Aga Khan Museum

20 reviews | Toronto (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Aga Khan Museum

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

20

38 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Mark Gudofsky · Married on 19/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent venue

    Everybody was very nice, professional and responsive. The grounds are stunning and provide the perfect background for photo opportunities. We can’t say enough good things about the the staff that took care of our wedding party, nor how delicious the food was. Thank you very much for making our wedding day perfect!

    Sent on 01/12/2019
  • N

    Farrah Khaled · Married on 18/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My beautiful Fall Wedding at the Aga Khan Museum

    We are so very happy we decided to have our wedding at the Aga Khan Museum this past October. I don't think there is a more elegant, modern and glamorous venue in Toronto at this point. The museum and the Ismaili Centre offer so many truly gorgeous spots for indoor and outdoor photos! The staff were beyond helpful and professional. Sonia Borkar is a truly exceptional troubleshooter. She gave us the kind of support we really needed to pull off a truly memorable event. Our guests are still talking about the incredible food by McEwan Catering. We can't think of a single thing that could have gone better. Thank you to everyone at the museum for hosting our dream wedding!

    Sent on 23/11/2019
  • Nooreen

    Nooreen · Married on 10/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Dinner at the AKM

    The Aga Khan Museum (AKM) is an excellent venue to host your engagement/wedding. We chose to host our marquee event at the AKM as it provided a wide array of settings such as the traditional mogul inspired gardens nestled amongst breathtaking reflective illuminated pools, a stunning indoor glass enclosed courtyard and an auditorium lounge that boasts an architecturally stunning staircase.
    Sonia Borkar, the museum’s Event’s Manager was extremely accommodating and provided us with creative options to meet our needs. We hosted two events, one in the auditorium who's stunning staircase rendered an excellent back drop for our grand entrance and the other at the Diwan restaurant located in the AKM. The Diwan, run by Chef Mark McEwan and overseen by Chef Shen offered an excellent and diverse range of menu options along with professional staff and service. Overall, the Aga Khan Museum far exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend considering it for a wedding/event venue.

    #NK2019

    Sent on 19/11/2019
  • Domm

    Dom Chan · Married on 07/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding venue

    Aga Khan Museum was very accommodating and flexible, even though we booked the venue a few months before our wedding ceremony (almost last minute). Whenever me or my wife wants to make changes, Aga Khan Museum would constantly communicate with us and immediately make any adjustments.

    At the time of our wedding, the Aga Khan Museum staffs were extremely professional and made our wedding ceremony lively. They have a beautiful garden where you can take pictures after the wedding ceremony (a perfect two in one deal).

    We are glad we chose Aga Khan Museum for our wedding ceremony and we would highly recommend Aga Khan Museum to our friends.

    Sent on 24/11/2019
  • S

    Soph and Kam · Married on 24/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceeded expectations!

    We feel so lucky to have had our wedding at the Aga Khan Museum. Aside from it being a beautiful location, the team there went over and above to make sure we had our dream wedding. Sonia and her team were excellent in executing everything perfectly. Our wedding was planned 90% via email due to one us living outside Canada and the other outside Toronto and the team made sure they left no stone unturned. Whatever your vision, if you're thinking of having your wedding here, don’t think twice about it. They will make it happen.

    Sent on 17/11/2019
  • S

    Sana · Married on 22/06/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent experience

    Excellent experience - a bit pricey due to McEwan catering but worth it! Sonia was a great event manager however dealing with McEwan was difficult since they aren't very flexible and their pricing are horrendously expensive

    Sent on 01/07/2019
  • A

    Amanda Nero · Married on 19/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue

    We had a May wedding at the Aga Khan courtyard in 2019. The greatest part of the Aga Khan is it's modern architecture and beautiful garden. The venue rental is very modest given that venue offers a beautiful location for couples pictures, a bridal suite and grooms suite, and a venue that requires minimal decoration.

    Our coordinator was very helpful; we had to plan our wedding from the States, but everything was arranged for us with only 2 visits. She was very accommodating, offering the restaurant and other indoor locations as options for photos just in case there was rain. They had volunteers ensure our courtyard wedding was as private as it could be for a public museum.

