Scottish Cultural Centre
8886 Hudson Street V6P 4N2 Vancouver (British Columbia) View map

Reviews from Scottish Cultural Centre

5.0 / 5

5.0 of 5.0

31 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2015 Winner WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2014 Winner
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    5.0
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    5.0
  • Flexibility

    4.9
Order by :
  • Angela Polymenakos , Married on 07/02/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The whole team at the Scottish Centre was really amazing as a venue for our wedding! So accommodating, flexible, and friendly!! The hall was clean, and spacious! Really made our experience stress free and as relaxing as wedding planning can go!
    They were also super accommodating to our vendors! We would HIGHLY recommend them for future events!!!!

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • Samantha and Layne , Married on 11/14/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Darryl and Brett were so instrumental in ensuring our wedding day went smoothly! They were super accommodating and friendly in the months leading up to the wedding, and answered all of our questions. Brett helped us with logistics and changing the setup for the dance. The price is amazing. A hidden gem for couples who want a flexible, DIY wedding. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    Sent on 06/03/2016

    Scottish Cultural Centre's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review. We can't thank you enough for spending time with us. And we wish you both a life full of love and happiness!!
    Darryl

  • Arielle Wolfe , Married on 08/29/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We were so happy with our wedding at The Scottish Cultural Centre. Everyone was so friend'y, helpful and down to earth. The price was amazing for the amount of space and time we had. We didn't have to worry and could really enjoy our day. We would recommend this space to anyone for a large wedding!

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • Mara Matienzo , Married on 06/13/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Scottish Cultural Centre has been an awesome place for us to do our wedding ceremony. From the ceremony rehearsals, to decorating the hall, and to the actual ceremony, everyone has been so accommodating. I would like to commend the manager, Darryl, as well as Brett and Larry, who went out of their way to accommodate the requests that we've made. They had been very flexible and understanding and this has been a great help to our wedding preparations.

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • Kimberly Moran , Married on 04/04/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    This is a great wedding venue! The main hall has a beautiful hardwood floor that was perfect for the dance my husband and I wanted. We rented the large hall and divided it into two rooms and had our ceremony on one side and reception and dance on the other side.
    Darryl and Brett (the manager and caretaker) were amazingly helpful and accommodating. As long as it works around other rentals, they are willing to accommodate most requests. We were able to drop off our bar supplies and put them in the fridge to cool, set up our decorations in part of the hall and have a rehearsal ceremony the night before because it didn't interfere with the rental on Friday night.
    The hall has a lot of conveniences that were a pleasant surprise and made life much, much easier - a kitchen that any caterer you hire can use, a bar area with fridges and an ice maker you can use, some very affordable rentals, and the caretaker on duty takes care of setting up furniture for your event. (Your family and friends will appreciate this, trust me!)
    The only reason I put down 4.5 for responsiveness is that the hall has very limited office hours, so it's sometimes hard to get in touch over the phone. Email was very prompt, though, so overall it was not an issue.
    I would definitely recommend you check out the Scottish Cultural Centre for your event!

    Sent on 04/15/2015
  • Susie da Silva , Married on 03/28/2015

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Great venue, great value and VERY helpful staff.

    Sent on 04/27/2015
  • Michelle Plato , Married on 10/25/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I recently had my wedding at the Scottish hall and from start to finish they were amazing.
    They were kind and helpful and very patient when I would email eight billion questions to them. Darryl and Brett are great people and really helped my wedding run smoothly.
    The hall has recently been painted and there is amble parking around the buildng. The closest hotel is clean and affordable within walking distance.

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • Lauren Zarin , Married on 08/23/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My husband and I had our wedding reception here. I would HIGHLY recommend the Scottish Cultural Center. The manager, Darryl was wonderful. He always responded back to me right away. He answered every question we had and was always willing to accommodate to our needs. The other staff, were amazing as well. Brett was always cheerful and knew every answer to our questions!

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • No friend To recommend , Married on 08/08/2014

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The staff are very helpful and available to answer questions all the time! The days before, on and after ran smoothly thanks to them. We were also super impressed with the prices and flexibility :)

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    From the moment I first contacted Darryl and the team at the Scottish Cultural Centre, I was taken care of. Darryl was always so helpful and informative with every question I had and returned my emails/calls promptly. A friendly group who let me come back a few times to scope out the space to figure out how things would work. Brett was also very friendly and helpful. A great team and I cannot sing their praises enough (but I will try!!!)

    We couldn't have picked a better place for our reception.

    Sent on 08/05/2014

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Message your vendors through WeddingWire and you'll receive an entry for every meeting and hired vendor. See more details.