The Dessert Room
1048 King St W L8S 1L5 Hamilton (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for The Dessert Room

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Awards

24

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Nicole

    Nicole Bean · Married on 10/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unreal Creativity & Customer Service

    I found this company with reviews - so thought it would be good to leave my own. Marcia and her team nailed my vision of what I needed budget wise and look wise for our wedding cake. They delivered the cupcakes & cakes to the venue, no issue! Any silly question I had, I would quickly receive a response. The overall look of the set up was jaw dropping. And they tasted amazing too. So happy we went with The Dessert Room. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 20/10/2019
  • Adamay

    Sherrane Virata · Married on 08/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caring, compassionate + delicious & beautiful cakes!

    Marcia is hands down the most amazing person ever. I was originally planning a wedding for August 2019 but due to my sister's health, I ended up having a VERY last minute wedding. I told Marcia my situation and although I had an extremely short notice request and it being a holiday weekend, Marcia went above and beyond to accommodate. You can truly tell how compassionate, caring, and understanding she is. Not only is her personality wonderful, but her cakes are sooooo delicious and beautiful. My guests had asked me where I had gotten my cakes because they said it was the best they ever had!!

    I believe that it is important to have a delicious and beautiful cake for your wedding, but having someone amazing to work with really makes such a difference. With Marcia you get it all. Highly highly recommended.

    Sent on 27/10/2018
  • Ashley

    Ashley Macdougall · Married on 14/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Delicious

    We used the Dessert Room for a two-tier wedding cake and sweets table. The flavour options are delicious and the presentation is stunning. They did a perfect job of utilizing the flowers left by our florist to decorate the cake and display. The only disappointing thing (not the Dessert Room's fault!) was that our meal was so big that our guests didn't have room to eat all of the tasty cupcakes and cake, but they freeze very well! In retrospect, I wish I opted for more macarons (200 instead of 100) and fewer cupcakes (100 instead of 200) because they are equally delicious but lighter and less daunting after a huge meal!

    Sent on 09/11/2019
  • S

    Sara Brzozowski · Married on 11/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Earl grey and lavender

    Was our cake flavour and it was Divine! A Swiss meringue butter cream was used as our frosting and was decorated with macaroons meringues flowers and chocolate sails as a topper! It was as delicious as it was beautiful. Marcia is an excellent cake smith that, if given the opportunity, creates delightful wonderful work.

    Sent on 23/09/2018
  • Laura

    Laura Lauw · Married on 29/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yummy Wedding Cake!

    Marcia was wonderful! She was very helpful and friendly from our very first inquiry. We really enjoyed the tasting and the actual wedding cake. Our guests were also raving about how delicious our cake was. A guest actually said that this is the first wedding cake slice they actually enjoyed eating. Hahaha. So true. We had a combo of carrot cake & vanilla sea salt flavours. We tried the vanilla sea salt at tasting, but didn't have a chance to try it from our actual cake, and now we have 9 more months to go until we get to try it because our top layer is vanilla sea salt! :D can't waitttt! We also got macarons as favours and they were so cute and actually taste good! perfectly fluffy! Marcia was very professional and listened to what we wanted and we got exactly what we wanted. Thank you!

    Sent on 14/09/2018
  • V

    V carr · Married on 02/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    My husband and I were very pleased with how our dessert turned out for our wedding. Marcia was very accommodating of our unusual request (a small cake on the top tier with brownies on the tiers below) and many of our guests remarked how delicious the brownies were. Our Best Man ended up taking 20 home at the end of the night and commented on how amazing they were. Marcia even met with us outside of normal business hours for our initial tasting, and at the wedding had set up the cake flowers beautifully on our cake/brownie tier. We would absolutely recommend The Dessert Room to others.

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • Jana

    Jana Lezak · Married on 21/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcia did a great job creating the cake I envisioned for the wedding. She tweaked what needed to be tweaked in order to make the cake look the best. Everyone at the wedding was raving about the flavours(lemon poppy seed for one tier and vanilla with earl grey butter cream for another). Could not of been happier with how it turned out. I will definitely be a returning customer in the future.

    Sent on 31/10/2017
  • K

    Krista Davie · Married on 23/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcia is so incredibly talented! She created my vision perfectly, synched with my style, and was able to customize flavours and quantities to exactly what I needed. Working with her felt like working with an old friend, someone who knows exactly what you want. Everything was so delicious; our guests loved it! I will definitely be stopping by The Dessert Room anytime I'm in the neighbourhood!

    Sent on 06/10/2017
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 19/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Marcia was an absolute pleasure! Not only is she an insanely talented pastry chef but she is also very responsive, attentive and accommodating. Her attention to detail made my wedding cake a highlight of the night…not to mention how delicious it was! Thank you again Marcia for everything. Sean and I will be loyal customers of The Dessert Room for life.

    Sent on 22/08/2017
  • H

    Holly Glisky · Married on 05/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Marcia at The Dessert Room was an absolute breeze, and she created the most beautiful and delicious wedding cake and accompanying cupcakes. We weren't even sure we wanted a cake to begin with, and just decided on something small and ceremonial. The cake was better than anything we could have dreamed of, though - she executed our vision perfectly. We chose a lemon cake with vanilla bean buttercream, lemon curd and fresh raspberries, and it was not only gorgeous but so tasty. Marcia was always quick to respond (we had questions about setting up our cake topper, adding cupcakes to our order, etc) and handled the delivery and set up of the cake with complete ease. We can't wait to work with Marcia again :)

    Sent on 24/08/2017
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.