Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner
Canmore T1W 1H4 Canmore (Alberta) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner

Recommended by 99% of couples · Write a review

30
5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0
Order by:
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Quarry Lake July Wedding

    Patrick Smiley made our wedding ceremony very special and I could not thank him enough! My husband and I got married in Canmore as a destination wedding (we are from New York). Patrick always had excellent communication and has a lovely script for the ceremony. He was extremely accommodating as it was supposed to rain during our ceremony and he didn't blink an eye about still having it outside (it didn't rain thankfully!). He also incorporated the unity ceremony we wanted and made everything so perfect - I could not have asked for more from an officiant!

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 1
    Sent on 14/07/2018

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Thank you for your review Kelly! I am happy that the weather turned out far better than the forecast had predicted. Your unique wine blending ceremony was wonderful way to celebrate your union. Best wishes to you and Darius!
  • Jodi

    Jodi Michaud · Married on 02/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!

    Patrick was great to work with! Very professional and easy going. We opted for a rehearsal the evening before- which was great. He was so organized and explained things very well. The whole wedding party commented on how helpful the found it. He was also very accommodating with having our dog a part of our ceremony which meant a lot to us. Highly recommend Patrick!

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 2
    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 3
    Sent on 05/07/2018

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Thank you for your review Jodi, it was a pleasure to be a part of your wedding day. The venue is as intimate and private as you can hope to find in Banff and worked perfectly for you. Are was very well behaved and I was happy to include him in the ceremony! Best wishes to both of you!
  • W

    Whitney Ogilvie · Married on 20/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and would Recommend

    Patrick was amazing to work with. He listened to what we wanted for our ceremony and made it happen. We wanted short and sweet. We got short and sweet.

    He sent us so many resources and useful tips on how to run our own rehearsal as well as tips on how to write our own vows.

    It was perfect. Highly recommend

    Sent on 31/05/2018

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Whitney and Tyler, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to be a part of your day! Every ceremony can be personalized to suit the Bride and Groom.
  • T

    Tracy Chin · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but smiles with Patrick Smiley

    Patrick Smiley was our marriage commissioner last year.

    My husband and I were both nervous for our wedding day. But Patrick just make sure we were comfortable. He made sure that all the details of our ceremony was taken care of prior to the big day. During the big day he made our guests laugh, cry, and most of all made us ( the bride and groom) feel comfortable in front of the ones we loved.

    Would recommend Patrick to anyone who needs a commissioner in the Canmore and surrounding area and looking for an easy going guy who makes everyone laugh.

    Sent on 23/12/2018

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Hi Tracy,
    Thank you for your review and congratulations on your first anniversary. It can be a bit nerve wracking to be standing in front of family and friends during such an intimate moment in your lives and I am happy that you felt comfortable and that your guests experienced a range of emotions during the ceremony. Best wishes for many more anniversaries and fond memories.
  • J

    Jan R · Married on 30/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding a commissioner for prime wedding season was daunting! Patrick was wonderful to work with: responding promptly to all e-mail questions, making time to FaceTime with us as we live out of town and doing a lot of prep work for a verbal 'run through' of the ceremony which took a lot of pressure off of the big day. As we did not have a rehearsal and therefore hadn't actually met Patrick in person before the wedding, we had our fingers crossed that everything would run smoothly - and it did! Patrick had put a lot of prep time to make sure we knew what would happen, he was there early to ensure the sound system worked well and he followed up with providing all the paperwork we needed to apply for our marriage certificate. Our wedding felt personalized and the feeling that Patrick had known us came through in his work and presentation. I would recommend him for a wedding in the Banff/Canmore area and if you live out of town, feel confident that he will deliver a beautiful ceremony on your day!

    Sent on 10/11/2017

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Congratulations to both of you once again and thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for the photos of the ceremony.

    As face to face meetings are not always possible, I am glad the FaceTime option worked for you to get to know each other a little bit before the ceremony.

    The wine box ceremony is a great way to take you back to your wedding day on your anniversary. Surrounded by great wineries, I have no doubt that each anniversary will be a fun opportunity to select the wine for the next year.

    Wishing you both all the best!

  • Zairra

    Zairra Gonzales · Married on 07/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yes!!! Patrick was easy going and understand what we both wanted out of a ceremony. We only had about 19 guest. I wanted it intimate. I was able to add on a few things and Patrick chose the words to present at the ceremony. I wouldn't have it any other way. It was a sweet and full of love. And Thank you so much for making our daughter be part of the wedding it was one of the highlight of our ceremony and the reason why we had the wedding. The cost was also acceptable. Thank you so much.

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 4
    Sent on 16/09/2017

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Hi Zairra,
    Thank you for your review!
    It was a very heartfelt ceremony with the meaningful customizations you chose to include. I feel blessed to have been part of it all and will remember it fondly.
    Patrick
  • K

    Kim · Married on 22/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Patrick Smiley was out ppt commissioner at Banff Tunnel meadow. Patrick took into account of Mike and my personalities and sense of adventure. He was professional, responsive yet fun. He helped us plan our ceremony from Chicago and it was perfect. We would recommend Patrick to anyone planning a wedding in the Alberta area

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 5
    Sent on 31/08/2017

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Hi Kim and Mike,
    It was so much fun watching your pre-wedding moon on Facebook and how much you are in the moment in everything you do with friends and family.
    I wish you both all the best in your adventure together as Husband and Wife!
  • J

    Jason Jung · Married on 17/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Patrick was very attentive and responsive with all of our questions, especially since we are from the States and unfamiliar with the local legal procedures. I will definitely recommend him to anyone that will be getting married in Alberta.

    Sent on 29/07/2017

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Hi Jason and Dona,
    Thank you for your review and for the photos you sent earlier! The smoke in the air from the local fires didn't seem to have an effect on the happiness of the day! Wishing you much joy and a wonderful life together!
    Patrick
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 17/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the start, Patrick Smiley was so helpful and great at communicating with us throughout our planning process. He had great suggestions for location ideas, and was very accommodating with having our dogs along with us.
    The ceremony he performed made us both so happy! It was short and sweet, but so beautifully written -- he even said a favourite quote of ours during our ceremony that we didn't even ask him to include! Patrick is very friendly, very professional, and awesome at what he does! We're so grateful he was apart of our wedding day.

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner 6
    Sent on 10/07/2017

    Patrick Smiley - Marriage Commissioner's reply:

    Lauren and Jeff, Thank you for choosing me to officiate your ceremony and for wonderful review!

    Your personal vows to each other were wonderful and ran from funny to serious to straight from the heart. I love being allowed to witness those moments.

    I wish you and Jeff much happiness together!
  • J

    Joanne Mckenzie · Married on 28/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Patrick was an excellent Dj who came highly recommended by the venue coordinator were I was getting married. Patrick played every song (not traditional wedding music) that I requested and I had a lot of people come up to me throughout the night saying how great the music was thanks to Patrick.
    Thank you again Patrick for lighting up our night and making it that much more special for us on our wedding day. I would recommend you to anyone who enjoys music as mush as we do.

    Sent on 16/12/2017

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.

Hired this vendor?