Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
Nanaimo V9R4X2 Nanaimo (British Columbia) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

142

12 User photos

Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 1
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 2
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 3
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 4
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 5
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 6
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 7
+ 6
Order by:
  • Miranda

    Miranda Gagne · Married on 25/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wee Wedding Ceremony in Cathedral Grove

    We had to change our wedding plans and location last minute and we stumbled upon Barbara while researching ceremonies in Cathedral Grove. Her “Wee Wedding” ceremony was exactly what we had in our minds. The ceremony that she wrote for us with our words was very beautiful and included all of our guests in some way. We in no way wanted a cookie cutter ceremony and what Barbara put together was so unique. She will not disappoint.

    Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 8
    Sent on 27/12/2018
  • K

    Kaila Hawkes · Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing! We loved Barbara

    We LOVED working with Barbara and the ceremony she put together for us. She went far beyond our expectations in capturing our love story and showcasing it throughout the ceremony. Despite us planning our wedding from across the country and relying heavily on skype and email, she perfectly understood what we needed to make the ceremony 'ours'. She had so many creative ideas and options for us to consider, touches that we loved but may not have considered on our own. We loved it and we received so so many compliments about it from guests. We continue to read through the ceremony script and love it every single time. Barbara made the ceremony one of our most treasured memories of the day.

    Sent on 29/12/2018
  • J

    Julian Dorscht · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barbara is charming, charismatic, kind and warm - Ceremony was the highlight of our day!

    If the ceremony is one of the most important parts of your day, or you want to make it feel very special and personal to you- Barbara is absolutely the right choice. We felt SO taken care of, listened to, and just loved collaborating with Barbara to create this beautiful special ceremony. It was so personal, so "us", and all of our guests were raving to us about how it was the most beautiful ceremony they had ever been to, how special it was to be a part of the day, and how unique! It was absolutely the highlight of our day, and Barbara made sure we were in the moment during the ceremony - so we'll never forget the experience. Thank you, Barbara- for everything!

    Sent on 27/11/2018
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 09/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical, Memorable, Emotional & Personal Ceremony

    I thought it might be easiest to sum up Barbara's contribution to our wedding day with some direct quotes/ comments I received from friends and family after the ceremony - many of whom still had tears in their eyes or were still openly crying, in turn making me cry more. You get the picture - it was a mess, but a good one!

    - "That was absolutely, hands-down, THE most beautiful ceremony I have ever witnessed" (these words were said many times over by many different people)

    - "That was positively magical. The love and the emotion in the room were palpable."

    - "The ceremony was my favourite part of the wedding. The officiant's words, your words, the space - everything felt so heartfelt and magical."

    - "I never cry at weddings and I sobbed the whole time throughout your ceremony!"

    - "I can't believe how funny, emotional, personal, and how YOU that ceremony was!"

    - "WHO is that officiant woman?! She was amazing - like part comedian, part yoga instructor or spiritual guru or something!"

    Finding an officiant for the wedding was the thing I was dreading the most about planning our day. We aren't a religious couple, but I would say we're spiritual and I had no idea where to start finding someone who would represent us well. As soon as I read Barbara's website I felt like she was perfect. After our first skype date with her, we both KNEW she was perfect. She was wonderful and supportive through the whole process, despite our being nowhere near ideal clients. (I never thought I'd be this person but we handed everything in to her late - I'm so sorry!) We absolutely recommend Barbara to everyone. Is it a little more money than your run-of-the-mill officiant? Sure. Is it worth the money? Oh yes, and so much more. Thank you Barbara, you made our day so magical and memorable and special. I've never felt love and energy like I did during our ceremony. The air felt heavy and weighted with emotion and love. We believe you created and held the space for that. Thank you! xx

    Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 9
    Sent on 16/06/2018
  • A

    Amanda Young · Married on 06/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Most Magical Elopement

    From the time we first contacted Barbara, we knew that she was the one to help us make our Elopement dream come true! She worked with us to create a personalized ceremony that fulfilled our wishes, while creating a memorable, magical experience for us. She did all this through email and skype as we were traveling to Vancouver Island and had an idea of what we wanted but Barbara helped create that small idea into an amazing reality. She created a ceremony that brought in elements from our past, tying them into our present and future. She brought it all to reality, creating a ceremony that involved 4 different "stops", as we walked through the forest and ended up on a secluded beach! She was even able to include our daughter which made the day even more special!
    I would recommend Barbara to everyone I know (after we tell our families of course!) She went beyond our expectations and we couldn't have hoped for a better, more memorable, beautiful ceremony! Thank you Barbara!

    Sent on 25/06/2018
  • Vienna

    Vienna Krocker · Married on 16/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Open-minded support made our big day an absolute dream!

