Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
Nanaimo V9R4X2 Nanaimo (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

5.0 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    5.0

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    5.0

    Reply

    5.0
  • Flexibility

    5.0
128 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner
Order by :
  • Jaylene MacIver , Married on 13/09/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Planning a wedding from afar can be really challenging and intimidating. After our first conversation with Barbara, we knew that she was a great fit and would have our best interests at heart with the planning and ceremony - the most important part! She was wonderful to work with and we're so happy that she was a part of our day.

    Sent on 01/10/2015
  • [Private User]

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Not only is Barbara a pleasure to work with, but the value she provides by way of her process is truly a gift. My fiancé and I were challenged to think deeper and wider about why we were having a ceremony, what we wanted and expected from our marriage and where we hoped to be at the end of it all. In the absence of what was once nearly mandatory pre-marital counselling, this was very helpful in adding to the foundation we are building for our lives together. Barbara helped us create a ceremony that made sense to us, told our story in a way we hadn't seen in weddings we've attended in the past. We started with a feeling that we wanted our ceremony to convey and invite and Barbara was critical in helping us create that - and executed it perfectly!

    Whether you're after something traditional, or something uniquely suited to you, we would recommend Barbara every time, for any celebration.

    Sent on 21/09/2015
  • [Private User]

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We chose Barbara to officiate our wedding and it was the best decision we could have made! Of course, having never been married before, we had no idea what to expect and how it would all unfold. Barbara had it all sorted out from beginning to end which made us feel very comfortable and we knew we could trust her. She had a variety of options for us to choose from to help make our ceremony unique and personal to us. During the ceremony we were both extremely comfortable and all of our nerves went away (it's true, it happens). We all had a lot of fun and a few good laughs! The feedback from our guests were nothing but positive and everyone absolutely loved our ceremony!! It was such a great feeling. Thank you B!

    Sent on 26/11/2015
  • Marilyn Strong , Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Our wedding was about the ceremony. Yes the food and venue had to be good but for us, we wanted an inclusive and interactive ceremony for our 35 guests. Our friends and family are important to us and we wanted to share with them during our ceremony why they were so important. Barbara helped us craft a ceremony that had people laughing and participating. It was perfect! Even better, no guest knew what was going to happen and the surprises kept coming!

    With our Scottish roots, Barbara knew just what to do to blend our mothers' heritages; the hand fasting ritual was a big deal and our guests loved it and it had a deep meaning for us. The whole ceremony had a LOT of moving parts yet Barbara kept everything together with her sense of humour and clear directions. Her delivery and her words had people sitting on the edge of their seat, totally absorbed in what was going on. No one realized an hour and 10 minutes had passed. And then it was over. We were married.

    I can't imagine any other celebrant who was willing to go the lengths we wanted, to make sure WE had the ceremony and the activities WE wanted; to make sure WE said what WE wanted to say. It was a flawless ceremony made perfect by Barbara's words, her delivery and herself!

    Thank you so much for a memorable ceremony for us and our guests. You are so special. We love you lots!

    Marilyn & Scott

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • Jenn & Paul Haggis , Married on 29/08/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had the wedding of the century, thanks to Barbara! She's calm, cool and a masterful storyteller with a compelling presence that makes everyone sit up and notice that this isn't going to be the usual blah-blah-blah kind of wedding.

    We knew we wanted a wedding ceremony that really meant something, and reflected us and our relationship - and Barbara really delivered that. Folks at the wedding thought that we had known Barbara all our life: that's the kind of intimacy and warmth she provides (along with a great sense of humour that reflected our own!) She was also able to guide us and frame the ceremony into exactly what we wanted (even though we weren't sure exactly what that was initially). Barbara was just amazing! There's absolutely no-one else we would want to marry us!

    Sent on 18/09/2015
  • Mel McNiece , Married on 28/08/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The whole experience of creating a ceremony with Barabara was wonderful. The preparation and work she puts into the ceremony is worth the money. We created something that was perfectly us. When it came to the wedding day, I knew we could trust that everything would be perfect on her end (and perfectly imperfect on ours). We've had so many people come up to us and tell us that they loved the ceremony and it was one of the best weddings they've ever been to. What else could we ask for?