    All in all, I recommend the Aga Khan to everyone.

    Sent on 22/05/2019

    Aga Khan Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review, Amanda. We wish you and Nero all the best! If you're ever in town again please do drop by and say hi.
  • J Cho

    J Cho · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    so happy we chose the AGK for our wedding


    1) Sonia, the event coordinator at the AGK, was experienced, dedicated, trustworthy, and warm/personable. She was prompt and responsive in communicating, flexible in accommodating our changing needs/numbers, and there were never any surprises / she was clear and straightforward about everything. Her guidance and recommendations were invaluable throughout the planning process, and we always felt like she had our back.

    We happened to visit the AGK a few weeks before our wedding (unannounced) when they were setting up for another wedding, and it was a marvel/delight to see first hand how dedicated and sharp Sonia was in overseeing the set up and ensuring the event went smoothly. When we had last minute questions/concerns the weekend before our wedding, Sonia replied immediately (after she had been up until 2am working another wedding, ensuring that wedding went off without a hitch). Her dedication, attention to detail, professionalism, and personability is exactly what you want when planning your big day, and we felt entirely confident leaving the coordination of our special day in her capable hands. indeed, our wedding wound up being the magical, smoothly administered, impressive event we hoped it would. From the pre-tour, to the ceremony, to cocktails, to catering, to transport, to cleanup and billing... it was all as smooth and effortless as could be, and it was a joy for all in attendance. The AGK delivered on everything and more, and I really can't speak highly enough of Sonia and all the staff at the AGK.

    2) the space itself... is elegant, clean, peaceful, memorable.

    The grounds outside provide a spectacular, bright, clean, modern landscape for photography. The architecture of the building, the reflecting pools, and the stone paths and lavender, with the ismaili center in the background... is a beautiful backdrop, not only for photos, but also for the reception, which can be appreciated from inside the Diwan restaurant, where we held our reception.

    The Diwan room was an excellent place to have the reception. The bar at the center made for a great flow of guests and a meeting point during the cocktail hour. The glass panels that look out into the courtyard serve as a dramatic backdrop for the head table. The tables and chairs that are already in the room - are elegant and refined enough, such that you would not even need to cover them. And then of course, the authentic panels lining the ceiling and back end of the room, provide the room with elegant, harmonious decor that is unique and fits the space perfectly.

    The Bellerive Room: this is where we held our ceremony. At first, I thought it would be too small and cozy for the ceremony, however, it really did make for an intimate ceremony. The acoustics for our harpist were wonderful, and our officiant did not need a microphone, and every word could be easily heard and understood. The intimacy of the room really did add so much to the ceremony, and you could feel the joy & love & emotion of all the guests.

    3) We did not go on the tour ourselves (since we were getting married), but we were told the Tour was fantastic. Interesting, informative, and impressive, and not too long so as to be boring or draining! The collection itself is not so extensive as to be overwhelming, and we are very happy we opted to include the tour in our program, as it helped our guests to experience the museum as more than just a venue for our wedding.

    4) The Food/Catering! as much as people loved the tour, we got even more positive feedback from the guests about how Good the food was! i think the hors d'oeuvres were the most impressive, and even my friends who are chefs/foodies were gushing with praise. prior to the event, McEwan offered a full tasting, and their chefs took our notes and feedbacks from the tasting, and incorporated our feedback into the final product. The servers were all wonderful: well-trained, presentable, efficient, and personable.

    Shall I go on? I could go on. Suffice it to say - we could not be happier with our decision to hold our ceremony and reception here at the Aga Khan Museum.

    Sent on 12/10/2018
  • S

    Sarah Chow · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Venue to Remember

    Aga Khan Museum was the most memorable place to have our wedding ceremony. The blue stairs down was picturesque and couldn't ask for a grander entrance. All the guests loved the location and noted it was very different than all the wedding ceremonies they have been to.

    The grounds was also a picture perfect place to take wedding photos. They have many locations on the grounds to have breathtaking photos that will last a lifetime.

    Sonia and her event team was very organized and prompt at responding any inquiries. They made the process seemeless and enjoyable.

    Sent on 05/12/2019
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.