Focus Production
3640 mcnicoll avenue M1X 1G5 Markham (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Focus Production

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

262

7 User photos

Focus Production 1
Focus Production 2
Focus Production 3
Focus Production 4
Focus Production 5
+ 3
Order by:
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth Liu · Married on 01 of September of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Day With Focus

    We signed with focus after consulting few companies around. They seemed to have the best price for the value of service.

    Same day edit was great and a crowd pleaser. We got their photo booth services too. Our team was Tyler and Eway.

    Lee was the manager who was in charge of our file, he made everything easy to deal with. We are currently designing our albums with Amy. Just happy to drop a review as they really do deserve it.

    Sent on 01/06/2019
  • Arma

    Arma Mohsin · Married on 21 of July of 2018

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The worst vendor experience

    Focus has been a nightmare to deal with since my wedding in July 2018. I have been sending emails and phone calls without a clear sufficient answer. All we received after paying several thousands of dollars is a Dropbox link with uncut and unedited videos for a three day event they only somewhat organized one event coverage. My husband and I personally sat down with their rep and spent hours explaining exactly what the expectation was as we figured there may have been miscommunication but now 4 months later nothing has been done and no one has replied to our emails. We were also promised a glass top photo book which we haven’t even received a template for... it’s just ridiculous how difficult it is to get a response from them let alone the promised final product. I do not trust or recommend them at all.

    Sent on 12/03/2019

    Focus Production's reply:

    Hi Arma,

    first off let me apologize for the experience you received from focus, that is definitely not the experience that we want our clients to have.

    Let me start off addressing and clarifying few points.

    1. we were very fast in replying your inquiries even on the day of, when a change of time + location was mentioned 2 hours before the shoot, our team stayed over time on the day of the shoot due to a 2 hour delay too.

    2. You got your multi day videos within the timeframe of 12 to 20 weeks as per contract. We gave you a full feature + all the unedited raws + the short film. The only issue is the song choice, we did mention to you that you have to send us enough song choice, or else we will not be able to fill up more than 1 hour of footage with songs.

    3. We sent you the album template since the beginning of the initial consultation, and we mentioned multiple times, you only have to pick out 80 to 140 photos at this point. As any of our other clients can confirm, that is the standard process. The picking of the photos must be done from the client's end.

    4. Your re edit notes were given way past after the editing deadline as per contract. as mentioned
    in term 15.
    Client must inform Focus of these edit within 3 weeks of collecting the final product, if not an additional $200 editing fee will be collected. If no editing requirement is submitted within 3 weeks, it will be acknowledged that the Clients are satisfied with the product. Video editing guideline is included in a "welcome" pdf package. 10 complimentary edits notes are available for the modification process.

    we hope to hear from you soon regarding the album selection photos.

    thanks
    Lee
  • J

    Jordan Donovan · Married on 21 of July of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but praises

    My wife and I have our dream wedding perfectly preserved for the rest of time thanks to Lee and his team. Their professionalism in handling all aspects of the wedding is no joke and we highly recommend their services.

    We had a mixed cultural ceremony, the team was very attentive to details, and nothing was missed. We got our photos within 4 weeks!

    Communication leading up to the wedding was smooth and fast. All our inquiries were attended in a very fast manner. Take example, we sent an email at 2:30 AM, we would get an email reply at 2:35 AM.

    Very impressed with them. If you want a stress-free wedding vendor, we would recommend focus.

    Sent on 31/05/2019
  • Charlie

    Charlie YT · Married on 27 of May of 2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Mixed Experience

    I was a bride who worked with Focus for a wedding in August 2018.

    Quality of service
    Pros: The photographers and videographers were clearly skilled in capturing all the important details of your wedding day and more. They were very meticulous, not being afraid to direct you to ensure that the shots turn out beautifully. I also appreciated the editing and naturalistic colour grading work of the photos.
    Cons: Their ability to deliver a polished, final product for the videography was deterred by the disorganization and lack of communication within the Focus team. The people editing your videos are different from the videographers. This should not be a problem, but my instructions on how I wanted my video were not communicated to the rest of the team. For instance, they used the wrong song and ignored my request of excluding certain footage for the wedding video trailer. Moreover, I had notified them of an editing “mistake” (i.e. an abrupt split second clip inserted awkwardly, likely residual footage from editing) in the final wedding trailer in November 2018. They assured me that this would be fixed, but the final product I received in April 2019 still contained the mistake.

    Responsiveness
    Pros: None.
    Cons: Over 90% of my communication with Focus was initiated by myself. They were the only wedding vendor I had to chase after. I was the one who had to reach out to them to schedule the engagement shoot, to ensure attendance of their staff on my wedding day, and to follow up on deadlines. They are quite unresponsive by phone, but do better with email and texting. Even so, it can take them more than three business days to get back to you, especially if you have a complaint. It really did feel like they were avoiding me at several points.
    They were also extremely late with deadlines. To give you a sense, our wedding was in August 2018. We received all physical products (albums, photo prints, usb with files) in April 2019.

    Professionalism
    Pros: The staff were generally courteous and patient. The videographers and photographers made me feel very comfortable the day of my wedding and it felt like I was working with old friends. Interactions were always polite, no matter the mode of communication.
    Cons: Even though each individual was professional, the organization as a whole was so fragmented, resulting in an unprofessional presentation. There was no consistent person you could touch base with. Your communication with them depends on who is in the office that day. As such, I would find myself explaining my situation multiple times to different people.

