Skip to main content
Weddings

Reviews for Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services

Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services

Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services

Edmonton, Alberta
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 91 reviews
View more information

91 reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 91

41 User photos

  • M
    Mark T. Married on 11/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A great evening

    Curtis did an awesome job DJ'ing at our wedding reception this past weekend. Great job Curtis, and thank you Chris and Grindstone Productions!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hey Mark,

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback :) Curtis had a fantastic time working with you guys.

    All the best, and please keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard
  • Shakib
    Shakib R. Married on 04/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Night

    We absolutely recommend and were thrilled with the services we got from Grindstone Productions! Chris Z was amazing to work with for planning, accommodating our requests, letting us know what to expect the night of, and helping us sort out any last minute questions. Our DJ for the evening was Curtis and he was incredible! He was fantastic at taking requests, setting the mood, filling time when things were slow, and even providing updates on the hockey game for the sports fans in the crowd. Curtis is an amazing DJ as we are so lucky to have had him for our wedding and Chris is a great communicator and planner. We highly recommend them for your wedding!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi Shakib,

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm glad Curtis was a hit at your guys' wedding! He's one of the best wedding DJs in Edmonton and we're so thrilled to have him as a part of the team. He had a fantastic time working with you guys!

    All the best, and keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard
  • D
    David Married on 28/05/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    I saw Curtis' name in the reviews so I requested him. He did not disappoint. He played great music through dinner and had everyone up and dancing. We had the mobile photo booth as well and everyone loved it. We had a great experience.

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi David,

    Thanks for leaving us some feedback. Curtis continues to pop up frequently on our wedding DJ reviews, and I'm so happy to see yours added to that! We had a great time at your guys' wedding; it was a great day.

    Thanks, and keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard
  • C
    C. G. Married on 21/05/2022
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Owner does not value clients

    Owner of this company did not value his clients during CoVid nor at the event. Didn’t introduce himself the entire night. Promised a roaming service and only took 7 roaming photos, none to include the groom. Very dissatisfied. DJ was good except for the fact he didn’t play any of our must play songs or genres which I believe is also the owner’s responsibility to ensure. Owner was difficult to deal with and pushy.

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    I'm sorry that our services didn't meet your expectations. Having said that, I would like to address a few points here:

    I most certainly captured several pictures of the groom (see attached pictures). I can resend the download links if for some reason these pictures weren't included.

    It was a photo booth service that you hired us for; not event photography. As you saw, I was swamped with guests wanting pictures in the backdrop area all night long. I simply didn't have time to roam around that much. After speeches wrapped at 9:30PM (1.5 hours after the scheduled start time for the photo booth), I took 146 pictures over the 1.5 hours of remaining scheduled time plus the 30 minutes of overtime I provided to ensure that everybody who wanted pictures had an opportunity to get some before they left, and I provided another 30 minutes of overtime after I was done taking pictures to ensure that everybody had a chance to make as many prints as they wanted. That's... 73 pictures per hour (not including deleted shots that didn't turn out), in addition to the time I spent helping the older guests order their prints.

    When the pandemic hit, the entire balance from your original contract was turned into a credit for you guys. This was industry standard practice during the pandemic. It was an unfortunate time for everybody, but 100% of your money went towards the new wedding date, and we even locked in the pricing from the original wedding for you; no additional costs were added. I'm not entirely sure how that translates into us not valuing our clients.

    I most certainly introduced myself to you, granted it was when you came up with the maid of honour to use the booth... as mentioned above, I was personally swamped right from the start of the party.

    I've reviewed Curtis' playlist from the evening and there were plenty of selections right from your planner. You requested Raggae, Raggaeton & Dancehall (I'm seeing artists like Sean Paul, Beanie Man, Daddy Yankee, Nicky Jam, Pitbull, several others), some country (Shania Twain, Martina McBride, Tim McGraw), Hip Hop (Tupac, Biggie, several others), some 90's throwbacks (Young MC, several others), and I personally remember singing along to Brown Eyed Girl which you specifically requested. Curtis was fully prepared and delivered a fantastic dance (see attached pictures) and I'm not entirely sure what the issue is here.

