Airwaves Music
467 Osprey Ave V1Y 5A3 Kelowna (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Airwaves Music

53 reviews

4.8 out of 5.0

4.8 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.8
  • Professionalism

    4.8

    Responsiveness

    4.8
  • Flexibility

    4.9

    47 of 53 couples recommend it

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves was a very professional company and kept in touch with us regularly leading up to our wedding. All of our song requests were played right when we wanted them. The speakers and lights looked great and the DJ equipment was low-key and in the background, just like we wanted. You can barely notice it in the photos. We also got the DJ to do some light MCing. We kind of put him on the spot and he did just great!

    Sent on 03/02/2014
  • [Private User]

    The company asked us a few weeks before our wedding if we would mind having a DJ in training shadow the DJ at our wedding. We of course said that was fine. ON the night of our wedding, the DJ we hired left after setting up, leaving the DJ in training in charge. He screwed up the slideshow our friend had spent hours putting together to the point that it was not viewable. (We sent the slideshow to them 2 weeks prior to the wedding to ensure there would be no problems). The DJ did not play the type of music we requested and was completely incapable of reading the crowd. He also did not do any transitions between the songs. It was as if he was just playing music off an ipod.

    Initially we were told that we would receive a full refund because of all the problems and the fact that we got a DJ in training when we paid for a pro DJ. They then backtracked and would only give us half our money back, saying that they couldn't refund the whole amount because someone was there playing music.

    This was the only vendor for our wedding that I was disappointed in. We had been looking forward to a good party and friends of ours who are in the DJ business told us it was way below industry standard. The DJ was awful and the response following our complaint was also lacking. Would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Sent on 24/11/2013

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    We can't apologize enough. This couple has been issued a full refund. The DJ we had at the event's wife was pregnant and had to be rushed to the hospital. The backup DJ in training had to fill in due to the emergency and he wasn't up to their standard.

    This was truly a one in a million occurrence and we have since taken steps to ensure there are no upcoming pregnancies for DJs with booked gigs on the way.

    We have also have made sure that our backup DJs, who attend weddings as shadow DJs during part of our 15 step audition process have all the necessary music as well so that if a worst case scenario does occur, we are well equipped to deal with it.

    I am very sorry that this happened. We have since added additional levels of support and planning to prevent this situation from happening in the future.

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Bad
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Bad

    we used them for our wedding - just ok. music was terrible until we made some requests

    Sent on 18/04/2014

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    It is very hard for us to look into this review since the client did not mention anything to us via email and did not leave their name, wedding date or DJ on this review.

    However, we work very hard at Airwaves to ensure we play music that you and your guests are going to love! To guarantee great music, we put the control in your hands by providing you with an online music checklist where you can request special songs, genres, etc. You can also request NOT to hear genres and songs you do not like.

    As well, our system allows your guests to make requests ahead of time. All of our DJs have experience at weddings so this is a surprising comment. We recommend thinking about music thoroughly before your music and discussing themes, styles and the general vibe of the music you'd like with your Airwaves Wedding Music Planner in the months prior to your wedding.

    Another tip is to think about what types of music your guests are interested in. Trying to profile your guests in advance (IE half love country and half love dance music) is a great way to ensure the music sounds great.

    We are very sorry to read this complaint and it is unfortunate, however with proper planning from the client and communication to the DJ and your wedding planner, this complaint is always avoidable.

    After all, music is what we do best! All you have to do is tell us what you love to hear and we are happy to play it.

  • Kim Weselak, Married on 07/09/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We used airwaves music for our recent wedding and I have nothing but great things to say. Bob was very helpful and professional over the phone. We ended up hiring Rodrigo as a guitar player for our ceremony- he was very professional and flexible and everyone loved him:) he played beautifully. We then had John Bird as our DJ and he was absolutely outstanding. He kept the party going, played all the right songs at the right time and truly seemed to enjoy his job! I would definitely recommend both to anyone planning their wedding. We can't thank you enough airwaves for all your help!

    Sent on 24/11/2013
  • Samantha Trimble, Married on 07/09/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We hired an Airwaves Music's DJ's at our wedding last year. He was very attentive and professional.
    He worked well alongside our 3rd party live band to make sure the live music vs. DJ music transitions were smooth.
    What I liked most about Airwaves was their super detailed timeline section along with great back and forth communication with the DJ, making me as bride feel completely understood and confident in the music aspect of our wedding. They definitely take their events seriously!

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • Agatha Soros, Married on 10/08/2013

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The young DJ was a wonderful surprise to us all. He was fabulous at reading the crowd. Got everyone to their feet and kept up the party spirit all night long. Even the elderly family members couldn't keep off the dance floor. Something for everyone.

    Sent on 14/08/2013
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Bob did a great job helping me find the musicians for our wedding day. I wanted live music at the reception, and something a little quirky during the ceremony. Bob found us a French horn quartet that was willing to play the Indiana Jones theme song for our walk back up the aisle, and they were fantastic... not to mention ideal as the horns carried much better at an open-plan outdoor venue than strings!

    Bob also helped us find the right jazz group for our reception, getting us samples of their work and even going so far as to go watch a few people I had found online and giving his feedback on whether they were right for our wedding vibe. He was thorough in following up and checking details before the day, and we couldn't have been happier with the musicians he lined up. As non-locals we relied on his connections and advice, and he didn't disappoint.

    Cheers,

    Lauren Guilfoyle

    Sent on 09/06/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    A great company that provided an excellent DJ for our wedding!! Bob, the owner of Airwaves was excellent to deal with and very professional. He matched us with a DJ, Les, that kept the dance floor packed all night long - guests are still raving about the party. They had a great online system to upload timelines, songs, etc. Even though it can be a bit confusing, everyone at Airwaves is very helpful and kind. I would definitely recommend future brides to hire this company!

    Sent on 08/08/2013
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Bruce Spencer was an absolute delight at our ceremony. His
    music created the perfect ambiance and I was completely breathtaken not just by
    his talents but by his beautiful spirit. Not only did Bruce play
    fantastic renditions of the songs we requested, he also did his own research in
    order to play the ceremonial Ukrainian song I was seeking and understand its important meaning in our celebration, which of course, brought us to tears! I feel so privileged for having had Bruce be a part of our ceremony.

    Bob Graham was an absolute pleasure to work with - he made finding and booking such a fabulous musician a piece of cake and, at a time when there is so much to do and things are getting stressful, Bob took care of everything and did it in a timely, professional, personal, and friendly manner. I highly recommend Airwaves and I highly recommend Bruce if you need a magical sound and a wonderfully sensitive and talented musician for your event.

    Lori Crowe

    Sent on 09/06/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are sorry to hear from the couple about the poor review for the JR DJ in training performing at their wedding. We wanted to respond directly to this complaint.

    The DJ hired for their wedding was one of the best on our team.

    Unfortunately, the night of the wedding, his wife went into early labour and was rushed off to the hospital. The JR DJ was there, playing music and we had auditioned him multiple times. He wasn't up to their standards but a refund was issued.

    Although this wasn't an ideal situation by any means, this was one situation where having a backup JR DJ there, on standby saved the day. It was an emergency.

    We are sorry the couple went through this, but feel strongly that any new-parent would have done the same if there was a backup there to take their place. We had tested this JR DJ extensively however he did not deliver that night up to their standards, so we did deliver a refund. This was truly a one-in-a-million kind of incident.

    Since then, we've tightened up our training for JR DJs, and given them song lists and procedures for these types of incidents.

    After reading the customers continual dissatisfaction after the fact, we will issue a complete and full refund.

    Sent on 10/01/2014

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info