The Royal Ambassador

92 reviews | Caledon (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Royal Ambassador

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.1
  • Response time 4.0

Awards

92
Order by:
  • T

    Terri P. · Married on 01/10/2011

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Hello,

    any of you planning your weddings, best wishes however, BEWARE the Royal Ambassador as your venue, particularly if you are thinking about the tent wedding!!! My son and beautiful daughter (in law) had their wedding their this past weekend, Oct 1st.

    The grounds at this venue are absolutely breathtaking but nothing else about the Royal Ambassador is Royal. Once you've signed the contract you I can assure you be prepared to have no help/assistance of any kind from the staff - the administration staff who will be taking your $ and definitely not the set up staff including the management. They will not disclose the details that a new bridge and groom should be prepared for before one of the most special days of their life together. Let me explain below:

    1. Management does not pay attention to details. The tent will not be prepared ahead of time as required (setting up tables/washing floors/preparing the bar). They seem to focus on the events going on in the main hall, example, if the bride is planning to have a bridal suite get it into the contract. Two days before the wedding my daughter in las was told there were two other weddings taking place in the main hall that same day and therefore she would not be getting a bridal suite. Remember folks, the safes for safekeeping of monetary gifts are kept in the bridal suite. Basically, because she was having a tent wedding she was not given the courtesy of the bridal suite (yea, bull).

    The day before the wedding I went to RA to discuss a few things in hopes to clarify any misunderstandings. When I got there after finding out the tables had not been set up (for the bridal party to decorate as required) I went to the main hall to speak with the Admin/Sales person, Stella. I was told unless I had an appointment she was not available (get real!!). I then asked if I couldn'to speak to Stella I would need to speak with someone else in management. So I end up getting Daisy, who for some reason, as soon as she came out to see me was already defensive (hmm, never met this person before so that should have been a clue of service my son and his fiance must have had to deal with). Explained to her we were there as scheduled to decorate the tent...which was not ready, nor was it even clean and this is now after 1:00 in the afternoon. She said she was the owner etc and would get someone over there when she could. Translation - she'd get someone there when they were finished with the main halls.

    2. Day of wedding - bar not set up. Son paid for deluxe bar. Every type of drink was poured into water glasses (and not even nice ones). Translation again - don't expect martinis or grandmarniers to be served in the appropriate glasses unless you're prepared to bring your own. Bartender said he ran out and would get more - how could he have run out when this occurred at the very beginning of the event - really?? He clearly did not have any nor was he prepared to get any.

    3. Food was just o.k. Warm food served on cold plates. Servers were not coordinated - you'll get your meat and then be waiting at least 10-15 minutes before you see you vegetables on that same plate. Make sure you eat quickly because they will be snatching that plate away while your still putting the fork to your mouth ( I am not kidding and you'd think the parents table would be treated a little nicer huh?:) Also, they squeezed 10 people to a table, because in reality, there really isn't enough room for enough tables to adequately seat 200 guests. Really, than why was my son told he had to have a minimum of 150 guests in order to have the tent and then find out afterwards they would be squeezing 10 to a table?

    4. The servers are not in the least bit interested in being courteous or really giving a crap overall. However, the male server was somewhat nicer than the female staff.

    5. They really do not know how to set up tables and especially the receiving table if you are doing the receiving line thing. The receiving table is set up in such a way that soon as you walk in the door it's there - which means everyone else behind you is standing outside. Not a good thing if it's freezing cold and windy as it unfortunately was on Oct 1st.

    6. The desert table (chocolate fountain and very expensive wedding cake)was set up at the back of the tent by the bar (where it was very dark) and the guests didn't know it was there until the time the servers started taking things away. Translation - they did not mention to anyone that it was out and ready for the guest to enjoy.

    7. Unfortunately it was a freezing cold day and windy day, although sunny *thank God* and we had to bring in what ever heaters we could get our hands on, which was not very many. RA does not provide any but my son was told they can provide them as long as they were ordered up to the day before. Not true - day before wedding we were told, too bad, you should have ordererd them last week. Seriously, if you are in the tent too bad....if it's cold your guests will freeze.....bottom line. Note: The servers were standing under our heaters instead of doing there job while our guests were left aside to freeze.