    Value
    Pros: Overall, Focus offered great value packages. I would consider their price in the moderate range and they are very willing to negotiate with you to customize your package.
    Cons: None.

    Flexibility
    Pros: Focus is very flexible. They understand the changing nature of weddings and adapt well to any surprises on the day of the wedding. I was unhappy with a portion of my purchased package and they were willing to renegotiate my package. They do give off an earnest and genuine desire to do well by the client.
    Cons: Focus is known for a particular style of editing. I think they would do well with couples who want what they see on the Focus website. They have perfected the standard wedding formula. I would not, however, recommend Focus for couples who wish for some final product they do not see on the company website. For instance, for my “Love Story Video”, I wanted an editing style that was more akin to what you see in trendy Q&A youtube videos lately. I had provided them with examples and instructions on how I wanted the video to turn out. The staff I worked with on this project were enthusiastic and lovely. However, the video itself turned out to be subpar and really behind schedule. It was not something we felt comfortable showing our loved ones.

    Do I recommend?
    There were some really great things about working with Focus and some really terrible things as well. Given that wedding photography and videography companies are quite prolific in the GTA, I would recommend brides to go with another company because there are just so many other options out there.

    Sent on 13/05/2019
  • C

    Charmaine Gan · Married on 27 of May of 2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but praises

    Booked focus after our consultation. Lee was always attentive to our needs and questions, even going out of his way to make certain adjustments for us due to some scheduling conflict on our end. Team was professional throughout the whole wedding. We got Rocco and Vincent as our team. Got the photos and videos back fairly quickly, approximately 5 weeks. Beautiful, no complaints.

    Note to potential couples - this is the rare company that offers raw footages for free. Just thought we would add that note, we were very happy about that. Will recommend to others.

    Sent on 03/06/2019
  • V

    Vivian Alan · Married on 15 of November of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talented Team

    Team Focus Rocks! We hired Tyler for covering our event and he was  patient, attentive, calm, focused and exceptionally good-natured. Most importantly, he has the skill and gift of capturing precious moments amidst the chaos of the wedding. For the cinematographic highlights, Rao made sure everyone was in a relaxed mood and he lightened the mood by cracking jokes and playing fun, happy music. Just what we needed! Thank you so much team for your outstanding service.We only wish you and your company the best!

    Sent on 23/04/2018
  • H

    Harper Jayden · Married on 02 of November of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Photographers in Town

    If you are looking for a photographer to capture the true essence and feeling of your wedding day, then look no further. I can not rate focus photography any higher, they are extremely professional. Especially, Ted who has an amazing talent for capturing moments, exactly the way you would want them to be captured. What blew me even more were the cinematographic video of my wedding, that was so uniquely shot. Thank you team focus photography,  We are so glad we found you.

    Sent on 14/03/2018
  • F

    Finley Parker · Married on 20 of October of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional Work

    Tyler is professional, flexible and easy-going - important traits for a wedding day photographer! I barely noticed him snapping away during the dinner and was pleasantly surprised when I received the end product! Being slightly distracted and worried that night, it was great to be able to relive the moments through the shots and the video the team captured. I even enjoyed the "un-glam" shots of my numerous expressions. Thanks again.

    Sent on 23/04/2018
  • S

    Sahar S. · Married on 13 of October of 2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Worst Experience of my life! I regret hiring them!!!

    If I had a chance to go back in time and choose another vendor for my video and photo for my wedding I would do it. My wedding was on Oct 2017, it is now Feb 2019, and they still have not given me my wedding products as per contract, or promised even after several meetings! Lee is a deceitful person, as the owner, he will convince you letting you know okay he will get something done, but once he took all the money he stopped replying or picking up my phone call!
    He never responds to any communication, and I have tons of paper trail as a proof that he is still refusing to give my photos, and videos for my special night! Imagine you and your family have not viewed your wedding over a year and half now! I would strongly recommend to stay away from this company!
    It leaves me no choice but I have to report them to better business bureau so I can get what I paid for that too over a course of

    Sent on 12/02/2019

    Focus Production's reply:

    Hi, first off, your wedding was in October 2017, but payment was NEVER made UNTIL CLOSE TO THE END OF 2018.

    2. VIA CONTRACT, WE DO NOT DO ANY RE EDITS AFTER 3 WEEKS OF PRODUCT PICK UP. Your Re edit notes were not given to us, until after a significant amount of time after the deadline. We mentioned that we can't work on it during the 2018 wedding season, as it will be unfair to our 2018 paying clients. We mentioned that we will do it for you, without any additional charges, but you will have to be patient and wait will wedding season dies down.

    3. We MENTIONED that you have to upload the photos for the albums, you didn't. We uploaded the re edit videos to the into same link, which you didn't notice, because you didn't upload the photos into the link for the albums...

    We encourage all future clients to read over the contract. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
  • O

    Oscar Collin · Married on 07 of October of 2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible Work Done

    It was an honor to have Ted to be our photographer on our wedding day! Ted produced quality pictures and we truly enjoyed seeing each picture that he shot. Amazing decision to pick Focus Photography as our wedding photographer. Highly recommended!!!

    Sent on 23/04/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.