    Barbara supported us in creating the ceremony we weren't able to find anywhere else. We spent a couple of years looking for what we wanted until we found Barbara. Her amazing open-mindedness, acceptance, and support really helped us along this whole process of figuring out what we truly wanted for each other and those included. She never turned down our ideas and truly made us feel in tune with each other, our guests and our ceremony! She answered all the questions we had and went above and beyond in researching alternative ceremony styles. We wanted a very natural and down to earth ceremony and she definitely helped us achieve that. By the end of the day we were glowing and we truly loved every minute of it. She got our small group of people involved and made sure everyone felt important and that they weren't just watching our marriage happen, they were truly a part of it. Barbara is an absolutely lovely person and fantastic officiant and we would definitely recommend that anyone looking for a personalized ceremony goes to her. We are so glad she was a part of our day and we are forever grateful for everything that she did!

    Sent on 17/05/2019
  • M

    Milo Rp · Married on 29/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Day Ever

    Barbara was perfect. There aren't enough words in the world to say all the good things we have to say about her. She worked with us personally to make sure our day was exactly what we wanted. We had an unusual elopement with a few out of the box requests, and she was more than happy to accommodate everything we asked for. She had the best ideas and suggestions when we weren't sure what direction we wanted to go, and was more than happy to alter any ideas to fit our needs and desires. She was able to take a nebulous idea we had and craft it into an intensely personal and beautiful ceremony, and bring all of our dreams about the day to life. I would recommend her to anyone, from anywhere. Travel to see her. It's worth every second.

    Sent on 07/04/2018
  • Benjamin

    Benjamin Trepanier · Married on 02/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My partner and I are convinced, after our wedding in September 2017, that Barbara Densmore is the best wedding celebrant on the planet. This might sound like an exaggeration but we honestly could not have imagined more of a perfect ceremony on our big day. Within about 2 minutes of our initial skype meeting with Barbara, I was nudging my partner in the ribs to try to indicate that this was obviously the person we needed to go with and from that moment on it was an absolute privilege to get to work with Barbara. Every time we met with her she managed to tap into exactly what it was we were looking for with such ease. To complicate things, we were living on opposite sides of the country (I in Vancouver, and my partner in Toronto) in the lead up to our wedding. We were slow to return to emails, late on all of the suggested "due dates" for revisions on drafts of the ceremony, and all around did NOT make it easy for Barbara. She never missed a beat, and went far above and beyond what I would have expected from her based on what she charges for her services. She drafted up a ceremony that captured the essence of our relationship, and that managed to make everyone present like that were a part of the ceremony. By the end, it felt like pretty much everyone was crying and afterwards we received numerous comments that this was the best and most genuine wedding ceremony people had ever attended. Other compliments received from others about Barbara's style were the fact that she took her time and took pauses in the most appropriate places, that she moved around and didn't stand in the typical "ministerial" position, and that she managed the crowd beautifully in the time prior to the ceremony. In the few days before the wedding, Barbara voluntarily stepped into a coordinator role that we did not even expect her to take on, emailing both the photographer and the resort coordinator to make things happen. I don't know that I can put into words how fortunate we feel to have had Barbara officiate our ceremony, and I don't think we could provide a more enthusiastic recommendation of her services. I hope she never stops doing what she does.

    Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 10
    Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 11
    Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 12
    Sent on 07/10/2017
  • A

    Alisha Mody · Married on 28/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted our wedding ceremony to be special and personal but without any religious affiliation to guide us, didn't know where to begin. Barbara was the perfect solution. She crafted a unique, touching and memorable ceremony. She was lovely to work with and gave us all the time we needed, to craft our ceremony, feel comfortable with it and on our day itself. Many of our wedding guests commented on how wonderful our ceremony was. It set the tone for a perfect day. We would recommend Barbara without hesitation! She is GREAT.

    Sent on 29/09/2017
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 26/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we decided to get married we agreed we wanted a ceremony that people would remember. We’ve all been to wedding ceremonies that felt like a chore to get through in order to get to the party. At first we weren’t quite sure how to make that happen. We looked around a little for some celebrants with good reviews. We talked to some that performed as many as 5 ceremonies a day. Then we were referred by a friend to Barbara. We arranged our first meeting via Skype so Barbara could tell us what she did. Within 5 minutes we were sold.

    Barbara helped us create a ceremony that was so personal and so memorable. She spent hours getting to know who we are as individuals and as a couple in order to really understand our story, our lives and our wishes for one of the most important moments in our lives. We lost count of the people who came up to us at the reception and since our wedding to tell us it was the most unique and best ceremony they’d ever been to. From the way she provided material and a framework that gave us the space to really make it our own, to the way she made sure to involve our children and our families, it was so far beyond what we planned or could have expected.

    Barbara made our wedding come to life and made our ceremony the most memorable part of our special day. If you’re not interested in settling for a canned wedding ceremony that has been repeated a few hundred times, and you want something that is uniquely yours, Barbara will help you create that. She is truly one of a kind. We would recommend Barbara to anyone interested in creating their own one of a kind wedding.

    Sent on 15/10/2017
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.