Taking August
286 Prospect Drive SW T3Z 3S5 Calgary (Alberta) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Taking August

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 4.7

Awards

22

3 User photos

Taking August 1
Taking August 2
Taking August 3
Order by:
  • Diane

    Diane Lacika · Married on 03/03/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing band!

    We knew we wanted a live band for our small wedding. We didn’t want a large band but something more intimate. Taking August was perfect! These two took over the room and had everyone either dancing or singing. Our wedding was intimate and casual and these two fit right in! So talented and very friendly and flexible. We HIGHLY recommend this amazing band!

    Sent on 20/11/2018
  • A

    Amie and Lee · Married on 30/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing sound and so friendly. Lots of back and forth from them to ensure we knew and they knew what we wanted. They also learned songs for us that sounded amazing.
    Wedding guests couldn't stop complimenting and talking about them.


    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • S

    Sarah O'doherty · Married on 07/10/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are awesome! I saw them at one of their shows in Cypress and I wasn't leaving until I asked if they'd do my wedding! Everyone loved them and was definitely the highlight of everyones night!

    Sent on 25/10/2017
  • K

    Kate P · Married on 30/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Taking August was the perfect fit for our wedding ceremony and reception. From the early planning stages to the big day, they were very helpful, easy to communicate with and answered all of my questions. In addition to providing beautiful ambience to for our guests at the ceremony they offered to learn a song of our choice for me to walk down the aisle to and one for our first dance. This special touch was so amazing and really added to the emotion of the day. During the cocktail hour and reception our guests loved the selection of live music and afterwards they took requests for DJing and we danced the night away! Kelsey and Daniel of Taking August really added so much to our wedding and I would highly recommend them for yours!

    Sent on 20/10/2017
  • Jamie

    Jamie Cowan · Married on 25/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Dan & Kelsey for our whole wedding in August 2017 and they were a big hit! We had wanted live entertainment for the wedding but as we only had 30 guests we didn't want a full 5 piece band. Taking August was the perfect fit but in all honesty they could no doubt entertain a much larger crowd.

    They were great at the ceremony and as my husband and I were not very organised we left it to them to choose most of the music and they did an exceptional job. They played for the drinks reception and although we didn't personally get to enjoy this, all guests gave raving reviews and said they loved the music selection performed and knew and could sing along to most songs and they were even up dancing.

    They played the fist half of the evening live and the second half they DJed as requested by us and kept the dance floor busy even with only 30 guests.

    The only thing I would do differently (which is of no fault of the band) is have them play more live music as we (the bride and groom) missed out on a large chunk of it due to wedding portraits. Maybe having live at the beginning of evening then some DJing for them to take a break and then maybe another session at the end would have been better or plan the day so that we could have heard some at the drinks reception. If I have any advice for those getting married it is to strongly consider this when planning what you want for entertainment.

    My only tip regarding correspondence is to use Facebook Messenger to correspond with them as they seem to check this more and are more responsive to any queries.

    They were fabulously talented and great value and would hire them again in a heartbeat. I 100% would refer them to anyone looking for some great live music entertainment and hope one day we get to hear them perform again!

    Thanks Kelsey and Dan!

    Jamie & Richard
    ELK VIEW LODGE

    Taking August 4
    Taking August 5
    Taking August 6
    Sent on 27/09/2017
  • N

    Nolan · Married on 16/02/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I were originally planning on just using the house DJ at our venue due to budget constraints, even though we always dreamed of having a live band of some sort. Not only did Taking August come in at a reasonable rate, but they blew any hopes and high expectations out of the water. They played before, during and after our ceremony and then performed for our reception well into the evening. Afterwards they even DJ'd for the rest of the night for us. Outside of the amazing amount of services they provided us, their music, talent and professionalism was all on point. Every person we interacted with during the reception had nothing but great things to say and were all thoroughly impressed with Taking August. We would have no hesitation in recommending them to absolutely anybody and will surely be attending some of their gigs in the future.

    Sent on 07/04/2017
  • [Anonymous] Married on 08/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Taking August as the entertainment for our marriage vow renewal ceremony for our 20th Anniversary. They came highly recommend by friends plus I had attended a wedding they played for this summer and loved their sound. Kelsey and Daniel are incredibly talented entertainers and their music was the highlight of our reception. Both are great vocalists plus they play several instruments making them sound like a full band. Their covers sound exactly like the original bands and I was impressed how they tailored their sets to the crowd - people were dancing til 2am! They even learned a song that had special meaning to us to play for our first dance.
    Highly recommend this professional, friendly and talented duo!

    Sent on 14/10/2016
  • [Anonymous] Married on 17/09/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and I hired Taking August to perform live music for the dance portion of our wedding a few weeks ago. This part of the evening was important to us so we didn't mind spending the money on a vendor. We weren't interested in hiring a DJ, we wanted our guests to enjoy live music and something different. When we emailed Taking August inquiring about their services they made the great suggestion of doing a combination of live music and DJ, which ended up working out awesome! Our guests loved listening to the covers Taking August did and once the DJ portion started they took song requests all night long. Considering what DJ's charge for their services, it was definitely affordable to pay a little extra and have Taking August do both! Daniel and Kelsey, thank you so much for having a part in making our wedding so memorable!

    Sent on 14/10/2016
  • [Anonymous] Married on 13/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Taking August play at my wedding in August, and they were by far the best part of my wedding! They did the ceremony, cocktail hour, and first hour of the dance! They learned our first dance song for us and we had tons of people commenting on the music all night. I am so happy I hired this group and will definitely be hiring them for live music in the future! I can't express how happy my wife and I are with their services. They are extremely talented and would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/12/2016
  • Colleen

    Colleen · Married on 12/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Taking August to play for a backyard wedding. What can we say - they were a huge hit. Many people complimented us on the band and everyone wanted them to play longer which they obliged. We found them to be professional and extremely talented. They played a great selection of music that they choose plus for the wedding itself they did a wonderful job on the songs the bride and groom picked. We felt that the cost was more than fair and their talent far exceeds their price. We still have people asking us how we found them. We would have absolutely no hesitation in hiring them again or recommending them to our friends and family to hire. Colleen & Ron. August 12, 2016

    Sent on 09/09/2016
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.