Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Rocking R Guest Ranch

Rocking R Guest Ranch

Rocking R Guest Ranch

Strathmore, Alberta
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 24 reviews
View more information

24 reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 24

32 User photos

  • Allyson
    Allyson H. Married on 18/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Venue Ever!

    We had our wedding at Rocking R Guest Ranch in September 2021 and everything about it was perfect. We wanted a venue outside of Calgary and something a little more "rustic" and we instantly fell in love with the Ranch. From the stunning view of the lake with the horses in the pasture, the beautiful reception tent and ceremony spot, and the cozy cabins, it is THE venue to have your wedding at.
    We were initially supposed to get married in June 2020 and had to postpone due to COVID. Terri was so wonderful throughout what was already a stressful time, and I cannot say enough good things about her, she is the best!! She was so flexible, easy to deal with and made the entire experience so enjoyable and special. Terri provides couples with a list of trusted vendors from photographer to DJ, which made finding those vendors so easy and stress free. You must use the Ranch's preferred caterer, and it was such an honor to have Chef Judy from YYC Flavour cater our wedding. The food was absolutely delicious, and all our guests told us after how amazing everything was (We had the cedar plank salmon and braised short ribs as our mains, they were to die for!) I could go on and on about the food but trust me when I say you will not be disappointed!
    I always thought I would feel way more stressed out as the day came closer, but I wasn't at all thanks to Terri, she really has thought of everything! We had such an amazing wedding weekend, from getting to the Ranch on Friday night to set things up, to taking everything down on Sunday, the entire weekend was relaxed, fun, and so special. The actual day of our wedding was incredibly windy so our plans to have a champagne toast on the patio after the ceremony had to move inside but Terri had already thought of that and by the time I had freshened up and made my way to the tent everything was all under control. This is just one of many examples of how I didn’t have to worry about barely anything on the day. Thankfully the wind died down right as the sun was setting and our guests were able to get outside onto the beautiful patio to take pictures and enjoy themselves.
    Another thing I loved about the tent itself is that it's basically a blank canvas. With the help of some creative family members, I was able to have my wedding vision come to life. There is already a lot included with the Ranch, like a twinkly back drop for the head table, tree lights, hanging chandeliers, wine barrel tables for the cake and coffee tables, and so much more, that I really didn’t need to rent many decorations!
    My husband and I cannot say enough good things about Rocking R Guest Ranch and highly recommend it to every couple looking for a venue, you will not be disappointed!!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Hello Ally and Thomas,

    It was truly a joy to host your wedding and we are thrilled that you loved the venue and all we had to offer. Thanks for being great guests of the ranch!

    Terri
  • D
    Dani Married on 24/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My favourite wedding

    My husband and I recently got married at the rocking r guest ranch and it was the most perfect day! We had zero issues, not only on the day of the wedding but during the whole planning process! Terri was awesome to deal with, quick to get back to me with all my questions. Her staff on the day of the wedding were all so kind and nice! We went with the DJ they suggested to us and we are so happy we did! He had the party going and everyone up dancing all night. So many of my guests have said it was the best wedding they have been too! Terri and her staff made setting up and taking down a breeze! I didn’t bring many of my own decorations because I loved the way it looked how it was simply decorated to begin with! I would recommend this venue to everyone! It was the best day!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    We loved hosting your wedding! The staff and I very much enjoyed your family and friends. Lovely people! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us; much appreciated!
  • Jordyn
    Jordyn S. Married on 07/08/2020
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Destination wedding local

    We were planning a destination wedding before Covid happened and when everything closed down we started looking for alternatives. We were planning a small wedding to start with and Terri made our weekend exactly what we wanted. I didn't want to plan a wedding and she made all of our plans/dreams come true. The accommodation, food and trail ride were all perfect. We are local to Strathmore and it was still a nice getaway.

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    It was a pleasure to help you plan your wedding! We are so happy that you and Tyler enjoyed your weekend at the ranch.
  • T
    Travis M. Married on 14/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing

    My wife and I had our wedding at Rocking R Guest Ranch in September. The whole experience was so much better then we could have ever imagined! Terri was absolutely fantastic to deal with, not only with making sure everything was perfectly set up she also helped with the planing and provided many ideas to make our wedding the best day of our lives. The cabins are cozy and inviting while the rest of the venue was stunning. There are amazing views from the entire property. On the wedding day Terri and her staff were amazing and made it a truly memorable experience for us! Thank you so much Terri !!!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Hi Travis,

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing some of your pictures. I love the pictures within the pictures. What a great idea!!
  • N
    Niki D. Married on 24/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect venue for a wedding

    We had our wedding at the Rocking r guest ranch,in August. It's a beautiful venue, the property is green and full of big trees and horses, which made for excellent picutures. The venue tent is lovely, with elegant touches already inside. The food was amazing and we had so many compliments on it as well! Terri was great and very easy to work with, I would highly reccomend this as an event venue. We also stayed in the cabins, which are very comfortable and clean. The hot tub is a nice touch also!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Hello Niki,

    Thank you for the wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the ranch! All the best to you and Phil!
  • T
    Tanya H. Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rocking r Guest Ranch

    Beyond our expectations!
    The venue itself is absolutely beautiful. Terri and the staff made our dreams come true!!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Thanks for the lovely review Tanya. We loved working with you and Aaron! The kids were so sweet and very well behaved!
  • J
    Jamie Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book this VENUE!!!

