Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Gateway Getaways

Gateway Getaways

Gateway Getaways

Toronto, Ontario
4.8 out of 5 rating, 17 reviews
View more information

17 reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 17
  • Lekisha
    Lekisha A. Married on 28/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding in Cabo

    Wayde was awesome! Our wedding was in los cabos Mexico so we were a bit anxious about the planning given the language barrier. Wayde reassured us that he would ensure everything went smoothly and it did. We cant that you enough for helping making our day even better than we could have imagined. Our friends and family were very happy with waydes attention to detail and how he made everyone feel comfortable during our stay there. Cant thank you enough Wayde!
  • Lance
    Lance P. Married on 24/10/2018
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Brutal experience.

    Wayde (Weddings by Wayde, Gateway Getaways) was recommended to us by a mutual friend and what started out as a positive experience quickly unravelled into a very, very unpleasant one resulting in Wayde firing himself and leaving us stranded without an agent or contact point with under a month to go before our destination wedding. From not quoting the right prices to our guests to offering no-charge trips to other guests, Wayde was a total mess. He made the experience leading up to our wedding horrible and the only saving grace was that we enjoyed ourselves once in Punta Cana.

    I'll also add that there wasn't any transparency with Wayde or the parent company he works for (TravelOnly), just fabricated stories. In fact, with less than a month before our wedding it was revealed that Wayde had not cancelled a guest (who had cancelled over a month before this point) and left us on the hook to pay his cancellation fee. We've been scammed and and stolen from and it's not an experience that will be forgotten anytime soon. Thanks for nothing, Wayde.

    Gateway Getaways's reply:

    Hi Lance,

    While I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, I'm disappointed at the mischaracterizations, misrepresentation of facts, and character assassination attempt.

    There's a difference between firing myself and firing you as a client; I chose to fire you as a client because of what I perceived to be vindictive and malicious actions, as evidenced by this review. Furthermore, I fired you as a client from my planning services, however, as evidenced by the e-mail I sent you, I still took care of all your travel arrangements.

    Below is an except of EXACTLY what was written to you:

    "However, as it appears trust is lost, it may be best to transfer the interaction with the hotel directly to you. As such, I'll be sending an introductory email to you and the hotel so you may take over from here. You'll note that all is already taken care of, and the booking is pretty much complete awaiting your arrival.

    I will also connect you with the floral company and you may continue corresponding with the going forward.

    The travel portion will have to continue through with me however, everything is already closed off and confirmed, with the exception of waiting for xxx (name redacted) to confirm however, as I have not heard back, everything will move forward without him.

    All work agreed upon via our contract has already been completed however, I will void the balance owed and consider the contract complete to this point."

    "I will be sending an e-mail connecting you to the hotel for you to wrap up all services. As mentioned, the hotel has requested a quote for the decor you wanted and will advise shortly of the associated costs; unfortunately, you're not able to do it yourself.

    If they reply to me, I will forward the information directly over to you.

    I will also be connecting you with the hair and make-up department as that has already been booked.

    You should be getting an updated room, so please confirm with them this is still occurring. 

    I have attached the excel sheet that was being used for the reception however, I don't think you'll be using this anymore, so I assume they may disregard it.

    As a man of my word, I will still put together the excursion if you so desire; please reply letting me know and I'll get it taken care of. If not, there are many avenues you may do so yourself. IslandRoutes.com is a very reputable company which I use all the time, feel free to check them out. There is also Viator and a host of other companies."

    So, as you can see, I did not leave you hanging dry, and in fact, not only completely planned your wedding, but also finished up with the travel portion, including taking care of issues two weeks before the wedding when someone could no longer attend due to pregnancy, and a week before where names were misspelt. All went well at the resort because I did my job in choosing the right resort for you, and planned everything exactly as you wanted, leaving you only needing to show up and get married.

    The inference I did not cancel someone is a gross mischaraterization. It was more beneficial to leave the person on the manifest as it would cost less than removing him, so, for your benefit, he was left on so that you wouldn't have to pay more. My apologies for looking for your best interest, I explained this numerous times, however, it appears you may not have fully understood.

    When things started to sour 42 days before departure, I could have easily taken myself away from the planning, however, because of my integrity and work ethic, I chose to continue working as hard as I can on your wedding, albeit in the background, because it is still important to me that I finish anything I start.

    I have e-mails and documentations that will allow me to go point by point and discredit all the accusations made, however, I will chose to not go that route. No funds were stolen, no money lost, and only loss was with one guest cancelling, which would have been negated if the travel insurance I recommended at the beginning of this process was purchased.

