Oshawa and District Shrine Club
1626 Simcoe Street North L1G 4X9 Oshawa (Ontario) Map
Write a review Hired? Save
5 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
Number of guests 75 to 180
Share

Reviews for Oshawa and District Shrine Club

3.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 3.4
  • Value 4.0
  • Response time 3.8

Awards

5

1 User photo

Oshawa and District Shrine Club 1
Order by:
  • Wes

    Wes Mauch

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!

    We had a great time the new caterer is amazing the food was hot delicious and plenty of it !!! The hall was clean great bar guys and well priced ! I would definitely rent their again for any thing I was putting on with a crowd of people , they looked after 120 people like it was 10 people ! Thanks

    Sent on 28/01/2019
  • K

    Kadie Simmons · Married on 04/08/2018

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Do Not rent this venue!

    Would not recommend. Had my wedding ceremony and reception there this year in August and met with them first in February 2017. In between they switched admins and the new admin, Angela, was terrible to work with. She did not reply to emails in a timely manner, prices kept changing from what I was originally told, and the president was not personable at all. The caterer changed twice in the year of planning, the first time I was not even notified, I found out when I spoke with the caterer at another function a month after the switch had been made. Since I was upset I wasn't notified, they at least let me know the second time they changed. The new caterer was awesome, the food was great and the bartenders, John and Jack, were fantastic. And Janice, the decorator is wonderful. The last issue I had was again with Angela. My wedding was a Saturday, and the Tuesday following it she emailed accusing my guests of breaking a frame and stealing a poster. This was not true. Everything was fine before we left that evening. There was a huge function that was for shriners the Sunday and this theft was somehow not noticed until Tuesday?? Be careful with renting the hall here, it seems they'll try anything to get more money out of you. I'm supposed to be getting a refund because I had less guests than originally paid for, so we'll see if that comes through....maybe if the admin and president was changed it may be a better place but with who they have at the moment, do not recommend.

    Sent on 28/08/2018
  • Marcia

    Marcia Doucette · Married on 28/10/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our wedding at the Shrine club in Oshawa. We had many problems during our year of planning. The president changed halfway through our wedding preparations - so much of what we agreed on in the beginning was then no longer being honoured. It took a lot of fighting on my part to combat sudden new fees that we were originally told were standard. The admin was unpleasant and rarely returned messages in a timely fashion. They need to get organized and word of warning to customers - get EVERYTHING they agree to in writing!

    Sent on 18/12/2017
  • Linda.nak2

    Linda Nakamoto · Married on 26/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oshawa and District Shriner Hall was a delight to work with! We had our wedding reception there on Saturday, August 26, 2017. The staff we dealt with was very professional and friendly. Angela Maltby, Administrator , was always pleasant and responded in a timely fashion to all the emails and phone calls. Janice Denholm is a delight to work with! She is so friendly, very helpful and accommodating. Janice made sure all of our requests and needs were met, from the lighting to booster seats for our youngest guests! Janice and Shelley make a great team, right from the set-up to the clean-up the next day! The Shriner Bartenders on the night of our reception were a couple of great guys! They were helpful and fun. Our guests had a good time chatting with them each time they went for drink! Thanks to all of you at the Shriner Hall, you all made our day!

    Oshawa and District Shrine Club 2
    Sent on 18/09/2017
  • B

    Ben Mccroe · Married on 12/03/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    excellent place to rent

    wonderful hall , very helpful , clean and very useful area . great place to do wedding and party afterwards . It is a great size lots of room for tables and then they helped us move them back to open up a massive dance floor It was Great

    Sent on 01/03/2018
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.