Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant
Nanaimo V9R4X2 Nanaimo (British Columbia) View map

Reviews for Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

134 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2013 Winner

11 User photos

Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 1
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 2
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 3
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 4
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 5
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 6
Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 7
+5
Order by :
  • Nicole

    Nicole , Married on 09/06/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Magical, Memorable, Emotional & Personal Ceremony

    I thought it might be easiest to sum up Barbara's contribution to our wedding day with some direct quotes/ comments I received from friends and family after the ceremony - many of whom still had tears in their eyes or were still openly crying, in turn making me cry more. You get the picture - it was a mess, but a good one!

    - "That was absolutely, hands-down, THE most beautiful ceremony I have ever witnessed" (these words were said many times over by many different people)

    - "That was positively magical. The love and the emotion in the room were palpable."

    - "The ceremony was my favourite part of the wedding. The officiant's words, your words, the space - everything felt so heartfelt and magical."

    - "I never cry at weddings and I sobbed the whole time throughout your ceremony!"

    - "I can't believe how funny, emotional, personal, and how YOU that ceremony was!"

    - "WHO is that officiant woman?! She was amazing - like part comedian, part yoga instructor or spiritual guru or something!"

    Finding an officiant for the wedding was the thing I was dreading the most about planning our day. We aren't a religious couple, but I would say we're spiritual and I had no idea where to start finding someone who would represent us well. As soon as I read Barbara's website I felt like she was perfect. After our first skype date with her, we both KNEW she was perfect. She was wonderful and supportive through the whole process, despite our being nowhere near ideal clients. (I never thought I'd be this person but we handed everything in to her late - I'm so sorry!) We absolutely recommend Barbara to everyone. Is it a little more money than your run-of-the-mill officiant? Sure. Is it worth the money? Oh yes, and so much more. Thank you Barbara, you made our day so magical and memorable and special. I've never felt love and energy like I did during our ceremony. The air felt heavy and weighted with emotion and love. We believe you created and held the space for that. Thank you! xx

    The wedding of Nicole and Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 8
    Sent on 16/06/2018
  • Malla

    Malla Birns , Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We highly recommend Barbara Densmore as your Wedding Officiant, she is simply the BEST! Our wedding ceremony was truly memorable, and so much better than what we initially envisioned. Meaningful, Unique, Heartfelt, Captivating and Inclusive are some of the words that come to mind when we reflect back on our wedding day. We connected with Barbara from day one and felt very confident she was the perfect choice for us. Barbara is smart, easy going, down to earth, and is a genuinely lovely person to work with. Early on Barbara gave us "homework", for us it was a bit of a cathartic soul- searching adventure. We really had to dig deep, take accountability, explore what marriage meant to us, our commitment to one another, our journey as a couple, our struggles, love and respect for each other, and the level of participation we wanted from our friends and family. Barbara listened to us and really understood what our vision was. Our wedding ceremony wasn't simple, it had quite a few customs and traditions that we wished to incorporate. After three Skype meetings later, and a handful of revisions, Barbara helped us create the most beautiful 45-minute ceremony that all our guests absolutely loved and embraced. Six weeks later people are still complimenting us, and commenting on how much they enjoyed our wedding ceremony. They also felt very blessed and honoured to be included. We couldn't be more thrilled with the outcome!

    Sent on 23/09/2016
  • Eric

    Eric Paul , Married on 30/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Working with Barbara was a dream! In the early stages of our dealings Barbara gather some personal information from both my wofe and I seperatetly and when we received the first draft of the ceremony we were so amazed at hiw well she knew us and truly got our vision for the ceremony. Her suggestions were on point and she even went as far as to bring in extra help for the ceremony at no extra cost which made things go perfectly! We would highly reccommend Barbara!

    Sent on 29/09/2016
  • Shalyn

    Shalyn Przada , Married on 28/05/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara is the THE best. From the first meeting we had to the actual ceremony, the process was amazingly smooth and easy. She received so much praise from our friends and family, our ceremony a hit! Barbara was extremely easy to communicate with and professional. We couldn't have imagined a better person to lead our ceremony. If you get the opportunity to use Barbara you will not be disappointed. Such a fantastic experience!

    Sent on 20/06/2016
  • Margaret

    Margaret , Married on 27/05/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We knew Barbara was the one! From the get-go, we could see her genuine passion for her work as a Celebrant- she loves people and really understands others- and brings a wealth of career experience. Barbara met with us in person to discuss our wishes for our ceremony (and perhaps most importantly, what we didn't want). Throughout the whole process, Barbara was always incredibly insightful, flexible, supportive, and fun. She gave is an extensive ceremony questionnaire to complete and used this to guide the development of the ceremony. Barbara wrote an incredibly personal ceremony that captured who we are, what we wanted to say, and how we wanted to say it. She was totally open to our feedback, changed what we wanted, and offered excellent suggestions when we felt stumped. Barbara wove a funny story about us into the ceremony and suggested that we incorporate a special toast at the end- it was a special surprise for our guests & brought much laughter! She always remained sensitive to those who would be in attendance and made sure our guests felt welcomed and included. Most importantly she helped us make our wedding ceremony meaningful to us, staying true to ourselves and our values, while marking a very important transition in our lives. We feel so fortunate that we found Barbara. It is an unforgettable day. We cannot recommend her enough! Book her already! :)

