John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
90 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 / 5 Write a review
  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Reply

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
90 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner
Order by :
  • Ashley

    Ashley Riggs , Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Not only was the venue absolutely stunning (even in November), the team was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a very specific and unique vision and Karen made sure we had everything we needed ahead of time and ensured that everything was communicated to the day of team. The day went off without a hitch and the day-off coordinator was so wonderful and helpful, he even made sure I never had an empty glass :) Highly, highly recommend!

    The wedding of Ashley Riggs and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • Rozalind

    Rozalind Ewashina , Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had the best experience with the UBC boathouse!!! They were on top of absolutely everything! They were so quick in their responses back to any questions we had, which was amazing! Their vendor reviews were on point and we had such a great experience with Ritz catering and straight up bar services based on their recommendations! They were so helpful with our seating plan and our plan B in case it rained! I can't recommend them highly enough!

    The wedding of Rozalind Ewashina and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
    The wedding of Rozalind Ewashina and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
    The wedding of Rozalind Ewashina and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
    The wedding of Rozalind Ewashina and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Liz

    Liz Tham , Married on 16/09/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy we chose the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse for our wedding on September 16, 2016. Not only is the venue and its location on the water beautiful, but everyone on staff that we worked and interacted with were professional and pleasant. Throughout the entire process, from initial walk-through to floorplan layout to the day itself, we knew we were in capable and experienced hands. Our guests were so impressed by this beautiful venue and we are so happy we chose to spend our special day there!

    Sent on 21/10/2016
  • Ainsley Reimer , Married on 09/09/2016

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on September 9, 2016. The UBC Boathouse is a beautiful venue requiring minimal decorations due to the sleek and modern reception hall and the stunning backdrop. The UBC Boathouse staff were wonderful - very quick to respond to questions and to help with vendor selection and day-of coordination.

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Christina Beeching , Married on 31/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on July 31, 2016 and the UBC Boathouse was the perfect venue for our small, intimate Indian wedding. Before even seeing the venue we were challenged on our hold by another couple. Afraid that we would lose such a beautiful space, we went ahead and booked it... and it was the best decision we had made! We had an outdoor Indian ceremony on the dock and an indoor Western reception. The space required very minimal decor due to its surrounding beauty. The staff were so great to work with. They were professional, courteous and very accommodating when working with outside vendors. They helped us answer all of our questions along the planning process. Couldn't imagine a better, more stunning venue than the UBC Boathouse!

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • [Private User]

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My husband and I both agree that hosting our wedding at UBC boathouse was the best decision we made for our special day. We loved the view of the Fraser River, the natural light, and high ceilings that the boathouse has to offer.
    Of all the aspects of our wedding the venue got the most compliments from guests. We liked that the boathouse is right in Richmond so that out of town guests didn't have to travel much further then the airport. We also liked that the location allowed for us to rent our venue later then most allow, we ended up dancing until 3am.
    My husband and I highly recommend the boathouse if you want a fun, beautiful wedding where guests can feel comfortable.

    The wedding of Private User and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
    The wedding of Private User and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 7
    The wedding of Private User and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 8
    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Nikki

    Nikki Wright , Married on 24/07/2016

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on July 24, 2016, & this was our dream venue! We fell in love with the UBC Boathouse before we started venue searching & nothing could compare when we started looking! It's clean & modern with beautiful wood touches. The staff is very helpful & the natural views are breathtaking! We caught a gorgeous sunset on the river, so the natural beauty of this place is worth it alone! It's awesome to have the ceremony & reception at the same location & the simple white chairs & tables are very elegant. Perfect for the simple, elegant, modern wedding. I wish the time block was longer without having to add hours to set up & take down, but just try to allot for more time than you think you need! The staff is really nice & everything went smoothly! Definitely so happy with our decision on our venue to help us have the best day of our lives!

    The wedding of Nikki Wright and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 9
    The wedding of Nikki Wright and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 10
    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Gina Field , Married on 08/07/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC boathouse was our dream venue. Its beautiful inside and out with gorgeous water and large outdoor area with a modern clean interior for receptions. We had our ceremony and reception here on July 8, 2016 and we couldn't be happier! The most important thing is you get to work with the most amazing, helpful staff who responds to emails instantly and honestly plans the entire timeline of your wedding. They are seasoned veterans and really take the lead while considering every single one of your requests. Our wedding day was perfect and the UBC boathouse played a huge part in making that true.

    The wedding of Gina Field and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 11
    The wedding of Gina Field and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 12
    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Amanda

    Amanda Michaels , Married on 17/06/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at the UBC boathouse in June and I have zero regrets about choosing this venue! The pictures don't even do this place justice! The floor to ceiling windows made for a stunning backdrop to our wedding party table, especially during sunset!
    The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful, some serious veterans. Of all the people I spoke with during the crazy wedding planning process, they were absolutely the most helpful,professional, accommodating and understanding!
    The venue has hookups for everything, including music hookups outside so you can play your setting or set up your DJ if you want to have a cocktail hour outside.
    A huge bonus for us was that allow you to bring your own alcohol, which ended up saving us a lot of cash.
    I Highly recommend this venue for your wedding!

    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 13
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 14
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 15
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 16
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 17
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 18
    Sent on 19/10/2016
  • Courtney Delmonico , Married on 20/05/2016

    3.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Beautiful venue! You don't need to do a lot to decorate, because the scenery speaks for itself.

    The team is responsive and professional. They don't go above and beyond to cater to your event, but they get back to you quickly and always know where you are at in the process which is really helpful!

    It isn't an incredibly expensive venue, but make sure to budget for linens, plates, tableware etc. because it's not included and can add up quickly!

    Sent on 01/09/2015

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Message your vendors through WeddingWire and you'll receive an entry for every meeting and hired vendor. See more details.