawn in by the location; we highly recommend because whole experience was amazing. We felt so taken care of by the staff who were all warm, welcoming and organized.

    Sent on 04/22/2018
  • Kelsey Vass , Married on 12/30/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stunning Venue with Dedicated Staff

    The UBC Boathouse is an absolutely stunning venue. We want to thank all the staff at the UBC Boathouse for making our special day run smoothly. We had the most beautiful reception all in part to them sharing our vision, their meticulous attention to detail, and professional communication. Right from the time of booking to the end of the day, the staff made sure that everything was taken care of. It was a great pleasure working with a group of people that are dedicated to their craft.

    The wedding of Kelsey Vass and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 9
    The wedding of Kelsey Vass and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 10
    Sent on 04/21/2018
  • Maria

    Maria Trinidad , Married on 10/14/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    It was one of our best decision for a wedding. The venue is beautiful with a good Westcoast vibe. Karen was very responsive and helpful. I advice to get married on a Sunday or weekday to get the cheaper rate.

    Sent on 11/24/2017

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Message your vendors through WeddingWire and you'll receive an entry for every meeting and hired vendor. See more details.