Airwaves Music
467 Osprey Ave V1Y 5A3 Kelowna (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Airwaves Music

57 reviews

4.8 out of 5.0

4.8 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.8
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.9

    51 of 57 couples recommend it

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    DJ Jesus was our DJ and he was wonderful. Thank you for making our wedding dance so much fun Jesus. If I ever throw a party, you're hired!

    Sent on 01/08/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Acceptable

    We went through Airwaves to find a musician for our wedding ceremony. Lance Carr, the guitarist was a great musician and very responsive to our requests. However, getting to that point was a bit of a headache.

    We had originally secured a musician through them in October of 2013 (our wedding was in May 2014). In January or so they sent me an email saying that musician was no longer with them. The girl who was taking care of our account had also changed. It took a lot of emails back and forth, mostly me emailing them to check on what was going on to find a replacement. It may have been because there were some turnovers in the company but we did not secure a musician until about a month before the ceremony. A day before the wedding Lance had given me a call to introduce himself and check in. To our frustration, some notes I had given to Airwaves back in September about bringing two wireless microphones were not passed on to him. Lance was kind enough to scramble and go rent a battery operated microphone on his own. I will note that Anira, the girl who was now taking care of our account was lovely and friendly but she wasn't able to respond readily to our questions because she was waiting to hear from the musicians about their availabilities. Also, her superior called me to apologize for the delay in finding a musician which I appreciated.

    In the end, I was happy with the guitarist that Airwaves provided but for a company whose mission is to make it easy for clients to find quality musicians, I feel they left me hanging and caused more stress than I would have felt if I went to find a musician on my own.

    Sent on 01/06/2014

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    This is a legitimate complaint, and we did experience an issue finding a guitarist. The reason was, Airwaves made the extremely difficult decision to terminate our contract with the original guitarist who had been booked, just weeks before the wedding.

    We did this because we felt the original guitarist had chosen to act in an unprofessional manner and we did not trust that we could rely on him for the wedding. Despite working with him for years, he seemed to completely lose interested in performing at weddings all of the sudden-just weeks before this wedding.

    So, we scrambled, on behalf of the client to find a replacement guitarist on short notice. We were able to secure Lance Carr, a previous world champion guitarist at no extra charge to the client and he learned all of the clients requests within days of the wedding.

    This was certainly not our ideal situation but the reason Airwaves exists is to provide reliable, professional entertainment for our clients. If we feel the client will be anything but exceptional, we will do everything in our power to find a better alternative.

    In this situation, we had to do that and it appears the client felt this created extra stress for her. After years in this business, I can guarantee that her original guitarist wouldn't have been reliable or pleasant so I stand behind our difficult decision to find a new guitarist on short notice.

    We are in the business of managing people. I can not always guarantee we will not have to switch performers, but I can guarantee on the day of your wedding you will have an excellent, skilled, professional and pleasant performer whom is there because they want to be, who can add magic to your special day.

    I stand behind our decision. We have over 100 musicians in the Okanagan and only had 2 guitarists that day. We chose to lose money on the event and offer the world champion guitarist at the same price as the original guitarist to make it happen.

    Bob Graham-Owner-Airwaves

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves Music did an excellent job DJing our wedding. The DJ was friendly, played lots of requests and seemed like he really enjoyed himself too. We didn't want any crazy games or too many announcements or anything and wanted a DJ who would just be good at keeping people engaged and dancing. They did a really good job overall from start to finish.

    Thanks guys!

    Sent on 28/07/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Our Airwaves DJ was wonderful! We had no idea who to hire for a DJ or what to look for at all! Airwaves set us up with an amazing DJ for our wedding! Our DJ was around our age too, which made a world of difference to the whole vibe of the party. I would highly recommend Airwaves to any of my friends getting married!

    Sent on 31/01/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves was a very professional company and kept in touch with us regularly leading up to our wedding. All of our song requests were played right when we wanted them. The speakers and lights looked great and the DJ equipment was low-key and in the background, just like we wanted. You can barely notice it in the photos. We also got the DJ to do some light MCing. We kind of put him on the spot and he did just great!

