Weddings

Reviews for Rabbi Susan Shamash

Rabbi Susan Shamash

Rabbi Susan Shamash

Vancouver, British Columbia
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 27 reviews
View more information

27 reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 27

44 User photos

Order by:
  • Daniel
    Daniel R. Married on 20/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely wonderful experience!

    We got to know Rabbi Susan well, not just over one year but two, as our wedding was postponed due to Covid. She worked with us collaboratively to craft a beautiful ceremony which we ended up having with only family present. Beyond the ceremony itself, we can't stress enough how valuable her one-on-one sessions were leading up to the wedding. We suspect a lot of couples get married without deliberating on the fundamental values that sustain a marriage - through our sessions she helped us articulate these values which was reflected in our ketubah and ceremony. We are so grateful to have had Rabbi Susan to lead us through this transformative time in our lives. As she says, we will always have her as our Rabbi, which means the world to us.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Dan and Jess, you are, in many ways, my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your wedding officiant and I look forward to being your rabbi for many years to come.
  • Meaghan
    Meaghan Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An incredible experience!

    Rabbi Susan was so incredible to work with. She listened to everything we wanted and designed the ceremony of our dreams that was very meaningful to both of our families. She was so flexible and helped us work around Covid-19 so we could still celebrate our special day. I cannot recommend her enough.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Meaghan for this warm and heartfelt review. You and Brandon are an awesome couple. You navigated the shoals and disappointments of Covid-19 with grace, humour and love. I felt privileged to celebrate your big day with ceremony that was entirely unique to you and your circumstances. I look forward to Part 2!!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 09/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Interfaith ceremony of our dreams

    Rabbi Susan does not just "show up." She worked with meticulous care and attention to the complex details of our relationship and how we envisioned them being expressed in our interfaith ceremony. We were challenged to find a rabbi who would officiate the ecumenical ceremony we desired uniting our Jewish and Catholic traditions, and Rabbi Susan was the only person we could seem to find in Canada who would help us fulfill this in the way we needed. She has a deeply informed spiritual practice, sage wisdom, a strong outlook on life, an impeccable sense of organization, and most of all, an open mind and heart. In our three sessions together, we experienced a perfect balance growing between 1) knowing we were in the hands of a seasoned "professional", and 2) building trust and guidance in a new "friend". We have been re-watching our ceremony video, and every time we do, it further drives home what a wonderful role she has played in our marriage.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Kristin and Justin, Thank you so very much for this very meaningful review. I appreciate it very much. It was such a joyful and deeply meaningful journey ... Spending the past few months getting to know the interior beauty of your relationship and of the two of you allowed me the blessing of standing under the chuppah with you with authenticity and great delight at the confluence of some of the most intimate expressions of Jewish tradition and the gorgeous inclusivity of a big tent Judaism that celebrates our Jewish-adjacent partners. As I watched your ceremony video and saw the expressions on your faces, I understood again how important my "work" is in the world. That is my Torah!
  • J
    Jess D. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful, meaningful experience!

    We hoped to work with Rabbi Susan after attending our friend's wedding that she officiated. What we couldn't have anticipated was how meaningful and enjoyable our one-on-one sessions with her were over the months leading up to the wedding. We had a very small, family-only COVID ceremony and it meant so much that it felt like Rabbi Susan knew us personally, had the chance to meet our families, and made a truly personal and unique ceremony reflective of us and our values. It was a pleasure to work with her and a great experience!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Jess and Dan, In many ways you are my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you and your immediate family). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your wedding officiant at your unique, and magical, not to mention adventurous, wedding ceremony. And I look forward to being your rabbi for many years to come.
  • Natalie
    Natalie T. Married on 01/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Rabbi Susan

    Coming from a mixed faith background, I knew that I wanted a Jewish wedding but that the Rabbi from my synagogue would not agree to marry us. I found Rabbi Susan through WeddingWire and she had great reviews so I reached out to her. The reviews were spot on...from our first email interactions to our lessons with her and then all the way through the ceremony, Rabbi Susan was so great to work with. She took the time to get to know us in the months leading up to the wedding and introduced/explained the significance of the various aspects of the Jewish ceremony. She also gave us an opportunity to reflect on what brought us together and gave us space to envision our future together. When it came time for the ceremony, we felt completely comfortable having her marry us because it felt like she knew just how to make the ceremony about us. I would highly recommend hiring Rabbi Susan if you want to have a meaningful Jewish wedding ceremony full of simcha!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Natalie and Justin. Thank you for this heartfelt "review"! In many ways your my ideal couple. Natalie, your connection to Judaism, and Justin, your enthusiasm for supporting that. It was such a joy and an honour, not to mention a lot of fun, for me to enable your Jewishish wedding ceremony: the meaningful inclusivity of big tent Judaism. You navigated the sometimes turbulent waters of Covid19 with humour, grace and love. You are a very special couple!
  • C
    Cara K. Married on 25/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Officiant!