    My integrity is intact, and thus there's no need for me to have a back and forth, tit for tat conversation.

    I truly wish you and your wife all the best in your future and your careers. Overall, I'm pleased to hear you had an amazing time at the resort and that all went well.

  • Natalie
    Natalie Married on 05/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Honeymoon

    Wayde was absolutely amazing from my very first interaction with him until even after our honeymoon ended. He answered any and all of our questions with pure professionalism and all within a timely manner. I will definitely be recommending him to others and he is now our go to person for all of our travel needs. Thank you so much once again! Vick and Natalie Persaud
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Khadene
    Khadene H. Married on 01/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thanks for a fabulous and joyful experience, Weddings By Wayde


    My wife and I utilized the services of Weddings By Wayde for our premarital counseling, wedding officiant and travel agent for our honeymoon getaway. My wife and I are happy that we took advantage of the pre-marital counseling sessions offered by Weddings By Wayde. The sessions reinforced that we were ready for the big step to get married. It was a fantastic experience as it allowed my wife (then fiancée) and I to continue growing as a couple. Wayde was a pleasure to interact with, his professionalism and expertise were exemplary.

    As our wedding officiant, Wayde performed a very thoughtful, fun and vivid wedding ceremony. My wife and I were extremely pleased with the ceremony; feedback from our guest were all positive as Wayde hit all the pertinent points.

    We also utilized Weddings By Wayde as our travel agent to search and reserve our honeymoon getaway. He found a fantastic getaway spot in the Bahamas within our budget.

    My wife and I had a fabulous experience on all fronts. Wayde was a joy to interact with as he made us feel relax and comfortable from the first introduction

    Calvin and Khadene
  • Lauren
    Lauren Y. Married on 17/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a pleasant experience

    Thank you Wayde for planning our dream honeymoon! Everything was amazing! You were helpful, knowledgeable and patient when helping us decide on where to go! I would recommend him to anyone looking for a great travel agent!
  • D
    Delano Married on 07/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service

    Wayde was very professional and responsive. He helped to plan the perfect honeymoon by listening to what we wanted and provided very detailed information about the hotel and places to go and things to do.
  • R
    Roslin S. Married on 23/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing as always.

    Wayde doesn’t disappoint. He booked our trip for our honeymoon and even though some of our hotel choices messed up and we had to rebook to other hotels he picked awesome choices. Our travel was flawless and he even checked up on us to make sure it was going smooth in Greece and Italy.
    I thank him for putting up with my stressful ball of nerves lol and my minor freak outs lol. Even though we booked pretty last minute he made everything wonderful. I would definitely use him again to book my trips.
  • A
    Amanda S. Married on 14/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Gateway Getaways played an instrumental role in planning my upcoming destination vacation! They were so attentive and detailed, I couldn't have asked for a better experience! I can't wait to go on my trip!
  • S
    Simonne J. Married on 05/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent and professional service for all your travel needs

    I highly recommend booking with Wayde for all your travel needs!
    It was the week before our wedding and my husband and I hadn’t settled on a destination for our honeymoon. We ended up talking to Wayde about some suggestions for honeymoon destinations and he was so helpful! What stood out the most for me, was his in depth knowledge in regards to some of the properties and destinations that we asked about and his professionalism. I also appreciated how he listened to both of our concerns and ideas of what we wanted to experience for our honeymoon and presented us with some great recommendations. We ended up booking with Wayde right away and it was a great experience. He took care of everything from the booking, our transfers and etc... he also checked in on us the morning of our flight and when we returned, to see if everything was ok! You cannot ask for a better, or more caring agent than Wayde, to help you plan your honeymoon. Thank you Wayde!!!
    Ps... we will be contacting you for all of our future anniversary vacations.... you are just that awesome!
    Sincerely,
    Sithan & Simonne
  • M
    Mike H. Married on 08/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Grand Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Honeymoon

    My wife and I were very happy with the resort we chose for our honeymoon. Wayde,
    Our travel agent and friend was excellent through the whole process. He was always available to answer any questions or concerns we had and even checked in at various points during the trip to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

    Since he is from Jamaica he was able to recommend things we should do while on the trip and we were not disappointed. A definite highlight of the trip was Dunn's River Falls and ice cream and fresh made patties from Devon house.

    Wayde has also booked a group trip for us to Riviera Maya which we just got back from and also had a blast at.

    We always recommend his services and will always talk to him when we are looking to travel and are happy to call him a friend.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message