John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
72 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

72 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 of 5.0

4.7 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
Order by :
  • Rachel

    Rachel Abercrombie, Married on 31/12/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The staff at the UBC Boathouse were amazing. I loved all the help and advice they were willing to give, and how open they were to letting us photograph with a plane on the dock. Unfortunately it did not work out, but we were so excited to be working with the.

    Sent on 15/02/2017
  • Crystal

    Crystal Leung, Married on 18/11/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC Boathouse staff were helpful and provided all the necessary information my husband and I needed in order to successfully plan and organize our wedding reception! Every time we arranged for a meeting Sharon and Karen were accommodating and were the major contributors to helping us finalize our floor plan. We had roughly 110 people at the venue that night who all complimented that the venue was beautiful! The location of UBC Boathouse provided a natural and beautiful backdrop with water views. It also provided an abundance of parking available for all our guests. The Canada Line - Abderdeen station was near by and provided some guests with the option of commuting by public transit. One of the many reasons why we chose this venue was because it provided all the necessary items such as Chairs and Tables as part of the venue rental. This helped us cut down our rental costs significantly! We recommend choosing vendors who have prior experience working with the UBC Boathouse team! This will make the wedding planning process a lot easier and put you at ease for your special day!!

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Ashley

    Ashley Riggs, Married on 06/11/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Not only was the venue absolutely stunning (even in November), the team was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a very specific and unique vision and Karen made sure we had everything we needed ahead of time and ensured that everything was communicated to the day of team. The day went off without a hitch and the day-off coordinator was so wonderful and helpful, he even made sure I never had an empty glass :) Highly, highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • Rozalind

    Rozalind Ewashina, Married on 09/10/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had the best experience with the UBC boathouse!!! They were on top of absolutely everything! They were so quick in their responses back to any questions we had, which was amazing! Their vendor reviews were on point and we had such a great experience with Ritz catering and straight up bar services based on their recommendations! They were so helpful with our seating plan and our plan B in case it rained! I can't recommend them highly enough!

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Liz

    Liz Tham, Married on 16/09/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy we chose the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse for our wedding on September 16, 2016. Not only is the venue and its location on the water beautiful, but everyone on staff that we worked and interacted with were professional and pleasant. Throughout the entire process, from initial walk-through to floorplan layout to the day itself, we knew we were in capable and experienced hands. Our guests were so impressed by this beautiful venue and we are so happy we chose to spend our special day there!

    Sent on 21/10/2016
  • Ainsley Reimer, Married on 09/09/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on September 9, 2016. The UBC Boathouse is a beautiful venue requiring minimal decorations due to the sleek and modern reception hall and the stunning backdrop. The UBC Boathouse staff were wonderful - very quick to respond to questions and to help with vendor selection and day-of coordination.

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Christina Beeching, Married on 31/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on July 31, 2016 and the UBC Boathouse was the perfect venue for our small, intimate Indian wedding. Before even seeing the venue we were challenged on our hold by another couple. Afraid that we would lose such a beautiful space, we went ahead and booked it... and it was the best decision we had made! We had an outdoor Indian ceremony on the dock and an indoor Western reception. The space required very minimal decor due to its surrounding beauty. The staff were so great to work with. They were professional, courteous and very accommodating when working with outside vendors. They helped us answer all of our questions along the planning process. Couldn't imagine a better, more stunning venue than the UBC Boathouse!

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • [Private User]

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    My husband and I both agree that hosting our wedding at UBC boathouse was the best decision we made for our special day. We loved the view of the Fraser River, the natural light, and high ceilings that the boathouse has to offer.
    Of all the aspects of our wedding the venue got the most compliments from guests. We liked that the boathouse is right in Richmond so that out of town guests didn't have to travel much further then the airport. We also liked that the location allowed for us to rent our venue later then most allow, we ended up dancing until 3am.
    My husband and I highly recommend the boathouse if you want a fun, beautiful wedding where guests can feel comfortable.

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Nikki

    Nikki Wright, Married on 24/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on July 24, 2016, & this was our dream venue! We fell in love with the UBC Boathouse before we started venue searching & nothing could compare when we started looking! It's clean & modern with beautiful wood touches. The staff is very helpful & the natural views are breathtaking! We caught a gorgeous sunset on the river, so the natural beauty of this place is worth it alone! It's awesome to have the ceremony & reception at the same location & the simple white chairs & tables are very elegant. Perfect for the simple, elegant, modern wedding. I wish the time block was longer without having to add hours to set up & take down, but just try to allot for more time than you think you need! The staff is really nice & everything went smoothly! Definitely so happy with our decision on our venue to help us have the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Gina Field, Married on 08/07/2016

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC boathouse was our dream venue. Its beautiful inside and out with gorgeous water and large outdoor area with a modern clean interior for receptions. We had our ceremony and reception here on July 8, 2016 and we couldn't be happier! The most important thing is you get to work with the most amazing, helpful staff who responds to emails instantly and honestly plans the entire timeline of your wedding. They are seasoned veterans and really take the lead while considering every single one of your requests. Our wedding day was perfect and the UBC boathouse played a huge part in making that true.

    Sent on 17/10/2016

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info