John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save
109 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
Number of guests 1 to 180
Share

Reviews for John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

109

80 User photos

Order by:
  • L

    Layla Nelson · Married on 14/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning venue, GREAT experience.

    Our experience with UBC Boathouse was nothing short of perfect. After COVID-19 forced us to postpone our "big" wedding at a different venue, we decided last minute we still wanted to have a mini-wedding with our immediate family this summer. UBC Boathouse was able to accommodate us perfectly! They set up basic decor for us (which no other venue offered) and although it was raining we were able to use the STUNNING indoor hall. I was so impressed with the price ($600 CAD for a 2 hour time slot) and their ability to accommodate us even though we only booked 1 month before. One day I would love to attend a full, traditional wedding at the venue because I think it would be absolutely magical.

    Sent on 02/09/2020
  • Laura

    Laura Fahlman · Married on 30/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience - flexible and accommodating, especially through COVID-19

    Everyone at UBC Boathouse has been amazing to work with, especially given everything going on with COVID-19 and needing to reschedule our June 2020 wedding to June 2021. What could have been a very stressful situation was made so much easier because of how accommodating and understanding they were. We would highly recommend them based on their responsiveness, flexibility and just simply being good humans!

    Sent on 24/08/2020
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 16/02/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect spot and experience!

    The venue was absolutely perfect for our wedding! The location and space were gorgeous, and the staff were incredibly supportive throughout the entire process. Their preferred vendors were also fantastic, and very much appreciated.

    Sent on 05/04/2020
  • A

    Almira Bardai · Married on 01/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing service/team

    Amelia is a pleasure to deal with - and gets exactly what I'm trying to do/my vision. Can't wait to see it all come together!

    Sent on 21/02/2020
  • Thea

    Thea · Married on 09/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect blank canvas to customize your own wedding.

    We had a medium sized wedding of 60-80 people and it was the perfect size for everyone to be able to mingle without being cramped. The venue itself is so beautiful, we only needed to decorate minimally for our ceremony and then the water and the sunset was our backdrop. The staff were very responsive and flexible, we had a lot of odd requests that we ran by them when doing the first meeting (ie. rose petal confetti cannons, sparkler send-off, a theatrical sword fight) and they didn't even bat an eye. This venue gives you a lot of flexibility on how you want to customize your wedding, they don't restrict you to a specific catering company or any other vendor.

    The venue was very affordable and booking times are flexible. It is easy to get to for guests by transit and has plenty of free parking. Overall, a great venue and I would recommend it to my friends.

    Sent on 12/11/2019
  • A

    Anny Wang · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we wanted!

    Stunning location and the staff was amazing! From the first visit to the planning stages and execution of our plan were all in point!

    Sent on 31/12/2019
  • M

    Michal Simhon · Married on 18/08/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful place to have our wedding!

    Very responsive and easy to work with.

    Sent on 21/09/2019
  • Jesse

    Jesse Marchand · Married on 11/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Naturally beautiful venue

    We chose UBC Boathouse because it was an incredibly beautiful venue that didn't require a lot of decor to make it look good. We wanted a simple wedding with beautiful BC as the backdrop. The venue was absolutely perfect and the photos are stunning. On top of that, the vendor was so easy to deal with and super helpful. Setup and takedown with them was a breeze. We did not have to lift a finger.

    It is near the airport, so expect planes to fly overhead. It was not an issue and the kids loved it. They who got excited every time a plane went by. :D

    Sent on 16/11/2019
  • T

    · Married on 09/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    UBC Boathouse is the best!

    We loved hosting our reception here! It is such a gorgeous venue with spectacular views. We used both the inside hall and docks, which was such an added bonus. As well, the staff we worked with especially Katie and Amelia were absolutely wonderful. They were very responsive to emails and made organizing everything effortless. I really liked the fact they were able to accommodate so many of our requests. We have worked with other venues in the past for other events and it was always difficult to reach them or they were rigid with so many things but we felt UBC Boathouse really went out of their way to make it an easy and enjoyable day for us. We would definitely recommend the venue to our family and friends (we actually already have!) And if we ever needed to host an event in the future we would definitely love to use this venue again!

    Sent on 25/09/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica Kappel · Married on 04/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nautical Dream

    From the very beginning they were a breeze to work with, very responsive and informative. It was a bit out of our original price range but once we saw it in person we could not have imagined having it anywhere else. The venue itself is absolutely amazing, we had so many compliments from friends and family and were in awe of how beautiful the space was all set-up for our wedding day. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. For anyone looking for somewhere near the water that’s a little bit different UBC Boathouse is definitely a big contender!

    Sent on 17/09/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.