Studio Lumen
1835 20th Ave NW T2M1H4 Calgary (Alberta) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Studio Lumen

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

29

29 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Andrea Cyr · Married on 06/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Studio Lumen shot my wedding in Toronto just before relocating to Calgary.

    Gillian was an absolute gem to work with throughout the whole process. I actually knew her from working on a project together a few years prior, and when I got engaged she was the first thing I booked before even having a date or a venue set. We had originally talked about doing a 6 hour booking, but a couple weeks beforehand when I knew the day-of schedule a little better I decided I needed 8 hours in order to capture all the important things and she was totally fine with making the change.

    During the wedding, Gillian and her second photographer Jean-Marc blended in so seamlessly that there are photos that I don't even remember being taken. They were not intrusive at all during the ceremony, during speeches or at any point at all. After a bad experience with a different photographer at my sister's wedding a few years ago, my dad took it upon himself to be responsible for capturing every moment, and when even he came over to me at the reception and complimented Gillian and Jean-Marc I knew they were doing an amazing job.

    The finished photos are beautiful. She sent a preview set about a week after the wedding which I shared with our families and the wedding party, and everyone was blown away by how good they were (and they even brought every single one of them to tears again). Seriously, this girl shot HER OWN wedding a couple months ago and the photos are works of art (http://www.theweddingco.com/toronto-photographer-elopes/).

    I'm not the kind of person who relishes being the centre of attention and was somewhat nervous about being the focus of so many pictures, but Gillian made it very easy to relax and just be natural. She actually encouraged my husband and I to just talk to each other and let her and Jean-Mark worry about snapping photos at the right times.

    Sent on 14/11/2015
  • V

    V Floras · Married on 28/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was exceptional working with Gillian. In our initial meeting, we knew she was the right person for us because she has a calm presence, a keen eye for the small details, and could capture those unexpectedly beautiful moments throughout the day. Gillian was always up front and transparent about costs, and helped us discuss which packages would suit our needs best, without pressuring us to overspend beyond our means.
    The day of, Gillian was calm, attentive, sweet, and sincere. It was like having a member of the family photograph us. I highly recommend doing an engagement shoot so that you have the opportunity to become accustomed to having someone photograph you (and put you in the spotlight!).
    The photos we received from Gillian were a perfect representation of our day. She captured candid moments, small details, knew how to use light to create beautiful posed shots, and got numerous photos of our guests. She also made sure we got every desired photo on our "list" of images we wanted for the day of - a huge feat because it was a long list!

    Sent on 14/01/2016
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The moment Gillian came into my house I was instantly calmed down! The feeling she gives upon entering a room is so serene. Having casual conversations in between taking all of our wedding photos made us feel so comfortable resulting in getting the right shots so much easier.

    Gillian boosted our confidence with her positive comments after every shot and would immediately show us certain photos she loved straight from her camera screen.

    Gillian's creativity and direction with photos she took, her diligence to retake photos, the hilarity of faking certain getting-ready shots, taking the initiative to position certain items to capture them perfectly, her sense of timing and willingness to stay on schedule, and even printing out the photo list I sent her that she ungrudgingly referred to and followed ultimately helped to make this the happiest day of my life.

    We are grateful for her resourcefulness and effort into being completely familiar with locations whether or not she has previously photographed there. She is very creative in finding different photo spots that others can't see which make for very unique settings in otherwise common places.

    GiIlian makes a lot of sacrifices for the sake of her clients' comfort. My finger was bleeding and she offered her valuable lens cloth - you will not find another photographer who cares this much for you. Gillian even extended her patience in accommodating vendors and guests that wanted certain photos taken.

    Going over and beyond is an understatement for what Gillian can do for you, her quality of service, professionalism, and genuine personality are such a great combination for what could easily be a very stressful day.

    Sent on 15/01/2016
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To me, the most important aspect of our wedding planning was photography. We believed that prioritizing top quality photography would result in breathtakingly beautiful and emotional memories which we could share with friends and family, and reflect upon for the rest of our lives.

    (Spoiler Alert: We were right!!)

    We extensively researched photographers, viewing dozens and dozens of websites...when we found Gillian's, I stopped, exclaimed, 'She's the one!' and immediately booked an appointment. We then chose our wedding date based on her availability.

    From the moment we met, Gillian was a calming presence. Her professional yet accommodating demeanor put me at ease, and created a new level of excitement for our wedding. We trusted her implicitly, which made our wedding day relaxing and fun.

