John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
72 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

72 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 of 5.0

4.7 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
Order by :
  • Amanda

    Amanda Michaels, Married on 17/06/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at the UBC boathouse in June and I have zero regrets about choosing this venue! The pictures don't even do this place justice! The floor to ceiling windows made for a stunning backdrop to our wedding party table, especially during sunset!
    The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful, some serious veterans. Of all the people I spoke with during the crazy wedding planning process, they were absolutely the most helpful,professional, accommodating and understanding!
    The venue has hookups for everything, including music hookups outside so you can play your setting or set up your DJ if you want to have a cocktail hour outside.
    A huge bonus for us was that allow you to bring your own alcohol, which ended up saving us a lot of cash.
    I Highly recommend this venue for your wedding!

    Sent on 19/10/2016
  • Courtney Delmonico, Married on 20/05/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Beautiful venue! You don't need to do a lot to decorate, because the scenery speaks for itself.

    The team is responsive and professional. They don't go above and beyond to cater to your event, but they get back to you quickly and always know where you are at in the process which is really helpful!

    It isn't an incredibly expensive venue, but make sure to budget for linens, plates, tableware etc. because it's not included and can add up quickly!

    Sent on 01/09/2015
  • Monica Manalo, Married on 22/04/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Great location, all guests complimented on choice of venue. It made the wedding look beautiful in both Photo's and in Video. Our wedding day was the one day in April where it poured and the clouds/sky was very gloomy/grey. Even when the weather was bad, the venue was beautiful. No words can explain! Plan B was an option I really didn't want to happen, but it turned out great. Especially with the UBC Boathouse Staff, who was onsite and very helpful. I am more than satisfied with the choice of this venue. Until now, guests always rave about what great of a choice it was! :) WEDDING DATE APRIL 22 2016

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • Daina Moore, Married on 26/03/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Our guests were blown away with the beauty of this venue. I appreciated the professional approach and transparency of everything that the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse had to offer. The views were so breathtaking. I cannot put into words how magical it was to walk down the aisle in the UBC Boathouse with the glass windows, modern fireplace and spectacular lighting. The kitchen and change rooms were very user friendly. The kids loved the little playground outside and several of my guests went for a walk on the dyke during the room changeover. Every guest LOVED this venue. The most magical day of my life. Thank you UBC Boathouse staff... you're the best.

    Sent on 30/03/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We got married here and loved this venue. It was perfect. A bonus is that you can get really awesome sunset photos!

    Sent on 14/06/2016
  • Allison Knockaert, Married on 05/03/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at the UBC Boathouse this past weekend and were SOOOOO thrilled with the space, the staff, everything was just perfect. We would absolutely recommend this venue.

    Sent on 07/03/2016
  • Amanda Wang, Married on 21/02/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Good

    Event date: Feb 21, 2016. Beautiful venue. We were able to hold our ceremony and reception in the same space and it only took the staff 10 min to transition the room so we didn't need to worry about guests waiting around. It was the perfect amount of time for a "comfort break" for everyone. Generally got same day responses if I emailed the staff with a question leading up to the event. They provide access to the locker rooms so the wedding party could get changed after set up which was convenient. The rooms also locked so we were able to use it to store gifts. One complaint: they were kind of gross though. I know it's meant for athletes but they could at least sweep up the broken beer bottles before weekend events.

    Sent on 01/03/2016
  • Jessica Neufeldt, Married on 20/02/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    UBC Boathouse was not only a beautiful ceremony and reception venue, but the staff was so accommodating! I sent so many emails filled with questions, and every time they responded quickly, professionally, and with an abundance of knowledge! I would gladly recommend UBC Boathouse to any one and everyone interested in hosting a wedding. The staff during the ceremony and reception was amazing as well! Over all great experience!

    Sent on 02/03/2016
  • Caitlin Beynon, Married on 16/01/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    UBC boathouse was a wonderful choice of venue for our January 16,2016 wedding. They were easy to work with, reliable and always friendly. Any questions asked via email were responded to wishing 24hours. We would highly recommend choosing them for your wedding!

    Sent on 21/02/2016
  • Chloe

    chloe wang, Married on 10/01/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    we had our wedding on January 10th, 2016 and book UBC boathouse. When i first saw the place, i did not hesitate at all to book it. It is beautiful with mountain and river background, big glass windows, balcony and amazing dock for you to have your wedding in the summer. The staff are so great and helpful with my unlimited questions, emails and requests. Our wedding was such a blast, everyone had a great time and love the place. Every process from booking the venue till our actual wedding finishes is smooth.
    Would definitely recommend this place to anyone that's going to get married!

    Sent on 17/02/2016

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info