John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
91 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews for John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Response time 4.9

Awards

91

56 User photos

John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 1
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 2
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 3
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 4
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 5
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 6
John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 7
+50
Order by :
  • Sarah

    Sarah Prigge , Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mountain Views & Gorgeous Venue

    Wow! The UBC Boathouse is a stunning venue with a staff that makes wedding venue planning easy. Their website is intuitive with almost all the info you would need and the staff are ready to help with any question or concern. I planned my own wedding -so this is a BIG deal.

    My now husband and I are very chill and did not want to have to think much about the details of the day. Katie helped us to plan it out in about a half hour and let us dream. She is easy to talk to and fun to be around.

    Everything around finances was smooth and simple with the Boathouse. They are very professional and honest with costs. The UBC Boathouse provides many resources that are very helpful for the day such as sound equipment, tables, chairs, table clothes [extra minimal fee], patio furniture, coat racks, partners to the UBC Boathouse to help plan vendors, and views of the mountains you can’t get anywhere else. Compared to other venues this has the best value.

    The venue itself has its own character, minimal decor is needed to make it look wonderful. We basically only added florals and lights to make it look how we desired it to.

    I’m a huge fan of the UBC Boathouse, I will continue to recommend it to everyone I tell about my wedding.

    We had our wedding on the dock in March! Turned out to be a stunning sunny day, everything ran so smooth. The day of the wedding there was a spectacular sunset and the photos we took were whimsy.

    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 8
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 9
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 10
    The wedding of Sarah Prigge and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 11
    Sent on 23/04/2018
  • Jessica Van Der Kuur , Married on 09/03/2018

    3.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Best Experience

    My fiance and I have had nothing but good experience working with the UBC boathouse. We went to the boathouse twice to check it out, take pictures, talk about decorations, etc. and both times were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We met again 30 days prior to the wedding and they created a digital floor plan of exactly what we envisioned for our wedding reception. They were glad to accept any changes prior to the wedding or the day of. The night of our wedding went without a hitch, there were no problems, and if there were, I never knew as the UBC boathouse desired a point person other than myself to talk to throughout the night. The facilities are beautiful and easy to use. We appreciated having all the tables and chairs set up as well as the linens, as we ordered them from the UBC boathouse as well. I would highly recommend the UBC boathouse as a destination for any wedding or reception, any time of the year.

    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 12
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 13
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 14
    The wedding of Jessica Van Der Kuur and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 15
    Sent on 19/04/2018
  • Rachael Sproston , Married on 31/12/2017

    5.0 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    New Years Eve Wedding

    The Boathouse wasn’t on our radar until I stumbled across a photographers blog; talking about their favourite venues to shoot.
    Originally drawn in by the location; we highly recommend because whole experience was amazing. We felt so taken care of by the staff who were all warm, welcoming and organized.

    Sent on 22/04/2018
  • Kelsey Vass , Married on 30/12/2017

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning Venue with Dedicated Staff

    The UBC Boathouse is an absolutely stunning venue. We want to thank all the staff at the UBC Boathouse for making our special day run smoothly. We had the most beautiful reception all in part to them sharing our vision, their meticulous attention to detail, and professional communication. Right from the time of booking to the end of the day, the staff made sure that everything was taken care of. It was a great pleasure working with a group of people that are dedicated to their craft.

    The wedding of Kelsey Vass and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 16
    The wedding of Kelsey Vass and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 17
    Sent on 21/04/2018
  • Maria

    Maria Trinidad , Married on 14/10/2017

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was one of our best decision for a wedding. The venue is beautiful with a good Westcoast vibe. Karen was very responsive and helpful. I advice to get married on a Sunday or weekday to get the cheaper rate.

    Sent on 24/11/2017
  • Christine

    Christine Ann Dunkinson , Married on 13/10/2017

    4.6 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is amazing! Karen was awesome in helping plan out the reception and cermony floor plans! We had an October wedding and couldn’t have asked for better weather however knowing that the staff at the boathouse were ready for rain to make our day run as smoothly as possible eased our minds completely! thank you for helping us make it a night to remember!

    The wedding of Christine Ann Dunkinson and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 18
    The wedding of Christine Ann Dunkinson and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 19
    Sent on 27/11/2017
  • Shaleen Tong , Married on 08/10/2017

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough about how wonderful our experience at the UBC Boathouse was. We hosted a 100 person reception in October, and could not be happier! Karen and the other members of the staff we spoke to were extremely helpful, in person and over the phone whenever we had questions. I loved that the planner from the Boathouse met us with our other vendors and worked together in order to have a seamless event. Along with the staff, the venue itself is amazing, with clean lines, open space, bright and airy during daylight, romantic during the evening and dazzling at sunset!

    Sent on 24/11/2017
  • Justin Tong , Married on 08/10/2017

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The UBC Boathouse was the perfect venue for our 100 person wedding reception, the staff were prompt in responding to our questions, and very accommodating to meet our needs. The space is open and bright, and with the large windows and beautiful views that allowed us to be as minimal or extravagant with our decor as we chose.  Great choice of a venue. Staff also work well very well with other wedding vendors to bring together an event. 

    Sent on 27/11/2017
  • Tara-Lynn O'reilly and Sovannara Sin , Married on 07/10/2017

    4.8 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was absolutely perfect! We could not have asked for a more beautiful space. The outdoor ceremony over looked mountains and the water, and the indoor space was transformed into a rustic and romantic space creating an ambiance that was unforgettable. With the help of the staff and their suggestions, the day was wonderful!

    Sent on 25/11/2017
  • Rachel

    Rachel Aberle , Married on 28/08/2017

    4.4 View more
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Neither of us are big decorators, so our rule was that our venue needed to be beautiful without much dressing up. The Boathouse fit that bill to a tea. It's a gorgeous location with a great staff - and your rental includes tables and chairs that they set up prior to your rental time. We also used their linen rental, which was affordable and was also set up outside our rental time. It's not the cheapest place, but we got married on a Monday which made it much more affordable, and when we factored in the included equipment rentals, it was a no-brainer.

    The wedding of Rachel Aberle  and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 20
    The wedding of Rachel Aberle  and John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse 21
    Sent on 18/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Congratulations to you both on your wedding! Rachel, thank you so much for submitting your review of the UBC Boathouse. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your day and your photos are beautiful!

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.