    Working with Rabbi Susan was an incredible experience - she was genuinely interested in my partner and myself, was so responsive, understanding, supportive and was 100% focused on creating a ceremony that would be meaningful for us. She was willing to do the ceremony irrespective of whether my partners' conversion would be completed in time, and was flexible / adaptable with all the uncertainty that COVID brought. All our guests commented on what a meaningful ceremony Rabbi Susan conducted, and that she explained the Jewish customs and traditions to everyone in a way that was easily understood and made our non-Jewish attendees feel welcome and part of the ceremony. 100% would recommend Rabbi Susan to everyone - she is an incredible person and willing to go above and beyond to support the couples that work with her!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Cara for such a wonderful "review". It was a joy and a privilege, not to mention a lot of fun, to meet and "work" with you and Chris and to co-create such a beautiful and meaningful wedding ceremony. Standing under the Chuppah with you with such authenticity and delight before your loving family and friends revealed to me again the gorgeous inclusivity of big tent Judaism. You are an amazing couple, so much in love. I am deeply appreciative of the opportunity it/you gave me.
  • A
    Amin S. Married on 11/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just Wonderful!

    We feel so lucky to have found Rabbi Susan for our wedding. It was very important to us to find a good Rabbi who could officiate our Persian-Jewish wedding and with whom we could connect on a personal level. We are not religious and we were looking for someone who could honour meaningful Jewish spiritual traditions. Rabbi Susan was outstanding in creating a beautiful ceremony that balanced both Persian and Jewish customs. We picked her because she specializes in blending cultures seamlessly.

    We started looking for a Rabbi about a year before our wedding and before selecting any other vendors. We were actually a bit worried that maybe we might never find a good fit. However, from the day we met Rabbi Susan we knew she was the right person to officiate our wedding. We had the privilege of getting to know her over the months leading up to our wedding. She is one of the kindest, most empathetic, and genuine people we have ever met! She took extra care in making sure that our wedding was what we envisioned. She showed genuine interest in us as a couple, and we got a lot of compliments on our ceremony. Many people told us that it was the most beautiful ceremony they had ever seen. We couldn't be happier about choosing to work with Rabbi Susan!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Very few couples seek out their Rabbi before any other vendors. Your deep caring about ensuring that your wedding ceremony was exactly what you wanted and truly reflected both of your traditions was obvious from our first meeting. Accompanying you on this deeply meaningful journey was such a joy and an honour. Getting to know the interior beauty of your relationship and of you allowed me the blessing of standing under the chuppah with you with authenticity and great delight at the confluence of some of the most intimate expressions of Jewish and Persian traditions and the wonderful inclusivity of a big tent Judaism. Thank you for this incredible blessing!
  • Talia
    Talia T. Married on 09/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Experience!

    Rabbi Susan was great to work with! :) We come from two different backgrounds and wanted to have an “interfaith” Jewish wedding. We found Rabbi Susan on wedding wire and we really recommend having her as a Rabbi at your wedding! Rabbi Susan listened to everything we wanted and created the ceremony of our dreams!! Our family and friends loved the ceremony!! 10/10

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Talia and D.J., thank you for this heartfelt review. It was such an honour and a privilege, not to mention a lot of fun, to co-create and officiate at your delightful and meaningful wedding ceremony. I am most appreciative of the opportunity it/you gave me. You are a very special couple!
  • Marlee
    Marlee H. Married on 30/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Jewish Wedding We Dreamed Of :)

    From the moment we met Susan, we knew it was a match! As an interfaith couple we were worried about making sure that both of us and our families were comfortable with everything. Right away, Susan did everything to make both of us feel comfortable and to include elements that were meaningful to both of us, Jewish and personal. She is exceptionally knowledgeable in all aspects of the Jewish wedding ceremony and I learned so much about different components that I did not know before which we included in our own ceremony. She booked multiple sessions with us before our wedding to get to know us and we were able to do some personal work with one another that helped us to prepare our speeches to one another. Susan is very organized which made the process of putting together our ceremony quite easy. In addition, she is very kind, compassionate and wanted to make sure that we were happy and not stressed leading up to our day. This made everything so much easier for us. She is a wonderful person with a great heart who we really enjoyed working with.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Marlee and Dave for this beautiful "review". I felt truly blessed to enable the wedding of such a remarkable couple. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring, notwithstanding Covid19 limitations. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you). I look forward to being your personal rabbi for many years to come.
  • S
    Sebastian H. Married on 04/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you so much!

    Susan was so amazing. We feel we got so lucky in finding her, and helped make our day perfect. Very in tune with what we needed and so great to be around during our entire multi day celebration.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful comments Sebastian. The feeling is very mutual. It was (and continues to be) such an honour and joy for me to meet and "work" with you and Hillary and to co-create such a beautiful and meaningful wedding ceremony in the horsefield. You are an amazing couple, so much in love. And the life and dream you are realizing together is awe-inspiring. I look forward to Part 2 next year!