Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Rabbi Susan Shamash

Rabbi Susan Shamash

Rabbi Susan Shamash

Vancouver, British Columbia
5.0 out of 5 rating, 34 reviews
View more information

34 reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 34

55 User photos

  • N
    Nicholas P. Married on 31/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly personalized and meaningful ceremony

    Rabbi Susan was incredible. She took time to get to know and understand us as individuals and as a couple. She appreciated the unique concerns we had and why we wanted to create an individualized ceremony that was meaningful to us. She was able to help us honour individual Jewish roots while also holding space for progressive and non-Jewish elements that were important to us. We are so excited to have ventured down this path with Rabbi Susan.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Nick and Ariela, It was such a joyful and deeply meaningful journey. Spending the past year getting to know the interior beauty of your relationship and you two glorious individuals allowed me the blessing of standing with you for the Bedekken and Huppah ceremonies with authenticity and great delight at the confluence of some of the most intimate expressions of Jewish tradition and the gorgeous inclusivity of big tent Judaism. I am grateful for the honour you gave me.
  • Ariella
    Ariella Z. Married on 14/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wonderful Rabbi for our "Jewish-ish" wedding

    As a Jewish person marrying an other-than-Jewish partner, it was important to honour both of our families and backgrounds for a wedding with meaning and to set us up for a loving marriage to come. We had only heard good things about Rabbi Shamash and when we first met, she had as many questions for us as we did for her to ensure it was the right fit. The preparatory meetings were not simply to learn who stands where or who says what during the wedding, but to learn about us as a couple and what it means to be married. She was always responsive to our many questions in leading up to the ceremony and we had the opportunity to meet the other couples she had married.

    On the big day, Rabbi Shamash made every bit of the ceremony feel special for us, our families and our guests. It did not end there as in her words, she is our "Rabbi for life" and we look forward to continue learning from her and navigating our lives as a married couple. Thank you, Rabbi Shamash, for making this simcha so very special!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Ariella and Nam, thank you for this wonderful "review". You are, in many ways, my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your Rabbinic Officiant and I look forward to being your Rabbi for many years to come.
  • W
    Wendy S. Married on 18/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very professional and engaging

    As someone with a strong background in Judaism, I was very impressed with Susan's depth of knowledge, professionalism, and people skills. She did an absolutely amazing interfaith marriage for my daughter, which was deeply appreciated by all the Jews and non Jews who were there. Those with no religious background were especially appreciative of her explanations and sensitivity. Can't recommend her highly enough!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Wendy for this wonderful review. It was an honour and a privilege, not to mention a lot of fun, to co-create and officiate at Hillary and Sebastian's magical "Jewishish" wedding ceremony. They are a very special couple! And a tribute to you ...
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kerem T. Married on 07/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful ceremony!

    Rabbi Shamash prepared and officiated a beautiful ceremony that told our story and interwove our backgrounds.

    In the two years before the wedding (twice postponed because of COVID) Rabbi Shamash met with us in person and over zoom taking the time to get to know us, teach us about Jewish wedding tradition, and providing guidance on married life. These meetings were in themselves a nice part of our engagement and step toward our wedding.

    Can’t recommend highly enough!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Kerem and Robyn, thank you for this heartfelt review. It was an honour and a privilege, not to mention a lot of fun, to co-create and officiate at your magical wedding ceremony. You are a very special couple!
  • Astrid
    Astrid S. Married on 27/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Never in our wildest dreams did we think we could find someone like Rabbi Susan

    Wow. I can't even begin to describe how the decision to work with Rabbi Susan changed the trajectory of our special day for the better. Not only is the service she provides unique in the local area, and that alone is reason enough to work with her, but in marrying us and becoming our Rabbi, she has left a permanent, beautiful mark on the lives of me and my husband, and both our families.

    Her care and attention to detail is unparalleled, and I can't even begin to imagine the work she put in behind the scenes to create such a personalised, meaningful service which was tailored to our interfaith traditions, and values as a couple. It was perfectly-pitched, explaining any Jewish traditions, and translating all Hebrew elements in a way that was accessible yet unobtrusive.

    She truly went above and beyond, recommending us chuppah vendors and even tutorials on making our own when we couldn't find one available, and accompanying me to the mikvah - which was an incredibly meaningful experience.

    Having her at the helm of our wedding meant the day was more meaningful than any of us could have hoped for. We couldn't have imagined the day without her; she was integral part of our experience of getting married - from well-before the wedding itself, and I'm certain, ongoing into the future.

    Please do not hesitate to reach out to her - you will not be disappointed if you do.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Dear Astrid and Cameron,

    Thank you for this glorious review. "Working" with you, getting know you and the beautiful interior of your relationship was truly a pleasure and a privilege. I loved the venue that you chose and the beautiful and meaningful wedding ceremony we co-created was exactly perfect for you, for the time and the place.

    You are an amazing couple, so much in love and so very adventurous. You inspire me. The personal words of intention and commitment you spoke to each other brought tears to my eyes. I am deeply appreciative of the opportunity you gave me.
  • Daniel
    Daniel R. Married on 20/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely wonderful experience!

