Rabbi Susan Shamash

19 reviews | Vancouver (British Columbia)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for Rabbi Susan Shamash

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

19

28 User photos

Order by:
  • Hailey

    Hailey F. · Married on 29/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    Rabbi Susan officiated our wedding. She was amazing and adapted her process to fit mine and my husbands busy schedule and specific needs. It was a great experience, I would highly recommend her

    Sent on 22/09/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you for your lovely review Hailey. You and David knew exactly what you wanted in your ceremony and were incredibly focused and efficient. It was a privilege, an honour and a privilege to co-create your wedding ceremony with the two of you and to be your officiant.
  • P

    Paul S. · Married on 17/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pete and Ofir's garden wedding

    Susan collaborated with Andrew Twiddy, rector of St Anne’s and St. Edmund’s in Parksville, to develop an ecumenical service that spanned two religions and which appealed strongly to the mainly non-religious guests. The service showcased the love that the two grooms shared and reflected their respective values and traditions. We were very pleased with Susan and Andrew’s efforts and felt that they had provided everything we could have wanted.

    Sent on 30/08/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Paul, as the father of one of the grooms, your opinion is very important to me. It was such a pleasure for me to work with and come to know Peter and Ofir and to collaborate with Pastor Andrew in a deep and authentic way. And also to meet your family and close friends. I felt truly blessed to enable the wedding of such a remarkable couple. Peter and Ofir will be forever in my heart.
  • A

    Anonymous · Married on 09/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thoughtful, insightful and open-minded

    We are an interfaith and interracial couple that were looking for a progressive rabbi who would officiate a secular but traditional Jewish wedding that also infused our mixed backgrounds (Jewish/Canadian and Korean/Northern Irish). We were recommended through word of mouth to Rabbi Susan. Even before our first meeting with Rabbi Susan, we had a good impression. She was very prompt in responding to our inquiry and showed tremendous enthusiasm. We had an instant connection with her during our first meeting together. Rabbi Susan took the time to learn about us in terms of our family backgrounds and traditions, our personalities and goals for the future. For us, it was very important that we had a relationship with our Rabbi before our wedding day. Over the course of a year, we met with Rabbi Susan multiple times to discuss different topics that allowed us to learn more about ourselves individually and together as a couple. In terms of the actual wedding day, Rabbi Susan made us feel very prepared for what to expect, and was flexible and creative in helping us to craft a meaningful ceremony that connected us with all our family and friends.

    10/10 would recommend!

    Sent on 09/12/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    What a joyful and deeply meaningful journey we had together! You are an inspiring couple, navigating very different cultural and religious heritages as well as extremely demanding emerging careers. I am in awe of the honesty and trust you bring your relationship. I felt blessed to get to know you over the past year and felt extremely honoured to co-create such a truly personal and representational ceremony and to stand under the huppah with you with authenticity and delight.
  • Carolina

    Carolina H. · Married on 21/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most amazing officiant

    Rabbi Susan was an absolute pleasure to work with. From the initial introductory meeting she made us feel welcome. We worked with her for over a year, even being invited over for dinners in which she introduced us to other couples like us (interfaith). The service itself was beautiful - very personalized to what we requested, and everyone had the best feedback to say about it. Overall, would highly recommend.

    Sent on 01/08/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Caro and George you are, in many ways, my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your wedding officiant and I look forward to being your rabbi for many years to come.
  • Naomi

    Naomi M. · Married on 22/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Authentic and amazing experience!

    Rabbi Susan was a pure delight to work with - if you call it "work" to join in creating the most meaningful personal ceremony we could imagine!!! From the outset, she set such a helpful structure to get to know us- we met several times and had introspective conversations + exercises about what makes us "us." It not only felt therapeutic but was helpful fodder for creating out vows and intention at the ceremony! She opened up about her passion about interfaith connection, and we felt that she really "got us."

    On the day, she was enthusiastic to partake, and brought authentic, grounded, playful, joyous energy. Thats a tough balance to strike and she hit it marvellously. She added so much to our ceremony and we highly recommend going with Rabbi Susan for your Jewish or interfaith wedding ceremony!!!

    Sent on 02/07/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Naomi for such a wonderful "review". It was a joy and a privilege to meet and "work" with you and Kristoff and to co-create such a beautiful and meaningful wedding ceremony. You are an amazing couple, so much in love. The personal words of intention and commitment you spoke to each other brought tears to my eyes. I am deeply appreciative of the opportunity it/you gave me.
  • J

    Jack H. · Married on 01/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!!!

    From the moment we first met Rabbi Susan, we both felt very comfortable with her and that continued through to the very end of the wedding ceremony. She was helpful, friendly, accommodating and a joy to work with throughout the entire process. She helped us bring together the best of both of our traditions given that we weren’t of the same faith. She helped us create a very meaningful ceremony that worked for both of us. She was both traditional in orientation yet open to all kinds of new, creative and modern ideas for our ceremony.

    One of our friends wrote to us after the wedding saying that it was the most magical that they had ever attended. Much of the credit for the beauty of the ceremony goes to Rabbi Susan and we will be eternally grateful to her for making it that way.

    Sent on 22/06/2019

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Jack and Gord, thank you for this beautiful and heartfelt review. It was an honour and a privilege, not to mention a lot of fun, to co-create and officiate at your deep, unique and magical wedding ceremony You are a very special couple!
  • A

    Anonymous U. · Married on 15/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend! Rabbi Susan was a key component in making our wedding a joyful start to our married lives together. She was invaluable in the planning - she gave me a solid footing in Jewish traditions and went on to officiate with grace and elegance. She was a good listener and adapted throughout the planning process. During the ceremony she provided explanations that made everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Rabbi Susan is open-minded, flexible and collaborative. She was proactive in the creation of our interfaith (Jewish Buddhist) ceremony and remained on top of things throughout. Her dedication to making our wedding a personalized, meaningful and unforgettable experience was outstanding. Our relationship with her has deepened and it is clear that she has a vested interest beyond the wedding. Rabbi Susan cares a lot.

    Sent on 18/11/2018
  • A

    Anonymous U. · Married on 15/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Susan Shamash married my Jewish partner and I in August of 2018 in an interfaith ceremony held in Vancouver, BC. Rabbi Susan spent a number of sessions prior to the big day getting to know us, and educating us on Jewish wedding traditions, which allowed us to create a ceremony which perfectly represented the two of us. The ceremony was so wonderful, in fact, that guests of both families continue to compliment us for it months later, if only we could take the credit!

    Rabbi Susan was also instrumental in helping us find and create our Ketubah (pointing our Hebrew translation errors along the way I might add) even down to recommending websites where we could review our options.

    Overall, to say that we are grateful to have had Rabbi Susan plan our wedding ceremony would be an understatement.

    Sent on 14/11/2018
  • D

    David B. · Married on 19/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Susan Shamash designed and co led our Jewish Buddhist wedding. It was inspiring, delightful and meaningful for both of us, our families and our communities. Rabbi Susan was a pleasure to work with - well organized, creative and knowledgeable. She gave us relevant background materials to review and prepared us for our special day. We would highly recommend her services.

    Sent on 18/11/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.