The Gown
17665 Leslie St #23 L3y3E3 Newmarket (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for The Gown

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

31

4 User photos

The Gown 1
The Gown 2
The Gown 3
The Gown 4
Order by:
  • H

    Heather Straw · Married on 11 of July of 2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When shopping for my wedding dress, I went to The Gown, and although I did not find the dress for me, I loved the service I received there. When I found "my dress", I asked if I could bring it to them for alterations and services, and they were so nice to let me! I had my dress altered by Tanis, who was amazing at what she does, and also made me a necklace and earrings to match my dress perfectly!

    Sent on 23/09/2015
  • [Anonymous] Married on 14/02/2015

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0


    I had the worst experience at The Gown - I don't know where to start. I purchased my wedding gown off the rack in October and on the same day also placed my Mom's dress order - she will be walking me down the isle on February 14, 2015. We found a beautiful dress for my mom and ordered it in a blush pink to match the colour theme of my wedding. My mom went for her alterations appointment yesterday, Sunday, January 25th and noticed immediately that her dress was purple and not the blush pink we had requested. GREAT! 21 days before my wedding and my mother has NO DRESS!The owner, Shannon, told my mom that she could buy one of the sample dresses at full cost if she could find something on the floor because they wouldn't have time to get the proper colour in. My mom agreed to purchase the sample dress of the dress she originally ordered (the sample was black) and asked for a discount as the dress was torn and needed to be repaired, has been tried on probably a hundred times and for the simple fact that The Gown ordered the wrong colour of her dress and she will not be able to walk me down the isle in the dress we both loved. Shannon was incredibly rude and told my mom that SHE would be losing money if she were to discount the sample dress for my mom (she should be losing money, her employee ordered the wrong dress - all my mom saw on the order form was "dusty rose", the store codes mean nothing to a customer and we trusted that the sales woman ordered what we asked for - my mom even tried on a different dress in the desired pink colour, the girl confirmed to us she had ordered that colour). I told my mom to get her full deposit back and leave immediately out of principle. The Gown ordered the wrong dress and then the owner proceeded to be rude to us for their mistake. Shannon's customer service is horrific. I did not enjoy any of my experiences at this store. Shannon is a miserable woman and I will never recommend her boutique to any one.

    Sent on 26/01/2015

    The Gown's reply:

    Ms. Ivory, I have read your review. Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Kate, I can see that you are upset, but I am surprised about the comments on my behaviour as you were not at the store with your mom and when she left, she did not appear upset. Your mom’s dress was ordered exactly as it was requested with the correct designer, style, size and colour. This information was all included on the contract that your mom signed when she ordered her dress. We would be happy to provide you with a copy of the contract. We are transparent about the names of our designers and we use colour names, not codes, which can be meaningless to clients reviewing their contracts. The contract says that the dress was to be ordered in Dusty Rose not Blush. As it was signed and paid for as such, it was ordered as such. When your mom was here to pick up her dress and upset about the colour, we tried to give her options, as you mentioned, to help her. One of our solutions was to sell her our sample. We do not usually sell our samples as they are kept in store to show to all our clients, however because your wedding is soon, we offered it to her as a favour. The dress is clean and in excellent repair except for one tack which our tailor could have fixed on the spot at no charge. Your mom demanded a discount for our sample dress because it is black, not in bad repair. I am sorry if she thought I was rude for not offering her a discount. The signed contract also says that all special orders are final. We do not issue refunds because our vendors do not accept returns on special orders. However, your mom demanded a refund and we were happy to do so as it has never been our intention to upset any of our clients. When your mom left with a refund for her special order dress, we thought she was satisfied. It was not our intention that any of these solutions be perceived as rude or miserable in any way. Shannon McColl, Owner, The Gown
  • J

    Jen and Mike Rockey/Feherty · Married on 11 of October of 2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Gown was fabulous! all the ladies especially Danielle were so helpful and helped make our day perfect! My dress was amazing and gorgeous.

    Sent on 05/11/2014

    The Gown's reply:

    Thanks for the review Jen! Congratulations once again!
  • E

    Erin Enns · Married on 06 of September of 2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great experience with the gown. They helped me find my perfect dress, within my budget and their alterations person was great as well. My dress ended up coming in within 3 months but the gown made the decision to send it back because it did not live up to their expectations, which was fine with me because version 2 arrived in time and looked great. Very nice Atmosphere and staff, I did not feel rushed at all and me and my bridesmaids got a nice private room to sit in.

    Sent on 20/09/2014
  • K

    Kristy Lusk · Married on 23 of August of 2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the most amazing bridal experience at The Gown. All of the ladies there are so amazing and I couldn't imagine buying my dream dress anywhere else!

    Sent on 19/12/2012
  • K

    Katie Kennedy · Married on 12 of April of 2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful establishment, great service and they had a great selection of gowns

    Sent on 27/06/2014
  • A

    Ashley Lougheed · Married on 16 of November of 2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how great this experience was for me. The ladies at the Gown are totally in it to find the best dress for you - even suggesting you try on dresses out of your normal comfort zone!! There was a dress I saw on the hanger that I was totally convinced would be "the one", until I tried on a dress I would not have normally picked out on their suggestion and I fell IN LOVE with it. I highly recommend them - this is not just a "job" for them - they truly enjoy helping you find your dream dress :)

    Sent on 03/02/2013
  • [Anonymous] Married on 19/10/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent customer service. They make you feel as if your the only bride who has every been in their shop, they are not tired of hearing the same old story and helping you find your perfect dress. You do not feel rushed and they make you feel so welcome and pay 100% attention to you and your wedding party.

    Sent on 11/12/2012
  • C

    Christina Barrager · Married on 12 of October of 2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a Plus Size Bride and was feeling incredibly anxious about what my dress shopping experience would be. The women at The Gown in Aurora are simply amazing. I found a gorgeous gown. I didn't settle. I didn't just have to buy the 'one that fit'. I had choices and options....I was able to try on the gowns before making my decisions. I was never made to feel like a second class citezen because of my size. I was made to feel like a beautiful bride who is going to look gorgeous on her wedding day! The Gown is the only, ONLY store in all of Canada that carries the Australian designer Roz LaKelin's Glamour Plus line of dresses. THE ONLY STORE IN CANADA!!! If you were to go to the U.S., you would only find this line of gowns in ONE STORE. This designer KNOWS a plus sized woman's body. These dresses are stunning and flattering. And these dresses can be tried on and purchased in Aurora at The Gown. I am so thrilled with my entire experience and it was what I was dreading the most. I worked mostly with Shannon who completely gave me her 100% attention. The boutique is small and intimate and beautiful. This is a wonderful place to go and find the most perfect dress, veil and jewellery ever, as well as bridesmaid dresses. Thank you so much to all of the amazing women at The Gown. Thanks to you, I have a stunning gown to wear on my big day!

    Sent on 12/01/2013
  • [Anonymous] Married on 13/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This boutique is a MUST visit! The Gown is the perfect store to find THE Gown. They have completely private appointments and cater to only you within your appointment. It is a small and cozy boutique style setup, but the selection is beautiful and the prices are not that of what you would typically see in such an elegant boutique style store like this. Their prices are fantastic! The service you will receive in this store stands so tall above any other local store, and the staff are very knowledgeable, friendly, and so welcoming. They have a small space, but they have everything from wedding gowns, bridesmaids, mother of the bride, to flower girls, accessories and shoes! You won't be let down, you have to check THE GOWN out, just like I did!

    Sent on 24/05/2013
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.