John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
91 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews for John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

91 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

56 User photos

John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 7
+50
Order by :
  • Rachel

    Rachel Abercrombie , Married on 31/12/2016

    4.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Acceptable
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The staff at the UBC Boathouse were amazing. I loved all the help and advice they were willing to give, and how open they were to letting us photograph with a plane on the dock. Unfortunately it did not work out, but we were so excited to be working with the.

    Sent on 15/02/2017
  • Crystal

    Crystal Leung , Married on 18/11/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC Boathouse staff were helpful and provided all the necessary information my husband and I needed in order to successfully plan and organize our wedding reception! Every time we arranged for a meeting Sharon and Karen were accommodating and were the major contributors to helping us finalize our floor plan. We had roughly 110 people at the venue that night who all complimented that the venue was beautiful! The location of UBC Boathouse provided a natural and beautiful backdrop with water views. It also provided an abundance of parking available for all our guests. The Canada Line - Abderdeen station was near by and provided some guests with the option of commuting by public transit. One of the many reasons why we chose this venue was because it provided all the necessary items such as Chairs and Tables as part of the venue rental. This helped us cut down our rental costs significantly! We recommend choosing vendors who have prior experience working with the UBC Boathouse team! This will make the wedding planning process a lot easier and put you at ease for your special day!!

    The wedding of Crystal Leung and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 8
    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Ashley

    Ashley Riggs , Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Not only was the venue absolutely stunning (even in November), the team was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a very specific and unique vision and Karen made sure we had everything we needed ahead of time and ensured that everything was communicated to the day of team. The day went off without a hitch and the day-off coordinator was so wonderful and helpful, he even made sure I never had an empty glass :) Highly, highly recommend!

    The wedding of Ashley Riggs and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 9
    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • Rozalind

    Rozalind , Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had the best experience with the UBC boathouse!!! They were on top of absolutely everything! They were so quick in their responses back to any questions we had, which was amazing! Their vendor reviews were on point and we had such a great experience with Ritz catering and straight up bar services based on their recommendations! They were so helpful with our seating plan and our plan B in case it rained! I can't recommend them highly enough!

    The wedding of Rozalind and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 10
    The wedding of Rozalind and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 11
    The wedding of Rozalind and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 12
    The wedding of Rozalind and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 13
    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • Liz

    Liz Tham , Married on 16/09/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy we chose the John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse for our wedding on September 16, 2016. Not only is the venue and its location on the water beautiful, but everyone on staff that we worked and interacted with were professional and pleasant. Throughout the entire process, from initial walk-through to floorplan layout to the day itself, we knew we were in capable and experienced hands. Our guests were so impressed by this beautiful venue and we are so happy we chose to spend our special day there!

    Sent on 21/10/2016
  • Nikki

    Nikki Wright , Married on 24/07/2016

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on July 24, 2016, & this was our dream venue! We fell in love with the UBC Boathouse before we started venue searching & nothing could compare when we started looking! It's clean & modern with beautiful wood touches. The staff is very helpful & the natural views are breathtaking! We caught a gorgeous sunset on the river, so the natural beauty of this place is worth it alone! It's awesome to have the ceremony & reception at the same location & the simple white chairs & tables are very elegant. Perfect for the simple, elegant, modern wedding. I wish the time block was longer without having to add hours to set up & take down, but just try to allot for more time than you think you need! The staff is really nice & everything went smoothly! Definitely so happy with our decision on our venue to help us have the best day of our lives!

    The wedding of Nikki Wright and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 14
    The wedding of Nikki Wright and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 15
    Sent on 17/10/2016
  • Amanda

    Amanda Michaels , Married on 17/06/2016

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding at the UBC boathouse in June and I have zero regrets about choosing this venue! The pictures don't even do this place justice! The floor to ceiling windows made for a stunning backdrop to our wedding party table, especially during sunset!
    The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful, some serious veterans. Of all the people I spoke with during the crazy wedding planning process, they were absolutely the most helpful,professional, accommodating and understanding!
    The venue has hookups for everything, including music hookups outside so you can play your setting or set up your DJ if you want to have a cocktail hour outside.
    A huge bonus for us was that allow you to bring your own alcohol, which ended up saving us a lot of cash.
    I Highly recommend this venue for your wedding!

    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 16
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 17
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 18
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 19
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 20
    The wedding of Amanda Michaels and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 21
    Sent on 19/10/2016
  • Christy Mahlberg , Married on 20/10/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Beautiful venue!

    The UBC Boathouse was an absolutely stunning venue - what a find! The location is beautiful - right by the water, with the mountains in the background. Our guests loved it! The staff was exceptional in the months leading up to our wedding - the most responsive of all of our vendors, answering our questions so quickly and going out of their way to be helpful. We were also very impressed with the day-of venue coordinator who was so professional and so helpful, and went above and beyond. This venue is overall a great value for the money (and additionally, we were married on a Sunday which helped our budget a bit). Because the building and surrounding area are so picturesque, our decor needs were minimal. We would recommend this venue without hesitation to anyone!

    Sent on 29/06/2018
  • Lexi Tattrie , Married on 21/07/2018

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    UBC Boathouse team surpassed all expectations! Couldn't have planned my wedding without all their support.

    The UBC Boathouse team completely surpassed all expectations. I am very hands-on and organised and Karen + the team were extremely responsive, detailed-oriented and really just had an answer for any of my concerns or worries. It was pretty clear from early on in the wedding planning process that these ladies knew exactly how to run an event with ease and professionalism. Thank you ladies so much for your continued support this year and all that you did to make mine and Marc's day top-notch!

    The wedding of Lexi Tattrie and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 22
    Sent on 29/08/2018
  • Teresa L , Married on 26/05/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    Dream venue

    The venue was everything we wanted. The backdrop is stunning and the location is convenient. The staff was responsive and open to our ideas. We loved the flexibility of the space from the outdoor ceremony on the dock to indoor airy space for our reception to the patio bar. We could not have asked for more.

    Sent on 25/08/2018

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.