Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
Nanaimo V9R4X2 Nanaimo (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

5.0 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    5.0

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    5.0

    Reply

    5.0
  • Flexibility

    5.0
128 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner
Order by :
  • Malla

    Malla Birns , Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We highly recommend Barbara Densmore as your Wedding Officiant, she is simply the BEST! Our wedding ceremony was truly memorable, and so much better than what we initially envisioned. Meaningful, Unique, Heartfelt, Captivating and Inclusive are some of the words that come to mind when we reflect back on our wedding day. We connected with Barbara from day one and felt very confident she was the perfect choice for us. Barbara is smart, easy going, down to earth, and is a genuinely lovely person to work with. Early on Barbara gave us "homework", for us it was a bit of a cathartic soul- searching adventure. We really had to dig deep, take accountability, explore what marriage meant to us, our commitment to one another, our journey as a couple, our struggles, love and respect for each other, and the level of participation we wanted from our friends and family. Barbara listened to us and really understood what our vision was. Our wedding ceremony wasn't simple, it had quite a few customs and traditions that we wished to incorporate. After three Skype meetings later, and a handful of revisions, Barbara helped us create the most beautiful 45-minute ceremony that all our guests absolutely loved and embraced. Six weeks later people are still complimenting us, and commenting on how much they enjoyed our wedding ceremony. They also felt very blessed and honoured to be included. We couldn't be more thrilled with the outcome!

    Sent on 23/09/2016
  • Lisa Lui , Married on 06/08/2016

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara took the time to get to know us as a couple before we committed to anything and it was a great opportunity to see if we would work well together when building our special moment. We're both on the quieter side and not outgoing, so Barbara made us feel very comfortable when opening up to her. When building our ceremony, she offered lots of different options and advice and said there is no "right" way to develop the ceremony as long as it is what "we" wanted. And that is exactly what we got. We didn't want all of the attention on us, and built in the interaction of our friends and family. With Barbara's help, she made the ceremony a lot less intimidating than we initially thought it would be!

    Sent on 29/09/2016
  • [Private User]

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara was fantastic! Very flexible and adapted to our needs and often had suggestions that would make our ideas even better. You have to do a bit of homework as she wanted to know quite a bit about us and she used that to tailor our ceremony specifically to us. SHe also knew the guests and made everyone feel welcome and included. I can't say enough about Barbara!

    Sent on 21/09/2016
  • Eric

    Eric Paul , Married on 30/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Working with Barbara was a dream! In the early stages of our dealings Barbara gather some personal information from both my wofe and I seperatetly and when we received the first draft of the ceremony we were so amazed at hiw well she knew us and truly got our vision for the ceremony. Her suggestions were on point and she even went as far as to bring in extra help for the ceremony at no extra cost which made things go perfectly! We would highly reccommend Barbara!

    Sent on 29/09/2016
  • Darshan Stevens , Married on 21/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara blew us away. We are wedding photographers ourselves so we had seen Barbara officiate at other weddings — we've photographed nearly 200 weddings and Barbara's ceremonies are absolutely the best.
    So we knew when we began planning our own wedding that we had to have her design our ceremony for us. She is totally together, she gets us and what we wanted, and she delivered a ceremony that is so perfectly us. I could not be more pleased.
    If you want your ceremony to be really special, unique, and tailored to fit the two of you as a couple, get Barbara.

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • Erin Poulson , Married on 16/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    From the first Skype call we had with Barbara, sitting in a hostel room in Ecuador we knew that we had found the perfect celebrant for us. Our ceremony was one that naturally evoked a lot of emotion. Many of our guests had only recently learned about the news of our relationship and engagement. In a way, our ceremony was our grand "coming out" to our friends and family. We wanted to tell our guests the story of us falling in love, in a way that kept them engaged and involved throughout the whole ceremony. Barbara knew just how to do this, crafting a one-of-a-kind ceremony that left our guests gushing that it was hands down the best wedding ceremony they have ever attended. Her gorgeous story telling left words like 'powerful' and 'moving' being used to describe the day. Even guests with seasoned poker faces were brought to tears by the words Barbara had crafted to perfection. She is a captivating speaker that really engages with your guests. She is funny and creative, nurturing the roughest of ideas into something beautiful.

    If you want a totally unique ceremony that leaves your guests amazed and enthralled then look no further. You've found the best in Barbara.

    Sent on 20/11/2016
  • Jan and Jean Paul Gentes , Married on 11/06/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara took our wedding ceremony to the next level and surpassed both ours and our guests expectations of what could be. Barbara understood our vision and with her talent crafted a wonderful interactive emotion filled experience for all. We continuously get reminded of how beautiful it was. Thank you Barbara

    Sent on 21/06/2016
  • [Private User]

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara was really great. We wanted something special for our ceremony that wasn't cookie cutter and would be personal and memorable, and Barbara delivered. She tailored the ceremony just to us and had great suggestions to add to further include our family and friends as active participants. She has really great ideas to help you write your own vows in a way that isn't overwhelming or overly cheesy. Many of our guests specifically told us how unique it was and how much they enjoyed the ceremony. My one disappointment is that she flubbed up my name (at least once, she referred to me by the wrong, albeit very similar, first name). This was a simple mistake but especially surprising and disappointing because one of the things that makes Barbara so great is how much interaction she has with her clients beforehand -- we skyped several times, and extensively emailed -- so it really caught me by surprise.

    Sent on 26/06/2016
  • Shalyn

    Shalyn Przada , Married on 28/05/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara is the THE best. From the first meeting we had to the actual ceremony, the process was amazingly smooth and easy. She received so much praise from our friends and family, our ceremony a hit! Barbara was extremely easy to communicate with and professional. We couldn't have imagined a better person to lead our ceremony. If you get the opportunity to use Barbara you will not be disappointed. Such a fantastic experience!

    Sent on 20/06/2016
  • Margaret

    Margaret , Married on 27/05/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We knew Barbara was the one! From the get-go, we could see her genuine passion for her work as a Celebrant- she loves people and really understands others- and brings a wealth of career experience. Barbara met with us in person to discuss our wishes for our ceremony (and perhaps most importantly, what we didn't want). Throughout the whole process, Barbara was always incredibly insightful, flexible, supportive, and fun. She gave is an extensive ceremony questionnaire to complete and used this to guide the development of the ceremony. Barbara wrote an incredibly personal ceremony that captured who we are, what we wanted to say, and how we wanted to say it. She was totally open to our feedback, changed what we wanted, and offered excellent suggestions when we felt stumped. Barbara wove a funny story about us into the ceremony and suggested that we incorporate a special toast at the end- it was a special surprise for our guests & brought much laughter! She always remained sensitive to those who would be in attendance and made sure our guests felt welcomed and included. Most importantly she helped us make our wedding ceremony meaningful to us, staying true to ourselves and our values, while marking a very important transition in our lives. We feel so fortunate that we found Barbara. It is an unforgettable day. We cannot recommend her enough! Book her already! :)

    Sent on 16/06/2016

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Message your vendors through WeddingWire and you'll receive an entry for every meeting and hired vendor. See more details.