Mountain Beauties
1205 Bow Valley Trail T1W 1P5 Canmore (Alberta) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Mountain Beauties

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.3
  • Response time 4.4

Awards

27

4 User photos

Mountain Beauties 1
Mountain Beauties 2
Mountain Beauties 3
Mountain Beauties 4
Order by:
  • S

    Susan · Married on 16/02/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great Experience

    Flexible with adding and subtracting a few hairstyles at the last minute which was very much appreciated. Arrived on time and well prepared. Professional and efficient to get an entire bridal party ready. I was impressed with the quality of the hair and makeup and how attentive they were to each individual's style and requests. Especially impressed with how smoothly everything went given we did no trial before. A pleasure to have around on the morning of your wedding and would recommend them to anyone getting married in the Canadian Rockies!

    Sent on 27/02/2019

    Mountain Beauties's reply:

    Hi Susan,

    Thank you so much for sharing your special day, We were delighted to help you!

    Kind regards,
    Joanne & Andrea
  • J

    Jacquie Simpson · Married on 14/10/2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    hair & makeup

    the girls were 15 minutes late and were incredibly rude the entire time. my hair was good but not what i was looking for. my make up was terrible. i could have done a better job myself. i had no time to correct it. i had a nice tan but she made my face unnaturally white. i looked like a clown on my wedding day. would not recommend.

    Mountain Beauties 5
    Sent on 18/10/2018
  • Maggie

    Maggie Gleason · Married on 22/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nailed it!

    I had Sam for my hair stylist and Kayla for my makeup artist. My trial went well but there were a couple of things I expressed to them I wanted done differently the day of the wedding. On the wedding day, which started bright and early at 8am, they arrived promptly on time. I honestly was expecting them to be running late since it was such an early start and way out at Emerald Lake, but they proved me wrong! We got started right away, Sam absolutely killed it with my hair, making a few tweaks we hadn't tried at the trial. I wanted boho, and she killed it with all the pieces falling out like I wanted them too. For my makeup, I told Kayla it was too dark the day of the trial and wanted to be lighter on the eyes. She absolutely nailed it on the head. There was not one thing
    I would have changed about my makeup. Sam did hair for my mom, mother-in-law, sister, and sister-in-law. Wow, Sam made my sister's pixie cut look like Marilyn Monroe. She looked stunning. Everyone else's hair was stunning and fit their style perfectly. Kayla did makeup for my mom and sister and they both looked beautiful! Both my hair and makeup turned out better than I ever hoped, AND they both lasted all day! Through 5 hours of traveling around outdoors in light rain and heavy wind for photos. Then the ceremony and reception. My husband loved both as well and kept complimenting how beautiful my hair and makeup looked. Thank you Sam & Kayla!

    Sent on 27/09/2018
  • Sara

    Sara Nicole

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing stylists

    I decided to forego the trial for my hair and makeup. It was the best descion I made as the girls did a fabulous job of making me feel beautiful and done up, while natural at the same time! I couldn’t be more happy with the service I received.

    Sent on 13/08/2018
  • jbss

    Jina Shin · Married on 11/08/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Disappointing

    When I booked with Mountain Beauties and even when I had the trial, everything was wonderful. Trial went well and it was honestly hard to choose among the three options because they were all so great.

    However, when it came to the day of, it went a bit sour. Joanne and Nadine were right on time even though they were running back from another wedding they did in the morning. Nadine was lovely but Joanne did not even smile and definitely did not recognize me (which is fine, she sees many brides a year and Im not special, i get it). Then, she had the number of people wrong and was very annoyed when I told her that no, it is 7 people, not 6. She checked her records and saw that I was right. No apologies were given but I decided to let it go.

    I thought that was a bit odd because she was absolutely fantastic at the trial. Then when it came to do my hair, she didnt remember how she did my trial - I would have expected that they keep notes from trials but I had the photos so, we moved on.

    My only goal for the day was that it was an opportunity for my bridesmaids to also feel pretty and pampered, and I had absolutely no preference on how they did their hair. I told Joanne and team exactly that. But Joanne insisted that they all do an up do because my hair was half up half down. Some bridesmaids wanted to do down or half down, but after going back and forth a bit, they didnt want to cause a scene at my wedding so they just did what Joanne told them to do.

    I felt so bad for the bridesmaids but at that point, I had to deal with many other things that needed my attention so I chose to not fight it and let the bridesmaids work it out.

    Sure enough, one of the bridesmaids headshape doesnt work well with up dos, and she ended up looking like she had extremely flat hair stuck to her scalp. It was awful. I cant remember who from the team of stylists did her hair. And it definitely wasnt the fault of my bridesmaid - she listened to every instruction given by Mountain Beauties on how to prepare her hair.