    I hate to leave a nearly three year relationship - during which we've traded... counting... 89 emails - on a sour note. This is very disheartening. At any rate, I hope that we can mend fences someday, and I wish you and your husband all the best.
  • Sharon
    Sharon Married on 21/05/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't be happier!

    The DJs we had for our ceremony and reception were awesome! I loved the seamless transitions between each of our bridal party entrance songs. I wasn't expecting it but it was perfect. During the reception, Sheena was in constant communication with our MC to make sure they were on the same page and even picked the perfect song when we last minute decided to do an official cake cutting with our wedding donuts. She also told me when our must-play songs were going to be played as well as checking about some of the requested songs. The dance floor almost always had someone on it was great to see. She was always checking in which was greatly appreciated. I highly recommend this company for your DJ needs!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi Sharon,

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback :) Sheena and I had a great time working with you guys and I'm thrilled to hear that our services were well received.

    All the best, and keep in touch!

    Chris Zard
  • Cassie
    Cassie A. Married on 23/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection!

    Grindstone Productions was an amazing part of our wedding this past weekend. Our DJ, Chris provided the perfect entertainment for our guests and the photobooth was a big hit! Thank you so much for your fantastic service. We definitely recommend!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi Cassie,

    Thanks so much for your feedback :) Other Chris and I had a fantastic time working with you guys. Your friends and family were so much fun to work with.

    I've attached a few of the photo booth prints. I hope you guys are having fun going through all of the pictures :)

    All the best, and please keep in touch!

    Chris Zard
  • RaeAnn
    Raeann Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Greatest DJ for a wedding

    Super great at communicating and on top of things with Covid changes as they occurred!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi RaeAnn,

    Thanks so much for your feedback :) Tendai had a blast working with you guys out at RedTail Landing. I've included some pictures!

    All the best, and please keep in touch!

    Chris Zard
  • A
    Alison F. Married on 18/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best!!!!

    Chris was so helpful and responsive. The photobooth and DJ were both awesome!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hey Alison,

    Thank you for your feedback :) Tendai and I had a fantastic time at your wedding on Saturday, and I'm so happy that I was able to be there personally! Your family and friends - and you guys - were just so much fun to hang out with.

    I just this second finished uploading your photo booth pics when I saw the review notification, so have fun going through them; there's a ton of them and they're amazing!

    Also, just for the record, we have been in communication since April 25, 2019; that's two years, four months, and twenty five days!!! We're officially besties.

    All the best, and please keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Grindstone rolls with the ever changing times

    Chris and his staff were able to accommodate us due to our changing dates and timelines. the value was great and his DJs are top notch. Our DJ was Curtis and he was a god send to us. he was checking in with us when he saw things going slightly off kilter and he rolled with the changes as they came. He checking in with my stressed Groom and that helped us know that he cared how our day was going and to help it continue to be a great night.

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi Jenn & Kelly,

    Thank you for your feedback :) I'm so happy that you guys enjoyed our services and our efforts to be flexible during what I'm sure was a very trying time. I'm thrilled that it all culminated in a day that you guys were so happy with!

    I just checked; we have exchanged 69 emails dating all the way back to February 5, 2019; that's two years, seven months, and sixteen days! Does that make us all besties now???

    Curtis is one of the most caring people that I've ever known, and I'm glad that that shone through on your big day!

    All the best, and please keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard
  • D
    Deanna Married on 03/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great flexibility and service!

    Chris and his team were incredible at our wedding! They were accommodating and flexible throughout the whole process, even when we had to change dates and venues multiple times due to the pandemic. They were great at reading the room and selecting music that reflected the mood of our guests! All of our guests had a wonderful time!!

    Grindstone Productions DJ & Photo Booth Services's reply:

    Hi Deanna,

    Thank you so much for your feedback :) Neill had a fantastic time at your wedding and I'm very happy to hear that you guys did as well.

    It was absolutely no problem at all working with you guys during the ever-changing circumstances over the past 18 months.

    All the best, and please keep in touch :)

    Chris Zard