John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse
7277 River Road V6X 1X5 Richmond (British Columbia) View map
77 reviews

Number of guests 1 to 180

Reviews from John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse

77 reviews
WeddingWire Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

4.7 of 5.0

4.7 / 5

  • Quality of service

    4.9

    Value

    4.5
  • Professionalism

    4.9

    Responsiveness

    4.9
  • Flexibility

    4.5
Order by :
  • Eri Nomoto, Married on 09/07/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Good
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We decided to pick the UBC boathouse for our wedding venue and that was the best choice. The venue was beautiful, outstanding, bright, and spacious for about 110 guests. Karen has been very helpful, flexible, informative and friendly since the we checked the venue at very first time. They have a list of recommended catering companies and we picked the Emelle's Caterting, which often serve at the UBC boathouse so their collaboration and teamwork were excellent. We were very lucky because Karen allowed us to bring some of the decoration and drinks one day before the wedding which gives us more time to prepare and take pre-wedding pictures on the wedding day. ( It was based on the booking availability ) We have received great feedback from our guests from elderly to family with young children. The venue is accessible for elderly and not boring for kids because of the views of birds and airplanes coming and going. Overall we are very happy that we got married there on Sunday, July 9th. I would say Saturdays are a bit expensive but Fridays and Sundays are affordable.

    Sent on 23/09/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Eri, thank you so much for leaving a review, we love seeing your wedding photos too! We are overjoyed that you loved your wedding day and the vendors that you chose, including Emelle's Catering! It was such a pleasure to work with you both and I am glad that we were able to accommodate the early drop off of your decor for you! Best wishes to you both.

  • Brogan Hartley, Married on 01/07/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We LOVE the John M S Lecky UBC Boathouse!!! All of our guests couldn't say enough about the space and location, not to mention the VIEWS! It was everything I could ever have imagined for our special day, and then some. Dealing with the staff there was fantastic and I always received prompt response! Thank you to the amazing team for helping us create our special day.

    Sent on 21/07/2017

    John M.S. Lecky UBC Boathouse's reply:

    Thank you for leaving the venue a review Brogan! It was so much fun working with you both and fitting in planning appointments when you were in town. We are so glad that your guests were happy with your venue choice and that you all have stunning memories looking back on this special day. We are in love with your photos by Matt Kennedy photo, especially the Oh Canada sparkler photo on the dock!

  • Juliana Ramza, Married on 23/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The UBC Boathouse is a great venue. We loved how we could get married outside on the dock and then have the reception inside. The reception space is so pretty with floor to ceiling windows with an incredible view. On a warm summer day is does get a bit warm inside but luckily some windows can be open and make sure the dance floor is by the patio to get some air in too. The staff are very helpful at the boathouse, they know the venue inside and out and were really fantastic in making sure our wedding day went on without a hitch. What's also great about the venue is that you bring your own alcohol and catering so you can afford to have an open bar and bring in some amazing caterers. One cautionary note though that the seagulls love the dock at the UBC Boathouse. We had a huge swarm at one point at the ceremony and some ppl did get hit. In the end, we look back and laugh. Definitely memorable!

    Sent on 20/07/2017
  • Tori, Married on 17/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Good
    • Value:
      Acceptable
    • Flexibility:
      Regular
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I really enjoyed working with the staff at the UBC boathouse and found them to be very helpful. I would definitely recommend the location as it is really beautiful on a summer day. The only downside is they are surprisingly not flexible and you pay for every additional minute you are in the space, which can really add a lot to a budget.

    Sent on 20/07/2017
  • Gregory Chang, Married on 10/06/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We are so happy that we held our wedding reception at the UBC Boathouse! It was a beautiful space that really didn't need much additional decor, and showed off the natural beauty around the venue. It was a great size for our 130 guests, with space for a well-sized dance floor! The team was great - professional, informative, responsive, and so friendly! They allowed us to come in a couple times before the event for measurements, laptop testing, etc., which really helped our planning. Would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 25/07/2017
  • Jamie Y, Married on 28/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The team at the UBC Boathouse was wonderful in helping making our wedding day that much more special. The venue itself is beautiful, open, bright, well taken care of with amazing views. It was clear from the tour that the venue was the perfect fit for us as a couple and the entire experience was a pleasant one. There was consistent communication from both parties that led to all the details being worked out and a smooth day. They were able to recommend and suggest things that we didn't think to optimize our plans. The venue lends itself to many great photo opportunities. The location is nice and private, away from the noises of the city to increase the privacy and intimacy of the big day.

    Sent on 12/06/2017
  • Erika Swinton, Married on 27/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    The location and venue is stunning (water, trees, mountains in the background). We lucked out with incredible weather for our outdoor ceremony, but the "rain backup" options are just as beautiful. We were also happy they provided all the ceremony and reception table, chair, and linen. The lack of stove, dishes, etc (requiring outside rentals) added a fair amount of cost, but for me the beauty of the venue made up for this. The meetings in advance with their coordinator were really helpful and gave me peace of mind that the aspects the venue was handling were well organized. They also have late hours for noise which was great for partying. Our wedding went day perfectly without any problems, partly thanks to this venue :)

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • Hayley Leonovas, Married on 21/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    I highly recommend UBC Boathouse. The staff are all friendly, well-informed, organized, and professional. From inquiring about the venue all the way to after the wedding, working with the Boathouse was smooth and efficient and the least of my worries while organizing my wedding and reception there. The venue is also beautiful and makes for really great photos. The view, even on a rainy day is wonderful and it's the type of venue where you really don't need a lot of decorations because the view speaks for itself.

    Sent on 09/06/2017
  • Sarah Elizabeth, Married on 12/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Good
    • Flexibility:
      Good
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We had our wedding on May 12,2017 at the UBC boathouse and we chose the perfect venue! The boathouse is stunning -- the massive floor to ceiling windows and the sunset views are spectacular. The staff was extremely helpful leading up to the wedding and for the day of. We had a wedding of 80 people and the venue was intimate but spacious! What an awesome experience! I would highly recommend considering this venue!
    .... and to top it off our wedding photos turned out STUNNING with this backdrop.

    Sent on 08/06/2017
  • Jessica Piers, Married on 06/05/2017

    • Quality of service:
      Excellent
    • Responsiveness:
      Excellent
    • Value:
      Excellent
    • Flexibility:
      Excellent
    • Professionalism:
      Excellent

    We highly recommend this venue! The staff were extremely responsive and helpful with any questions we had, the location and view cannot be beat, and the facility is beautiful. Our entire experience was positive and professional.

    Sent on 08/06/2017

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Send an inquiry through WeddingWire and for each visit or contract with a vendor, you'll have more chances to win. Good luck! + info