    Not only that, Joanne was very demanding and rude to everyone, to a point that the photographer, my mom, my MIL, and all the bridesmaids felt uncomfortable and stopped having fun. I was very sad because Im the only daughter than my mom has and I felt like I didnt give her the great “getting ready with daughter for wedding” experience she deserved.

    In addition, Joanne also tried to tell us that we absolutely cannot use the steamer on my veil and to hang it in the shower with hot water. I am not sure why she felt she needed to control all the parts of the day. In the end, the hot steam shower did nothing and the bridesmaids quickly steamed using a steamer and everything was fixed in 5 minutes.

    I understand that Joanne and team were rushed and probably stressed from having started earlier in the day, but I felt that my bridesmaids and I got the short end of the deal because of Mountain beauties’ busy schedule.

    If you are having a winter wedding (i.e. slow season), I think they will do a wonderful job, but I dont recommend going with them especially as the second appointment of the day in the height of busy wedding season.

    Sent on 11/12/2018
  • T

    Tanya Cassar · Married on 28/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I felt like a princess!

    Joanne and Nadine did such an incredible job with our hair and makeup. There were six of us and we all looked amazing. I showed a picture of what I wanted my hair to look like and Joanne outdid herself. I had went for a trial with Nadine prior to my wedding and so she knew exactly what I wanted and I absolutely loved the way my makeup turned out. Both my hair and makeup stayed perfect all day! Thank you so much Mountain Beauties!

    Sent on 25/08/2018
  • Paige

    Paige Lancelot · Married on 19/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hair Review

    I loved Joanna and the team. Super knowledgeable and knew so much about weddings and gave amazing advice. Mine and 3 of my bridesmaids hair was perfect! I was impressed with both my trial and day of! Definitely recommend

    Sent on 19/06/2018
  • A

    Anastasia Sizykh · Married on 20/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great result that lasts!

    We had Kenna do my hair&makeup and my husband's hair. Kenna was at the venue on time and did a great job for both of us. the makeup looked very natural and lasted all day without any problems! She also did a terrific job with our hair. Very happy with Mountain beauties and would gladly recommend them to everyone!

    Sent on 01/05/2018
  • D

    Demara Benoit · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Mountain Beauties (Andrea and Staci) were so talented! The hair and makeup turned out beautiful. I provided an image of my hair idea and it was replicated beautifully. The hair and makeup services added up quickly but the results were worth it and they traveled to us at our hotel in Kananaskis.

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie Rafa · Married on 14/09/2017

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Where do I start. I suppose I will start with the good. Joanne is good at doing hair, and we tried three styles, which all looked nice. My curls turned out better on my wedding day as opposed to the trial.
    Now for the not so good.
    Ok, so starting with the trial, they were running behind schedule, so waited for a half hour. When it came time to pay, she entered the wrong amount, so we had to run payment through for the remainder. I didn't realize at the time, but she overcharged me $40. Fast forwarding to the wedding day, I kid you not, she completely forgot about me!!!!! She was supposed to show at 9am, so I phoned at 930, left a message on her answering machine, and she got back to me about 10 minutes later saying she slept in... if you could only imagine the stress this caused me on my wedding day, being so strapped for time as. She did come, but due to the time restriction we were on, I never had time to have the bridal photos done that I wanted in the condo with my mother, sister, and daughter, and that is irreparable. Those photos would have been priceless to me. Now I don't have them, and I am still so upset over this. My stress level was so incedibly high because of this, trying to get to the ceremony in time. It set the mood for the rest of the day. They phoned and left a message the next day saying they needed the remainder of payment for the wedding day, and I knew the amount they requested sounded off. So I phoned, talked to a girl, and she kept insisting that the amount was right and kept demanding I send the remainder she wanted. This still was not sitting with me proper, so I dug up the old receipts, did some basic accounting, and bam, this is where I found that I was right, they overcharged me $40 at the trial. I sent them a very detailed email with the accounting, and finally the girl admitted that she looked further into it and yes, they had overcharged me. This itself caused so much stress. Not to mention what a wast of time this was, due to how incredibly unprofessional these girls run their business. The professional way for them to respond after all the headaches they caused me would be to at the very least, waive the $50 that I owed, and give a proper meaningful apology, but no.. that would have been too sensible for these girls, as they are greedy, unprofessional, and rude. This was an absolute nightmare. I had read a couple other bad reviews on this place before booking, but though I would give them the benefit of the doubt, and oh my goodness, was I ever wrong to do so. I am still in disbelief at how awful the service was.

    Sent on 28/10/2017
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.