Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Golden, British Columbia
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 16 reviews
View more information

16 reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 16

43 User photos

  • Robin
    Robin Married on 24/07/2021
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Dishonesty kept deposit

    They wouldn’t allow us to pick a new year when Covid shut it down. After much back and forth agreed to give back HALF our deposit if someone rebooked on our date. They couldn’t even honor that. Someone rebooked on our date- they posted it on their Instagram page and they still didn’t give back part of our deposit.

    Hillside Lodge and Chalets's reply:

    Hi Robin - I am sorry to read this kind of review from you.
    You agreed to a non-refundable retainer when you signed our agreement. We are not obligated to refund anything.
    Re-booking was not an option as COVID made everything uncertain. I am sorry you feel you needed to post this on the internet rather than speak to us directly. The booking we had for your date was last minute and at a significant discount.
    Please know a cancelled wedding is a HUGE financial loss for us. The retainer is not even 1/4 of the revenue we would make in a weekend.
    The thing with agreements is that when you sign them, you agree to the terms.
  • Kim
    Kim M. Married on 14/09/2019
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue

    Absolutely stunning venue! Had our wedding there in Sept 2019. Super friendly family! I recommend it, very beautiful!

    Hillside Lodge and Chalets's reply:

    Thank you for taking time to write a review - we greatly appreciate it.
    We would like to address the extra charges though as we are very surprised this was mentioned. No charges were applied for any of the additional items listed in the agreement. Everything we charge for is clearly outlined in our quote and agreement and we are truly sorry if there was a misunderstanding along the way about what we would be charging for. It is so important to us that everything is as transparent as possible and again, we apologize if you felt this wasn't the case - that is absolutely not our intention.
    Thanks for the recommendation.
    Sincerely,
    Stef & Mark
  • Shannon
    Shannon B. Married on 29/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Wedding Venue

    We cannot say enough amazing thing about things about our wedding at Hillside. Not only were we super happy, our guests can't stop talking about it! The cabins are cozy and more than 40 of our guests were able to stay on site. Mark and Stef were amazing hosts- it felt like we were celebrating our wedding with family- they truly welcomed us into their home with open arms. Every little question they attended to us and were always on site or a phone call away. Not to mention, what venue would take pictures of your day and then compile them into a photo book and send them to you?!? This is truly the best place, with the best people!

    Highly recommend booking your wedding here- you won't regret it!

    Hillside Lodge and Chalets's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words Shannon! You and Jack and your families and friends (and of course Butters!) were an absolute treat to have here! Thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. We think about you often!
  • Colleen
    Colleen Married on 15/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful All in One Mountain Wedding Venue

    Hillside Lodge and Chalet's is an incredible venue for a wedding. We had our wedding there on September 15, 2018, and every aspect was magical. The owners, Stefanie and Mark are incredibly kind, caring, and attentive. We were able to come for not 1, but 2 tours of the venue prior to the wedding. For the actual wedding, it truly is a one stop shop. We were able to have our rehearsal dinner there using the Campfire and BBQ's they had on site and we could set up the reception area the night before. They have multiple cozy cabins, a greenspace for tents and a few trailer areas along with a spectacular honeymoon cabin, so we were able to stay onsite, and our close friends/immediate family/wedding party could stay on site with us the entire weekend. Each cabin has a wood burning fireplace, and they have the cutest little furniture with heart accents cut into the chairs. They have a bridal suite onsite which you can use to get ready which was so handy. They have a stunning ceremony site which overlooks the magestic turquoise blue Blaeberry river, and has an impressive mountain in the distance. Pine trees surround you and their fresh scent sweetens the air of the entire area. Hillside has a path that leads down the river and includes multiple stunning areas for photographs, meaning you don't have to leave the site to obtain absolutely stunning pictures. The reception barn is a short walk up the road, so you can go straight from the ceremony to the reception barn. The barn is spacious and has beautiful touches such as chandelier lights, flush toilet bathrooms outside and a campfire pit right outside. Hillside also has multiple contacts within the wedding vendor community, and they all work so well together to create a seamlessly smooth wedding experience. Overall, the beauty of this venue, the attentiveness of the owners to detail and the ability to have everything at one location made this venue absolutely perfect for our wedding. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a stunning outdoor venue for their wedding.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer B. Married on 01/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream come true!

    Hillside Lodge & Chalets was the perfect wedding venue. Stef & Mark (the owners) are the sweetest, down to earth couple. They were extremely helpful with the whole planning process & very patient with all of our questions. It’s comforting getting married somewhere where you know the owners are passionate & love what they do.