    We got to know Rabbi Susan well, not just over one year but two, as our wedding was postponed due to Covid. She worked with us collaboratively to craft a beautiful ceremony which we ended up having with only family present. Beyond the ceremony itself, we can't stress enough how valuable her one-on-one sessions were leading up to the wedding. We suspect a lot of couples get married without deliberating on the fundamental values that sustain a marriage - through our sessions she helped us articulate these values which was reflected in our ketubah and ceremony. We are so grateful to have had Rabbi Susan to lead us through this transformative time in our lives. As she says, we will always have her as our Rabbi, which means the world to us.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Dan and Jess, you are, in many ways, my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your wedding officiant and I look forward to being your rabbi for many years to come.
  • M
    Meaghan Married on 09/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An incredible experience!

    Rabbi Susan was so incredible to work with. She listened to everything we wanted and designed the ceremony of our dreams that was very meaningful to both of our families. She was so flexible and helped us work around Covid-19 so we could still celebrate our special day. I cannot recommend her enough.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Thank you Meaghan for this warm and heartfelt review. You and Brandon are an awesome couple. You navigated the shoals and disappointments of Covid-19 with grace, humour and love. I felt privileged to celebrate your big day with ceremony that was entirely unique to you and your circumstances. I look forward to Part 2!!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 09/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Interfaith ceremony of our dreams

    Rabbi Susan does not just "show up." She worked with meticulous care and attention to the complex details of our relationship and how we envisioned them being expressed in our interfaith ceremony. We were challenged to find a rabbi who would officiate the ecumenical ceremony we desired uniting our Jewish and Catholic traditions, and Rabbi Susan was the only person we could seem to find in Canada who would help us fulfill this in the way we needed. She has a deeply informed spiritual practice, sage wisdom, a strong outlook on life, an impeccable sense of organization, and most of all, an open mind and heart. In our three sessions together, we experienced a perfect balance growing between 1) knowing we were in the hands of a seasoned "professional", and 2) building trust and guidance in a new "friend". We have been re-watching our ceremony video, and every time we do, it further drives home what a wonderful role she has played in our marriage.

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Kristin and Justin, Thank you so very much for this very meaningful review. I appreciate it very much. It was such a joyful and deeply meaningful journey ... Spending the past few months getting to know the interior beauty of your relationship and of the two of you allowed me the blessing of standing under the chuppah with you with authenticity and great delight at the confluence of some of the most intimate expressions of Jewish tradition and the gorgeous inclusivity of a big tent Judaism that celebrates our Jewish-adjacent partners. As I watched your ceremony video and saw the expressions on your faces, I understood again how important my "work" is in the world. That is my Torah!
  • J
    Jess D. Married on 05/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful, meaningful experience!

    We hoped to work with Rabbi Susan after attending our friend's wedding that she officiated. What we couldn't have anticipated was how meaningful and enjoyable our one-on-one sessions with her were over the months leading up to the wedding. We had a very small, family-only COVID ceremony and it meant so much that it felt like Rabbi Susan knew us personally, had the chance to meet our families, and made a truly personal and unique ceremony reflective of us and our values. It was a pleasure to work with her and a great experience!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Jess and Dan, In many ways you are my “ideal couple”. Your love for and commitment to each other is awesome and your willingness to work deeply with me was inspiring. You knew exactly what you wanted and never for a moment forgot exactly who the ceremony was for (the two of you and your immediate family). It was a pleasure and a privilege to be your wedding officiant at your unique, and magical, not to mention adventurous, wedding ceremony. And I look forward to being your rabbi for many years to come.
  • Natalie
    Natalie T. Married on 01/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Rabbi Susan

    Coming from a mixed faith background, I knew that I wanted a Jewish wedding but that the Rabbi from my synagogue would not agree to marry us. I found Rabbi Susan through WeddingWire and she had great reviews so I reached out to her. The reviews were spot on...from our first email interactions to our lessons with her and then all the way through the ceremony, Rabbi Susan was so great to work with. She took the time to get to know us in the months leading up to the wedding and introduced/explained the significance of the various aspects of the Jewish ceremony. She also gave us an opportunity to reflect on what brought us together and gave us space to envision our future together. When it came time for the ceremony, we felt completely comfortable having her marry us because it felt like she knew just how to make the ceremony about us. I would highly recommend hiring Rabbi Susan if you want to have a meaningful Jewish wedding ceremony full of simcha!

    Rabbi Susan Shamash's reply:

    Natalie and Justin. Thank you for this heartfelt "review"! In many ways your my ideal couple. Natalie, your connection to Judaism, and Justin, your enthusiasm for supporting that. It was such a joy and an honour, not to mention a lot of fun, for me to enable your Jewishish wedding ceremony: the meaningful inclusivity of big tent Judaism. You navigated the sometimes turbulent waters of Covid19 with humour, grace and love. You are a very special couple!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message