John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
91 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews for John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

91 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

56 User photos

John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 7
+50
Order by :
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth Creighton , Married on 12/10/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Stunning Venue!

    My husband and I got married at UBC Boathouse in October, and it was picture perfect! We were able to get some pictures on the docks as the sunset, and they came out absolutely perfect! The space was perfectly sized for our medium wedding (110 people), although we're sure it would accommodate more or less equally well. The staff were amazing and worked with us from day one to make the day unforgettable!

    Sent on 20/12/2018
  • Nicole

    Nicole , Married on 24/08/2018

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing Venue

    My husband and I got married Friday August 24th, 2018 at the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse. It was a magical day and I couldn’t have asked for a better venue to have our dream wedding at. The boathouse was incredibly organized and professional throughout the entire time! Always there to answer any questions and trust me I asked a lot. They also were two steps ahead of me with the organization of my wedding it was amazing! Thank you so much UBC Boathouse for making our wedding flawless from start to finish and for making it such a night to remember!

    The wedding of Nicole and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 8
    Sent on 18/09/2018
  • Sarah

    Sarah Prigge , Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Mountain Views & Gorgeous Venue

    Wow! The UBC Boathouse is a stunning venue with a staff that makes wedding venue planning easy. Their website is intuitive with almost all the info you would need and the staff are ready to help with any question or concern. I planned my own wedding -so this is a BIG deal.

    My now husband and I are very chill and did not want to have to think much about the details of the day. Katie helped us to plan it out in about a half hour and let us dream. She is easy to talk to and fun to be around.

    Everything around finances was smooth and simple with the Boathouse. They are very professional and honest with costs. The UBC Boathouse provides many resources that are very helpful for the day such as sound equipment, tables, chairs, table clothes [extra minimal fee], patio furniture, coat racks, partners to the UBC Boathouse to help plan vendors, and views of the mountains you can’t get anywhere else. Compared to other venues this has the best value.

    The venue itself has its own character, minimal decor is needed to make it look wonderful. We basically only added florals and lights to make it look how we desired it to.

    I’m a huge fan of the UBC Boathouse, I will continue to recommend it to everyone I tell about my wedding.

    We had our wedding on the dock in March! Turned out to be a stunning sunny day, everything ran so smooth. The day of the wedding there was a spectacular sunset and the photos we took were whimsy.

    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 9
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 10
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 11
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 12
    Sent on 23/04/2018
  • Rachel

    Rachel Aberle , Married on 28/08/2017

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Neither of us are big decorators, so our rule was that our venue needed to be beautiful without much dressing up. The Boathouse fit that bill to a tea. It's a gorgeous location with a great staff - and your rental includes tables and chairs that they set up prior to your rental time. We also used their linen rental, which was affordable and was also set up outside our rental time. It's not the cheapest place, but we got married on a Monday which made it much more affordable, and when we factored in the included equipment rentals, it was a no-brainer.

    The wedding of Rachel Aberle  and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 13
    The wedding of Rachel Aberle  and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 14
    Sent on 18/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Congratulations to you both on your wedding! Rachel, thank you so much for submitting your review of the UBC Boathouse. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your day and your photos are beautiful!

  • Justine

    Justine Bradley , Married on 31/03/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I can't say enough good things about this venue! My husband and I got married there March 31, 2017 and had an amazing wedding. The venue is gorgeous with windows from floor to ceiling overlooking the river and the beautiful wood floors. Since booking our venue our contact at the venue Karen was fantastic. Her communication with us was fantastic, she was fast on her responses and very helpful with seating plans and layout to everything else. We would highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • Chloe

    chloe wang , Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    we had our wedding on January 10th, 2016 and book UBC boathouse. When i first saw the place, i did not hesitate at all to book it. It is beautiful with mountain and river background, big glass windows, balcony and amazing dock for you to have your wedding in the summer. The staff are so great and helpful with my unlimited questions, emails and requests. Our wedding was such a blast, everyone had a great time and love the place. Every process from booking the venue till our actual wedding finishes is smooth.
    Would definitely recommend this place to anyone that's going to get married!

    Sent on 17/02/2016
  • Mikayla

    Mikayla Swirski , Married on 27/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Absolutely Lovely!

    An absolutely beautiful venue! The dock was lovely for the ceremony, and I appreciated that UBC boathouse had a back up plan in case we were rained out. The reception areas is so open, and made for great photos. We appreciated the list of preferred vendors, which made choosing a catering company easy. The ceremony was delayed by 1.5hours due to 4 car accidents and a nearby fire and UBC boathouse was flexible and didn't miss a beat.

    Sent on 24/08/2018
  • Maria

    Maria Trinidad , Married on 14/10/2017

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    It was one of our best decision for a wedding. The venue is beautiful with a good Westcoast vibe. Karen was very responsive and helpful. I advice to get married on a Sunday or weekday to get the cheaper rate.

    Sent on 24/11/2017
  • Christine

    Christine Ann Dunkinson , Married on 13/10/2017

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The venue is amazing! Karen was awesome in helping plan out the reception and cermony floor plans! We had an October wedding and couldn’t have asked for better weather however knowing that the staff at the boathouse were ready for rain to make our day run as smoothly as possible eased our minds completely! thank you for helping us make it a night to remember!

    The wedding of Christine Ann Dunkinson and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 15
    The wedding of Christine Ann Dunkinson and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 16
    Sent on 27/11/2017
  • Kassandra

    Kassandra Bergeron-Bailey , Married on 28/07/2017

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at UBC boathouse in July and absolutely loved it! We really wanted something on the water in Vancouver and after looking around for a couple months we found and feel in love with UBC boathouse! Karen and her team are absolutely amazing!

    The wedding of Kassandra Bergeron-Bailey and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 17
    The wedding of Kassandra Bergeron-Bailey and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 18
    Sent on 22/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you Kassandra! Working with you both leading up to your wedding day was was so much fun and so memorable. We are thrilled that you were happy with everything on your wedding day!

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.