    My Mom kept asking me during my wedding planning, "You sure there's not more to do? This seems too easy". After helping my sisters plan their weddings, my Mom couldn't believe everything Terri included with her Venue and neither could I. Weddings are hard enough to plan you don't need to stress about renting tables, chairs, cutlery, glassware, linens, plates, bartender, servers, etc. Terri takes care of it all. She also has many recommendations for extra vendors to use (photographers, DJ, dessert, decor, wedding planners, etc). Terri also has an option of providing a Hayride which we chose to do, and our guest LOVED it! It gave them something to do while photos where being taken. Not to mention the other horses on her land the guest loved as well.

    Terri also has 2 cabins available on her property which we also booked and had the best time. The night before the wedding my girls and I enjoyed having a glass of wine in the hot tub and relaxing before the craziness began the next morning. The next morning we woke up to an amazing view and while hair and makeup were being done we enjoyed the entertainment from the horses outside our front door.

    I sent Terri numerous emails with questions, confirmations, etc. She always got back to me within the same hour if not sooner. She was very accommodating when we asked to come out to the Ranch to plan some decorations and then again with our photographers. The day of our wedding, it was calling for rain and Terri prepared me the ceremony may not be able to be held outside. However, she gave me some other options and was willing to wait until the last minute to call it. Which I appreciated so much.

    The Rocking R Guest Ranch was the first venue we went to go look at. We loved it right away. But we felt we needed to look at one more venue just to compare. Our second venue didn't even come CLOSE to The Rocking R Ranch. If you are looking for a rustic, GORGEOUS, stress-free venue. Then look no further because you have found it. I could go on and on about how amazing this place is and how wonderful Terri was to deal with. All I can recommend to you is, take the time to go visit the Ranch. I guarantee you will not be wasting your time.

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate all of your wonderful comments! You were so calm on your wedding day and we are happy that we were able to help you create a stress-free wedding. All the best to you and Brad!
  • Sarah
    Sarah B. Married on 27/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding experience

    My husband and I just recently got married at Rocking R Guest Ranch and had what can only be described as a perfect day.

    We started our wedding venue search with the goal of finding something outdoorsy, but found the places in Banff, Kanaskasis and Canmore to not quite fit the bill - either too expensive or too restrictive or too cookie cutter. We stumbled upon Rocking R while doing some online searching and were able to meet with Terri the next day to check it out. We fell in love immediately and have absolutely no regrets with having our big day out there. Nearly every guest commented on how picturesque the setting is and what a wonderful wedding spot we had found.

    Terri was incredibly supportive every step of the way, making sure we were on track and able to answer any and all questions.

    Her list of preferred vendors made the planning stages nearly seamless as we went with her tried and true suppliers who did not disappoint. A tasting dinner in early spring allowed us to meet with additional vendors as well as taste the delicious food from the on location caterer.

    Being able to have access to the venue from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning allowed for a non-frantic set up and time spent with friends and family during the rehearsal bbq which we were able to host out there as well. The cabins on site are extremely well appointed with every detail thought of.

    We additionally hired a ‘day of’ coordinator which took the organization to the next level and allowed Terri to focus on keeping the venue top notch.

    Hurry up and book this place!

    Sarah and Rob



    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review! Your wedding was very unique and we loved the little touches you added like paddling in for your grand entry and using a canoe for your outside bar! You and Rob are lovely people and it was a pleasure to help you plan your delightful wedding. Wishing you all the best in your future!
  • Tia
    Tia K. Married on 29/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Perfect Wedding Venue

    We had our wedding at the Rocking R' Guest Ranch on June 29th, 2019. We came across this venue by chance when we were searching in the fall of 2017! We instantly fell in love.

    From the moment you drive onto the property you are surrounded by natural beauty and an instant feeling of relaxation! Terri was amazing to work with and she really has thought of it all. She is prompt in her responses and so incredibly easy to work with. Her staff and trusted vendors are extremely professional - from the amazing dinner service to the top notch bar tenders, nothing about our experience was negative.

    We had an absolutely perfect wedding weekend and I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a relaxed, fun wedding. This venue offered us a beautiful outdoor ceremony spot (with a wood arbour and a stunning tree to tie the knot under), a spot to set up lawn games for our guests, so many amazing spots to take photos, a patio for all of our guests to enjoy each other's company and enjoy the beautiful surroundings, a tent for our reception and dance, and 2 beautiful cottages to enjoy over the weekend!

    We cant wait to go back and stay in one of the cottages for a few nights. There is something so peaceful about this place and it truly is something special!

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review!! We very much enjoyed hosting your wedding at the ranch. You, Alex, your family and friends were so easy to work with and we are thrilled that were able to make your wedding day a success! All the best in your married life!
  • Jade
    Jade C. Married on 18/08/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful views and venue

    It is a beautiful venue and property. Terri really takes care of you which takes away a lot of stress that comes with planning. She is very professional and organized. The food was amazing and all of our guests enjoyed the selection from the appies to dinner. The only down sides are having to have the music off and guests gone by 1230 but that was made very clear to us prior to booking. As well as part of the package is having access to the beautiful cabins on the property but they are pricey and you do have to pay for them regardless if you are using both or not for the weekend. There are lots of beautiful areas around for taking wedding photos and everything went very smoothly.

    Rocking R Guest Ranch's reply:

    Hello Jade,

    Thank you for the kind review! Our bridal parties love being on-site from Friday to Sunday as everything they need is easily accessible. We very much enjoyed your wedding - you and your guests were wonderful!