    So, in a nutshell, please know that if you are paying the 20K or 30K of your hard earned money for this beautiful day, I'd seriously rethink it. You may have heard that it was a nice place to hold a wedding but the key word here is "was".

    Apparently there have been staffing and severe management problems at this place for the last year and a half. I think it has something to do with exploiting staff who, when I was there the day before the wedding were not being spoken to very nicely by Daisy (SHE DID APPEAR SCARY) and I am one whom is not easily scared.

    Unfortunately, my son and daughter in laws wedding day cannot be recreated and their hard earned $ was given to a facility which really does not seem to pride or care about making their clients feel special on the "big day". The reason I am putting this post up is because I am hoping other couples (and their parents) will not have to endure this nonsense (at a high price).

    Royal Ambassador may have once been a "high end" venue to host weddings and special events but after my recent experience, I can confidently say this place is anything but high end. Rent the closest legion hall, get a great caterer and save yourselves the anxiety. O.k you don't have to rent the legion hall (I've never been in one myself but it can't be any worse than the crap at RA). Also, we had lamb and prime rib as the meat choices....Warning....lamb was just o.k. but prime rib was very very "fatty".

    All and all my son and dauther in law had a very special day due to the very understanding friends and family that attending the wedding but it still does not erase the embarrasement caused by the management and staff at RA.

    Good luck to all and wishing you a wonderful day at a venue that will treat you and your family with respect as you so well deserve.

    I would be happy to provide more details if you wish to contact me - provide your email address and I will reply.

    Sent on 03/10/2011
  • R

    Rocky B. · Married on 24/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST VENUE I HAVE EVER BEEN TO. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE WHO WISHES TO HAVE THEIR DREAM WEDDING DAY!

    Sent on 15/12/2011
  • A

    Andrea B. · Married on 06/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We celebrated our wedding at the Royal Ambassador in August. I had been there for multiple past weddings and events and had a great time every time. All past events I have been to at the Royal were all in the main hall, but when I saw the amazing view from the tent I booked it right there and then.

    Luckily the day of our wedding was beautiful... a little hot, but beautiful. We set up the head table on the side of the tent that faces the lake and opened all the walls. I received so many compliments on how beautiful and picture perfect the background scenery of our head table was.

    The service was amazing! Every time I asked for something it was brought to me before I could even finish my request.

    Dinner was served very quickly. It seemed that everyone received their food at the same time, which was amazing considering we had 200 guests. Many compliments were also given on the food, which was great to hear (since banquet style food is always a bit iffy).

    It was an amazing experience and I would not change one thing!

    I thank Stella for ALL of her help! If it wasn't for Stella's everyday experience in weddings and events I may have forgotten some very key items! Stella made our wedding day completely stress free! She advised me during our first appointment that the staff would take care of everything and for me not to worry or stress. Thankfully I took her advice and she was RIGHT! The staff took care of everything!! If anything went wrong I had no idea about it. I spent my entire night dancing and having a great time with my family, friends and new husband!!

    Thank you Royal Ambassador and Stella for ALL of your help and making our wedding day the best experience ever!!

    Sent on 03/01/2012
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very lucky in that we had our wedding on a public holiday Monday, and so we had the whole venue to ourselves, that included both gazebos, the lakeside gazebo for our ceremony and terrace gazebo for our cocktail reception, plus the full ballroom for our dinner and reception, and the conservatory for children's playroom! The reception hall was beautiful, other than center pieces and some staging, we used the halls chairs and linens, the service was impeccable, and the only thing that went remiss was that some of the veggie appies ran in short supply, but as the catering was for a mix of English and Indian food, this might have been a reflection on the indian caterers sub-contracted by the hall vs the reception hall itself, who tried to make alternate veggie options when the issue was discovered. All in all, experience was great, and everyone who attended fell in love with the location!

    Sent on 11/03/2013
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 25/06/2011

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    the royal ambassador
    not a good place to have your events, everything goes wrong from the menu to their services. The royal ambassador is a rip off, what you paid for you never get, the company excuses we ran out of salad and dessert, the food is cold... truly I will not recommend this place at all. I complain and complain but no one never get back to me I have my event on June 25, 2011. Never again and will not recommend any one to have their event there.