    Gillian was inconspicuous at our wedding, yet completely in control of a huge crowd. She captured all of the important elements of our day, without us having to pay attention to posing...we simply had fun, and ended up with unbelievable photos. When we first reviewed the pictures, we were surprised by many beautiful details and candid moments.

    Within days, she created for us an unreal slideshow, which has become legendary, shared with so many people. Everyone who sees it is blown away; we have heard, 'Those are the best wedding photos I've ever seen!' countless times.

    In fact, they are so beautiful that they were included in the WedLuxe blog!

    We are so thankful to have found Gillian, and so grateful to Gillian for making the fun and beauty of our wedding day last forever!!!!!!! We recommend her with complete confidence.

    Rachel (+Adrien)
    PS She first did an AMAZING and fun engagement shoot for us, and we used the photographs in a custom guestbook for the wedding!

    Sent on 17/01/2016
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have used Gillian for many events, our engagement shoot, wedding, baby shower and newborn pics. Her style is timeless and she always has a quick turnaround with pictures post shoot. Gillian has a great eye and does an amazing job at capturing the perfect moments. She is our go to photographer for all our events.

    Sent on 10/02/2016
  • M

    Monica Aggarwal · Married on 04/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gillian was the lead photographer for our engagement session and wedding. During this time, she proved to us how important it was for her to capture our vision as well as all the beautiful moments of our journey together. She is one of the most dedicated, hardworking, caring and responsive individual’s we have met in the wedding industry. She is highly experienced, patient, reliable, and detail-oriented and does not count every minute/dollar she spends with you. It is evident by her passion that the most important aspect of her work is ensuring that her clients are satisfied with their memories. Her work for us was delivered in a timely fashion and was a true masterpiece, as has been remarked by our family and friends.

    We highly recommend Gillian. If you can get her, you are lucky. There is no one else who will work as hard for you as Gillian will and obtain the results that she is able to achieve. She is now our photographer for life.

    Sent on 26/01/2016
  • N

    Natalie Dale · Married on 24/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Gillian Williamson, we had brought over from Canada to shoot our wedding in Italy. Our main reasons for choosing her was her artistic view and the way she shoots she captures the moments and the emotions of the day. She is very professional and makes clients feel at ease.

    I would highly recommend Gillian and would use her again in the future.

    Mrs Dale

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew Jean-Marc would be perfect for our day primarily because both my husband and I felt at ease around him. We already knew his work was great but what set him apart from other photographers was his genuine cheer and interest in us as people. Further to that, he took the time to view our location with us beforehand to ensure everything would work out for our evening wedding in low lighting. We highly recommend Jean-Marc of Studio Lumen!

    Sent on 16/01/2016
  • K

    Krista Fogel-Smith · Married on 26/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great people, stellar service! When my husband and I were choosing a wedding photographer we not only wanted excellent photos but also people we really liked and felt comfortable with. Not only do these guys have the talent to catch all the quick moments in any kind of lighting and venue that you may have your wedding at, but they make you feel at ease and like they are a part of the family. Professional, organized, talented, and definitely a no-brainer to hiring them for your wedding.

    Sent on 03/02/2016
  • N

    Nathalie Amlani · Married on 22/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was in downtown Toronto and we wanted a photographer who would capture our day and would be able to get our big wedding party to do creative, fun, and magazine worthy poses. I do photography as a hobby so was very picky on who we choose and through our research we interviewed many photographers and also asked around for referrals. Gillian was referred to me by 2 wedding couples who attested that she was wonderful to work with, their wedding party loved her, and the moments captured were exactly what they wanted because she listened to their visions and ideas and made it happen. After meeting Gillian, we happily signed her up as our wedding photographer. I appreciated that she was open-minded to my ideas and thoughts on the various poses and shoot locations I had in mind while also making suggestions which really contributed to the excitement of it all. Her warm and bubbly personality was a big win on the wedding day to help make the day fun for both ourselves and the wedding party. Many of our wedding photos were published in blogs by our vendors as well as through Gillian's connections with various magazines. The photos were crisp, sharp, had a variety of poses and perspectives, and really illustrated the beauty of the day. We also got shots of every single one of our guests having fun at our wedding in which we printed and inserted in our wedding thank you cards which guests absolutely loved and raved about. I also love that we snuck outside in the evening for some outdoor night shoots as the ambient light produced some of our favourite shots in which we also looked more relaxed because all the hard part (our speech, walking down the aisle) was done! We have since adopted Gillian as our family photographer to capture our maternity and newborn baby shots and special occasions. It is hard to find a photographer who you can trust to bring out the best in you, I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 15/01/2016
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.