    Sent on 19/09/2015
  • [Private User]

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had a wonderful experience with Barbara and ended up with a wedding that was exactly what we wanted- I was surprised over and over again at how customizable the ceremony can be when you work with her as an officiant.

    Perhaps the nicest thing about working with Barbara was that although she has a wealth of resources available for creating ceremonies, she used them not to fit us in to a box, but to help us identify and create something that exactly fit who we are and what we wanted to share with our guests. Just about all of our guests have reached out to us since the wedding to thank us for including them in something that felt meaningful, personal, and inclusive of those attending.

    A few other notables about our experience with Barbara:
    -she was available whenever we need her through the process (quick responses to emails!)
    -she was extremely flexible when we sent changes
    -she was patient with us! Two days before the wedding we finally locked ourselves in a meeting room at the library to finish our vows so we could send them to her (so.late.).
    - she is able to consult with trusted colleagues (with your permission) as required- this came up for us when we asked for some guidance with a sensitive and unique situation
    -she was unfailingly positive and encouraging

    Sent on 23/09/2015
  • Pete Poggione , Married on 11/08/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My fiancee and I decided very last minute to plan a wedding around a trip where all of our children would be present. With only 6 weeks to select a venue and plan a wedding ceremony for a couple that lived in different countries, we knew that we were going to need to someone with an extraordinary skill-set and talent.

    In a very serendipitous way Barbara came into our life and from our first conversation with her (via Skype), it became quite clear that we had found the right person! It's not easy to have a long distance relationship and planning a wedding from two different countries only compounds that fact. Barbara quickly jumped on board, always positive and always accentuating the positive, she embraced our need for guidance through the process of creating something magical. She succeeded on all counts. Thank you Barbara for helping to create a fairytale wedding for a fairytale romance.

    Sent on 15/09/2015
  • Cassandra Workman , Married on 25/07/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Probably the most anticipated part of our wedding. Everyone knew we were doing a custom ceremony personalized to us and they were dying to hear it. Barbara was a treat from start to finish. She made the whole process a lot less daunting and understood when life situations got in the way of things. To start we weren't sure how to go about getting the ceremony done. We knew we didn't want it over in a blink of an eye (like one wedding we had been to) and we didn't want it to be spotty and all over the place (like another wedding we went to), and I'm a particular to say the least. So when one of our other vendors recommended her (after we spent hours on the internet - we had a destination wedding) we had to have a look. She was a perfect fit. We wanted it to traditional but not to traditional, as neither of us are very traditional. We also wanted our ceremony to be as inclusive as possible so everyone wasn't just sitting there twiddling there thumbs for 35ish minutes. So she took all of our wishes, and made us a perfect ceremony the first draft! it was so hard to cut it down so it didn't run to long. One Skype meeting and a detailed questionnaire and she knew us perfectly.

    Barbara is bubbly yet professional, she is very calming yet she knows when things need to be done, and she had us and our loved ones laughing, crying, thinking and eye rolling.

    She also helps writes the most perfect vows if you need it. Which I did. I am also an over thinker. She listened to what you wanted and then provided examples of past couples vows that feel within the same sort of things you were thinking. and then you could email them back and forth with her till they were perfect. Then she prints them out all fancy for you so you can read them if needed during the ceremony! This lady is full service.

    Sent on 11/09/2015
  • Glenn Wainman , Married on 19/07/2015

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbra is like all my favorite teachers, she asks the best questions to help us co-create a ceremony that had and still has great meaning to us. Even though we supplied the bulk of the content, Barbara put it all together in a holistic (whole-istic) way for our family and friends. Our guests were made to be part of a celebration and even made the pronouncement of our Man and Wifness. If you are willing to do the work to create a meaningful heart and soul moving event, then Barbara is the person for you. I'm sure she can also create an outstanding event for those that just want the nice words made for them, but I think it would be just a little bit sad to let such an important day be spoken from outside your circle of love. If you let Barbara teach you to speak from your heart and soul, the words of love you have for each other, then your love story will be the most honored guest at your celebration.

    Sent on 20/07/2015

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Message your vendors through WeddingWire and you'll receive an entry for every meeting and hired vendor. See more details.