    It was the most magical place to get married & we couldn’t have asked for a better wedding weekend. All of our guests could not stop talking about how beautiful it was (we even had one say they’d like to get married there too!). The ceremony site with the mountains & blaeberry river is an amazing backdrop, the field for cocktail hour & lawn games was a huge hit & the barn was an incredible spot for the reception.

    It was so nice having approx 30 of our guests stay on site with us in the cabins, it turned our wedding into a whole long weekend gathering.

    If I could do it all over again, I wouldn't do anything differently. If you are thinking of getting married at Hillside, do it!
  • N
    Nikola S. Married on 25/08/2018
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Wedding venue is breathtaking

    We hosted our wedding on August 25th, 2018 at Hillside Lodge and Chalets. We booked the venue just over a year before our wedding and the owners were quick to respond to all our emails and inquiries. The venue is simply breathtaking and such a great place to host a wedding. Everything on the property was within walking distance and there are plenty of cabins for guest accomadations. We had nothing but compliments on the venue from all our our guests. We can't wait to come back and rent a cabin during the winter months to experience the property again! Highly recommend this property to anyone interested in hosting a wedding in Golden.
  • A
    Amanda S. Married on 11/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So beautiful

    If you are looking for a rustic, forest feel this is the place. Stefanie and Mark are so easy to work with. It was stress free. The venue is big and lots of space. The cabins were wonderful and we enjoyed our stay there. The views and area surrounding are a dream. I highly recommend them for your wedding venue!
  • Jessica
    Jessica C. Married on 30/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Venue!!

    Stefanie & Mark were incredible! So accommodating. We had our wedding the Canada Day long weekend. The venue was everything we could have dreamed of. We rented the plank wood tables - best decision we made - it helped bring the vibe we were going for our reception. The cabins were so cozy and all of our guests still keep talking about the weekend. We loved spending time with family and Friends BBQ and by the fire pits the day after the wedding! We hope to rent out the cabins with family and friends in the future!!
  • Ashleen
    Ashleen C. Married on 23/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Mountain Wedding Venue

    We still can't believe such a perfect venue existed for our wedding. It is exactly what we would have dreamed up and was perfect for us as we love the mountains and the outdoors. The owners were super friendly, helpful and accommodating but also made us feel as though we had the place to ourselves and gave us lots of privacy. We loved having full access to the property for the weekend and the ability to bring in our own alcohol and vendors of our choice. The cabins were perfect for our guests and we loved having everyone right on site. Vendors in Golden are very familiar with Hillside and had no problem coming out for Hair and Makeup and there was plenty of space for everyone in the bridal suite. The setting was also perfect for photographs as everything from the Mountains, to the wildflowers and trees made it easy for our photographer. Would definitely recommend heading out to the meadow near the barn for sunset photos, one of the many helpful hints from the owners Stef and Mark who are a wealth of knowledge. We also loved that we could have a fire outside in the evenings (we lucked out with fire season) and made good use of the fire pits and the BBQ. The Barn itself was also perfect and didn't need a ton of decorating. It felt intimate and the space for the dance was perfect and it was well used by our crew! We also loved the entrance to the barn which had beautiful lights strung around the outside which made it a perfect spot for hanging out and mingling under the stars. I wish I could relive it again and again and couldnt have imagined a better venue. I would highly recommend Hillside for anyone who is adventurous, loves the mountains and the outdoors and is looking for something different and naturally breath taking. You can either dress it up or let its own rustic beauty shine, the best part is that it offers you the freedom to make it what you want! I still have friends and family say it was one of the most memorable weddings they've been to and I think the venue had a lot to do with it.

    Hillside Lodge and Chalets's reply:

    Ashleen - you are a gem!! We talk about you guys and your crew often! Many thanks for the kind words.
  • G
    Glynn M. Married on 16/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Their level of service proves their determination to help you have the perfect wedding day

    Stef and Mark were amazing to work with. From day one to wedding day, they were on our team and did a wonderful job liaising with all other vendors for our event. On top of their assistance with planning, it was great to have them there as a point of contact throughout the day. If matters went sideways, I knew they were in our corner. A fantastic level of service and professionalism. Good luck finding the same quality at a chain hotel.

    Hillside Lodge and Chalets's reply:

    Haha amazing Glynn! It's so nice to see you around town every so often - we still need to make good on that dinner date! :-)
    Thank you for the kind words - we truly appreciate it.