    Sent on 16/06/2016
  • Krystal , Married on 17/12/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Heartfelt, Just for Us

    We were the best of friends for 3 years and have been together 21 years as a couple. We have raised a family together, faced family health issues, death of loved ones and pets, provided hospice for parents in our home, tackled the legal system of WorkSafe (and won) - we've been busy. We have talked about doing the deed many times over the years but for one reason or another, the timing wasn't right. In October, we talked again, chose a date and began planning our wee wedding (8 people)

    It felt right and we wanted to take time to celebrate and honour one another, our lives so far and our future. Barbara heard our desires as a mature couple, and crafted a beautiful ceremony that caught the essence of our experience, our deep love for one another and our excitement for our very long married life. Barbara wove quotes and spirituality to reflect who we are to one another and that even in your 60's, one can love, truly, madly and deeply and look forward to more life together. She was always available for consult and guidance. Barbara's thought provoking questionnaire began a two month process of happy tears, increased awareness and deepening appreciation for one another and set the stage and our hearts for our special day. We are most appreciative for Barbara's gentle heart and caring spirit and her talents and skills as our Celebrant.

    If you choose Barbara as your Officiant/Celebrant/Minister, know that you will be well cared for, that you will feel honoured and valued during the process and most especially at your ceremony.

    We wish you a joyous journey and many, many years of health, happiness and prosperity in your new lives together as Mr. & Mrs.

    The wedding of Krystal and Barbara Densmore, Certified Celebrant & Wedding Officiant 9
    Sent on 26/12/2018
  • Chris Mccullough , Married on 01/09/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    AMAZING! still get compliments about our wedding.

    I feel so bad this has taken so long to write!! sorry Barbara!
    We hired Barbara to be our officiant for our wedding in Tofino this past September and I am so grateful we did. I know we spend all this money on the venue, food, booze, flowers and all the typicals but everyone seems to cheap out on the officiant. Both me and my husband wanted our wedding to be something different. I lost my mother 11 years ago and incorporating her, and all the other 'moms' that helped raise me, into the ceremony was so important to me. The day was perfect and I do believe the ceremony set the tone for the mood for the rest of the celebrations. I highly recommend this woman if you want a wedding ceremony that your guests will talk about for months/years after. I already look to booking her again for our vow renewal in 10 years. Barb thank you!! your thank you card has not been forgotten haha...life just got hectic and we still need to send them out!

    xoxo Laura & Chris

    Sent on 20/12/2018
  • Kaila Hawkes , Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Amazing! We loved Barbara

    We LOVED working with Barbara and the ceremony she put together for us. She went far beyond our expectations in capturing our love story and showcasing it throughout the ceremony. Despite us planning our wedding from across the country and relying heavily on skype and email, she perfectly understood what we needed to make the ceremony 'ours'. She had so many creative ideas and options for us to consider, touches that we loved but may not have considered on our own. We loved it and we received so so many compliments about it from guests. We continue to read through the ceremony script and love it every single time. Barbara made the ceremony one of our most treasured memories of the day.

    Sent on 29/12/2018
  • Julian Dorscht , Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Barbara is charming, charismatic, kind and warm - Ceremony was the highlight of our day!

    If the ceremony is one of the most important parts of your day, or you want to make it feel very special and personal to you- Barbara is absolutely the right choice. We felt SO taken care of, listened to, and just loved collaborating with Barbara to create this beautiful special ceremony. It was so personal, so "us", and all of our guests were raving to us about how it was the most beautiful ceremony they had ever been to, how special it was to be a part of the day, and how unique! It was absolutely the highlight of our day, and Barbara made sure we were in the moment during the ceremony - so we'll never forget the experience. Thank you, Barbara- for everything!

    Sent on 27/11/2018
  • Amanda Young , Married on 06/06/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The Most Magical Elopement

    From the time we first contacted Barbara, we knew that she was the one to help us make our Elopement dream come true! She worked with us to create a personalized ceremony that fulfilled our wishes, while creating a memorable, magical experience for us. She did all this through email and skype as we were traveling to Vancouver Island and had an idea of what we wanted but Barbara helped create that small idea into an amazing reality. She created a ceremony that brought in elements from our past, tying them into our present and future. She brought it all to reality, creating a ceremony that involved 4 different "stops", as we walked through the forest and ended up on a secluded beach! She was even able to include our daughter which made the day even more special!
    I would recommend Barbara to everyone I know (after we tell our families of course!) She went beyond our expectations and we couldn't have hoped for a better, more memorable, beautiful ceremony! Thank you Barbara!

    Sent on 25/06/2018

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.