Airwaves Music
51
467 Osprey Ave V1Y 5A3 Kelowna (British Columbia) View map
4.8 out of 5.0
Overall rating:

Reviews of Airwaves Music

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had live Cello and Viola for our ceremony and DJ Les for the DJ for the rest of the wedding and both were PERFECT!

    All staff helping us plan the music were super helpful and then the musicians at the wedding itself were perfect! Super professional, very happy to be there and very in-tune with what people wanted to hear!!

    I would highly recommend Airwaves!!

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • Married on 07/06/2014 From Keith M

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I recently got married about an hour outside of Kelowna and hired Airwaves to provide the music for our ceremony and reception. Airwaves provided DJ John Bird - who was just awesome. We had hired them probably 6 months before our wedding, but being from out of town we were not able to meet John prior to hiring them. Anira (from Airwaves) was able to coordinate us with John to take time out of his weekend and meet up with us over the Easter weekend when we were able to come into town and discuss our wedding. After this meeting we provided him with a copy of how the ceremony was to be and on the day of he had all the songs for our ceremony perfectly lined up and all played perfect according to our instructions. During the reception/dance he played the styles of music we had asked for, entertained requests, and kept the dance floor full the whole night. Nothing I would of changed - nothing but great reviews for him and Airwaves and would definitely use them again and recommend them to friends.

    Sent on 23/06/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Thank you for the great DJ Airwaves!! Perfect music choices, listened to our friends crazy song requests and kept the night moving right up until the end! Very organized company, friendly and so happy we hired them! Thank you Airwaves!!!!

    Sent on 24/07/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We were hunting for a DJ for a while and asked friends etc but finally settled on Airwaves. At first we weren't sure what to expect since we obviously haven't hired a DJ before. Im happy to say, our DJ was awesome! He made announcements, kept everyone dancing and played all of my songs. I highly recommend this company.

    Sent on 29/06/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    DJ Jesus was our DJ and he was wonderful. Thank you for making our wedding dance so much fun Jesus. If I ever throw a party, you're hired!

    Sent on 01/08/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Acceptable
    • Responsiveness:
      Acceptable
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Acceptable

    We went through Airwaves to find a musician for our wedding ceremony. Lance Carr, the guitarist was a great musician and very responsive to our requests. However, getting to that point was a bit of a headache.

    We had originally secured a musician through them in October of 2013 (our wedding was in May 2014). In January or so they sent me an email saying that musician was no longer with them. The girl who was taking care of our account had also changed. It took a lot of emails back and forth, mostly me emailing them to check on what was going on to find a replacement. It may have been because there were some turnovers in the company but we did not secure a musician until about a month before the ceremony. A day before the wedding Lance had given me a call to introduce himself and check in. To our frustration, some notes I had given to Airwaves back in September about bringing two wireless microphones were not passed on to him. Lance was kind enough to scramble and go rent a battery operated microphone on his own. I will note that Anira, the girl who was now taking care of our account was lovely and friendly but she wasn't able to respond readily to our questions because she was waiting to hear from the musicians about their availabilities. Also, her superior called me to apologize for the delay in finding a musician which I appreciated.

    In the end, I was happy with the guitarist that Airwaves provided but for a company whose mission is to make it easy for clients to find quality musicians, I feel they left me hanging and caused more stress than I would have felt if I went to find a musician on my own.

    Sent on 01/06/2014

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    This is a legitimate complaint, and we did experience an issue finding a guitarist. The reason was, Airwaves made the extremely difficult decision to terminate our contract with the original guitarist who had been booked, just weeks before the wedding.

    We did this because we felt the original guitarist had chosen to act in an unprofessional manner and we did not trust that we could rely on him for the wedding. Despite working with him for years, he seemed to completely lose interested in performing at weddings all of the sudden-just weeks before this wedding.

    So, we scrambled, on behalf of the client to find a replacement guitarist on short notice. We were able to secure Lance Carr, a previous world champion guitarist at no extra charge to the client and he learned all of the clients requests within days of the wedding.

    This was certainly not our ideal situation but the reason Airwaves exists is to provide reliable, professional entertainment for our clients. If we feel the client will be anything but exceptional, we will do everything in our power to find a better alternative.

    In this situation, we had to do that and it appears the client felt this created extra stress for her. After years in this business, I can guarantee that her original guitarist wouldn't have been reliable or pleasant so I stand behind our difficult decision to find a new guitarist on short notice.

    We are in the business of managing people. I can not always guarantee we will not have to switch performers, but I can guarantee on the day of your wedding you will have an excellent, skilled, professional and pleasant performer whom is there because they want to be, who can add magic to your special day.

    I stand behind our decision. We have over 100 musicians in the Okanagan and only had 2 guitarists that day. We chose to lose money on the event and offer the world champion guitarist at the same price as the original guitarist to make it happen.

    Bob Graham-Owner-Airwaves

  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves Music did an excellent job DJing our wedding. The DJ was friendly, played lots of requests and seemed like he really enjoyed himself too. We didn't want any crazy games or too many announcements or anything and wanted a DJ who would just be good at keeping people engaged and dancing. They did a really good job overall from start to finish.

    Thanks guys!

    Sent on 28/07/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Our Airwaves DJ was wonderful! We had no idea who to hire for a DJ or what to look for at all! Airwaves set us up with an amazing DJ for our wedding! Our DJ was around our age too, which made a world of difference to the whole vibe of the party. I would highly recommend Airwaves to any of my friends getting married!

    Sent on 31/01/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Airwaves was a very professional company and kept in touch with us regularly leading up to our wedding. All of our song requests were played right when we wanted them. The speakers and lights looked great and the DJ equipment was low-key and in the background, just like we wanted. You can barely notice it in the photos. We also got the DJ to do some light MCing. We kind of put him on the spot and he did just great!

    Sent on 03/02/2014
  • [Private User]

    The company asked us a few weeks before our wedding if we would mind having a DJ in training shadow the DJ at our wedding. We of course said that was fine. ON the night of our wedding, the DJ we hired left after setting up, leaving the DJ in training in charge. He screwed up the slideshow our friend had spent hours putting together to the point that it was not viewable. (We sent the slideshow to them 2 weeks prior to the wedding to ensure there would be no problems). The DJ did not play the type of music we requested and was completely incapable of reading the crowd. He also did not do any transitions between the songs. It was as if he was just playing music off an ipod.

    Initially we were told that we would receive a full refund because of all the problems and the fact that we got a DJ in training when we paid for a pro DJ. They then backtracked and would only give us half our money back, saying that they couldn't refund the whole amount because someone was there playing music.

    This was the only vendor for our wedding that I was disappointed in. We had been looking forward to a good party and friends of ours who are in the DJ business told us it was way below industry standard. The DJ was awful and the response following our complaint was also lacking. Would not recommend this company to anyone.

    Sent on 24/11/2013

    Airwaves Music's reply:

    We can't apologize enough. This couple has been issued a full refund. The DJ we had at the event's wife was pregnant and had to be rushed to the hospital. The backup DJ in training had to fill in due to the emergency and he wasn't up to their standard.

    This was truly a one in a million occurrence and we have since taken steps to ensure there are no upcoming pregnancies for DJs with booked gigs on the way.

    We have also have made sure that our backup DJs, who attend weddings as shadow DJs during part of our 15 step audition process have all the necessary music as well so that if a worst case scenario does occur, we are well equipped to deal with it.

    I am very sorry that this happened. We have since added additional levels of support and planning to prevent this situation from happening in the future.

My Awards

51 reviews