    Sent on 03/02/2014
  • [Private User]

    The company asked us a few weeks before our wedding if we would mind having a DJ in training shadow the DJ at our wedding. We of course said that was fine. ON the night of our wedding, the DJ we hired left after setting up, leaving the DJ in training in charge. He screwed up the slideshow our friend had spent hours putting together to the point that it was not viewable. (We sent the slideshow to them 2 weeks prior to the wedding to ensure there would be no problems). The DJ did not play the type of music we requested and was completely incapable of reading the crowd. He also did not do any transitions between the songs. It was as if he was just playing music off an ipod.

    Initially we were told that we would receive a full refund because of all the problems and the fact that we got a DJ in training when we paid for a pro DJ. They then backtracked and would only give us half our money back, saying that they couldn't refund the whole amount because someone was there playing music.

    This was the only vendor for our wedding that I was disappointed in. We had been looking forward to a good party and friends of ours who are in the DJ business told us it was way below industry standard. The DJ was awful and the response following our complaint was also lacking. Would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Sent on 24/11/2013

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    We can't apologize enough. This couple has been issued a full refund. The DJ we had at the event's wife was pregnant and had to be rushed to the hospital. The backup DJ in training had to fill in due to the emergency and he wasn't up to their standard.

    This was truly a one in a million occurrence and we have since taken steps to ensure there are no upcoming pregnancies for DJs with booked gigs on the way.

    We have also have made sure that our backup DJs, who attend weddings as shadow DJs during part of our 15 step audition process have all the necessary music as well so that if a worst case scenario does occur, we are well equipped to deal with it.

    I am very sorry that this happened. We have since added additional levels of support and planning to prevent this situation from happening in the future.

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Bad
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Bad

    we used them for our wedding - just ok. music was terrible until we made some requests

    Sent on 18/04/2014

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    It is very hard for us to look into this review since the client did not mention anything to us via email and did not leave their name, wedding date or DJ on this review.

    However, we work very hard at Airwaves to ensure we play music that you and your guests are going to love! To guarantee great music, we put the control in your hands by providing you with an online music checklist where you can request special songs, genres, etc. You can also request NOT to hear genres and songs you do not like.

    As well, our system allows your guests to make requests ahead of time. All of our DJs have experience at weddings so this is a surprising comment. We recommend thinking about music thoroughly before your music and discussing themes, styles and the general vibe of the music you'd like with your Airwaves Wedding Music Planner in the months prior to your wedding.

    Another tip is to think about what types of music your guests are interested in. Trying to profile your guests in advance (IE half love country and half love dance music) is a great way to ensure the music sounds great.

    We are very sorry to read this complaint and it is unfortunate, however with proper planning from the client and communication to the DJ and your wedding planner, this complaint is always avoidable.

    After all, music is what we do best! All you have to do is tell us what you love to hear and we are happy to play it.

  • Kim Weselak, Married on 07/09/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We used airwaves music for our recent wedding and I have nothing but great things to say. Bob was very helpful and professional over the phone. We ended up hiring Rodrigo as a guitar player for our ceremony- he was very professional and flexible and everyone loved him:) he played beautifully. We then had John Bird as our DJ and he was absolutely outstanding. He kept the party going, played all the right songs at the right time and truly seemed to enjoy his job! I would definitely recommend both to anyone planning their wedding. We can't thank you enough airwaves for all your help!

    Sent on 24/11/2013
  • Samantha Trimble, Married on 07/09/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We hired an Airwaves Music's DJ's at our wedding last year. He was very attentive and professional.
    He worked well alongside our 3rd party live band to make sure the live music vs. DJ music transitions were smooth.
    What I liked most about Airwaves was their super detailed timeline section along with great back and forth communication with the DJ, making me as bride feel completely understood and confident in the music aspect of our wedding. They definitely take their events seriously!

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • Agatha Soros, Married on 10/08/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The young DJ was a wonderful surprise to us all. He was fabulous at reading the crowd. Got everyone to their feet and kept up the party spirit all night long. Even the elderly family members couldn't keep off the dance floor. Something for everyone.

    Sent on 14/08/2013

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info