Heintzman House
135 Bay Thorn Drive L3T 3V1 Markham (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save
9 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
Number of guests 10 to 113
Share

Reviews for Heintzman House

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

9
Order by:
  • Liron

    Liron Deline · Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most magical place to say I do!

    The Heintzman House is an exquisite venue tucked away in a quaint suburb of Thornhill. It's rich history from the 1800's is as enchanting as the house itself. My husband and I could not have asked nor wanted for a more stunning setting to proclaim and celebrate our love. The colonial style grounds and the elegant vintage interior are classically beautiful and offer a variety of gorgeous backdrops for many a romantic and glamorous shot that will make for stunning keepsakes which will last a lifetime. I never felt more like a Queen with her King than when at this venue. It made our special day all the more magical. The house was perfect and spacious enough for our intimate wedding of 80 guests. The bridal suite is lovely, comfortable and has nice views of the grounds and the solarium below, the space for the bar is good, the kitchen is fully equipped, and the price for the rental cannot be beat!!

    Sent on 03/08/2018

    Heintzman House's reply:

    Hi Liron and Matthew

    Congratulations! Thank you for sharing your special day with us. The photos are beautiful. All the best!
    Lori
  • Jill

    Jillaine Yee · Married on 13/01/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Intimate and beautiful venue

    Loved the rooms and the intimate feel of the largest room we used for the ceremony. We had amazing sunlight streaming through the window for the morning. We were able to hold the rehearsal the night before and it was just as romantic. They had stringed lights along the arches, and it made it feel so romantic. Full sunlight or not, the hall was just as beautiful.

    Sent on 19/02/2018
  • J

    Julie Elliot · Married on 20/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy with this venue choice. It was perfect for our 110 ppl guest list. The house is beautiful and our guests kept commenting on how unique and great the venue was. Everything ran very smoothly thanks to Christine (venue manager) and her recommended caterer. The venue and their recommended vendors also had very competitive pricing so it was also somewhat more affordable than the average Toronto/GTA wedding. that was a plus!

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • R

    Roman Zimine · Married on 23/05/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful place to host a vintage wedding!

    Christine is very friendly, professional, and accommodating, and we have nothing bad to say about the experience. If we were to do our wedding again we would definitely pick the Heintzman House!

    Sent on 16/06/2016
  • A

    Alexandra P · Married on 05/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding reception at Heintzman House in July 2014 and couldn't have been more happy with our venue choice. The charm and beauty of this venue is amazing. What also appealed to us about the Heintzman House was the fact that there was a large bridal suite with private bathroom and several sitting rooms that the guests could roam in and explore before or during the reception. Furthermore, the house had beautifully manicured grounds with lots of greenery and colourful flower beds so guests could enjoy getting some fresh air during the reception. Almost every other guest we spoke to made a comment about how great and unique this venue was so we knew people loved it. It was stunning for photos too...I wish we actually allotted more time for photos at the venue. We also really enjoyed dealing with Christine who runs the place. She was always extremely nice and very accommodating in letting us come over to try out decorations or drop off supplies. All in all, picking this reception venue was one of our best wedding planning decisions.

    Sent on 15/07/2014

    Heintzman House's reply:

    Hi Alexandra and Steve - thank you so much for the lovely review! I am so happy that you, as well as your guests enjoyed the House so much. It was a pleasure dealing with you all!
    Best wishes for a wonderful future together!!
    Christine
  • J

    Jennifer James · Married on 26/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy that I chose the Heintzman House as my venue! I highly recommend it! I loved having the house to ourselves for the whole day. It made me feel like we were the only people in the world getting married that day! It was very personal and intimate. Our guests absolutely loved the location and spoke very highly of the venue. Another thing that was delightful about the Heintzman House was the beautiful rooms to get ready in! Christine was wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wedding of 80 people at the Heintzman House which is a beautiful historic mansion in the suburbs of Thornhill with ample parking and grounds. It was definitely a unique (and intimate) choice of venue.

    Our ceremony ended up being indoors due to the rain. The house has a conservatory connected to its banquet hall which was a great backdrop for our ceremony. It also has a large lounge which we did our group photos but the room is a bit cut off so I should have let my guests know the schedule before the ceremony so they can stick around. We also did our tea ceremony in the lounge so it acted like a "themed" room for our wedding.

    Upstairs, there was a large lovely bridal suite and smaller groom's room which were a huge feature for us. It was great to have everyone in one area getting ready and the bridal suite was continually used throughout our wedding. The groom's room was good afterwards for guests to rest a bit or take their children for some privacy. There is also a beautiful balcony which was great place to do the bouquet toss. Overall, the house had that "southern-style estate/manor" feel that we wanted for our wedding and the guests were free to roam about.

    Sent on 25/07/2013
  • S

    Samantha Moore · Married on 03/05/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful old estate. Perfect for an outdoor ceremony with an indoor reception. Best for smaller weddings as the space inside is limited. We had 95 guests and I wouldn't go with anymore than that if you want to be able to move between the tables at dinner. Great bridal suite upstairs with lots of Victorian flair. Also the kitchen is a decent size for your caterer to use for staging. No cooking allowed in the kitchen. Lovely fireplace room, great during cocktails and as a spot for your gift table. Wouldn't have changed my venue for anything. We loved the character of this place.

    Sent on 05/08/2015
  • E

    Emma P · Married on 24/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our venue. It was a gorgeous venue for a smaller wedding, and we were able to get fantastic photos at the venue.

    We didn't have a huge budget for our wedding, so we wanted a venue that already had charm and beauty so we didn't need to spend a lot on additional decor making a blah place pretty. This venue fit our needs, plus it had ample free parking, was close to transit, and we could do both the wedding ceremony and reception in the one place, making things easier for our guests.

    The on-site coordinator gave us recommendations for the caterera that could work with our budgets (there are pre-approved caterers with different price-points, but you can also bring in your own caterer - you just need to get them approved).

    Everything ran smoothly and we were able to enjoy our day stress-free.

    Sent on 21/10/2012
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.