    Sent on 21/07/2011
  • J

    Jessica H. · Married on 04/06/2011

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    After our disappointing wedding day on June 4th, my husband and I wrote an e-mail to Royal Ambassador listing our complaints. We have yet to receive ANY response from them after two months. We feel we have given them ample time to respond. It is disgraceful that we have not had so much as a phone call let alone an apology. Our letter follows after which I have also included the list of complaints my mother sent. She has also yet to receive a response.

    Our Compaints:

    We had chosen Royal Ambassador over many other possible venues because we really liked the view, the landscaping and the interior of the hall itself. Stella was always very helpful in suggesting possible menu items and making suggestions in terms of the order in which things are usually done. We had expected a greater attention to detail and more attentive service especially from Marco who was looking after our event that day and in general from the staff of royal ambassador and the venue as a whole then what we received. As royal Ambassador was the most expensive venue we looked at we felt it was clearly the best choice and were willing to go to the top of and even exceed our budget to get the high level of service we had expected but did not receive. During the wedding we had some issues as described below but we would like to say that both Stella and Mary were always very helpful and attentive.

    The following list describes the issues from our wedding day during the ceremony and reception on June 4th, 2011.

    - Kyle was never introduced to Marco. Jessica was introduced but neither Kyle nor Jessica saw him again for the rest of the night should we have needed anything. This made us feel as though the other weddings took precedence over ours.
    - Before the ceremony began, when Kyle was meeting with our Reverend to go over the paper work at 2:30pm he had several staff come to him saying to that he had to be down for the ceremony immediately and that he was late despite the ceremony not beginning until 3pm. Even the reverend was getting irritated and could not understand why they would be rushing us since royal ambassador had arranged the ceremony times. As Jessica was on the terrace getting ready to walk down the aisle she saw several family members that had not yet been able to get to there seats at the gazebo because the ceremony started approximately 5-7 minutes early and they then had to watch from the terrace away from the rest of our family and friends.
    - During our ceremony the DJ who was in the tent was testing the sound system. We could clearly hear the music coming from the tent. All of the guests noticed this interruption and some of the elderly guests had trouble hearing our service as a result. It did not stop until one of our guests went over and asked them to stop since Royal Ambassador did nothing.
    - Royal Ambassador had setup one linen and three sand ceremony vases on a table under the gazebo with instructions provided by us. After the ceremony, these items were not moved and two of the three vases were smashed spilling sand everywhere and the linen from this table went missing. Since royal ambassador placed these items in the gazebo it should have been there responsibility to remove them or tell us that we had to get a guest to move them. The sand ceremony vase was the most important item of our whole wedding day that we had planned to keep forever on display in our home. Also, since royal ambassador is well aware that they had another wedding starting at 4pm would it not make sense to have at least one staff person go to the gazebo to ensure that all previous items are removed and any new items for the next ceremony are setup as they should be?
    - While we were off taking pictures, our guests were supposed to be on the terrace enjoying cocktails. However, they were all asked to go inside the hall because of the other ceremony beginning at 4. In all of our plans we were never told that the guests were going to be asked to go inside. Stella assured as that they could stay on the terrace during the following ceremony. We wanted as few people as necessary to be inside the hall before the dinner reception. They should have only been going inside to get a drink from the bar. There should have also been 4 chairs and two patio umbrellas (which we purchased) set up together on the terrace for our string quartet. The string quartet was fully aware of the 4pm ceremony and was to cease playing during this time which they would have done had they not been made to play inside the hall.
    - We were happy that the dinner service was able to be moved up as our photos did not take as long as planned. However, there were some issues. Before the ceremony, when Kyle had arrived he spoke with Stella who was reviewing all of our table place cards that were made by us with clear colours indicating guests’ meal’s and special menus. Stella said that everything was correct and legible. However, Table 13 was never served their entrées. The servers began clearing and they still had not been given their meals. They had to ask twice to receive their meals. Once they did get their food, one person who had ordered fish was given chicken and told they were out of fish.
    - Several people with dietary restrictions were given the regular meal and had to wait for the server to come back to get the right meal. In some cases, servers were going from table to table asking who had ordered a special menu not knowing where these meals were to go. One person received fish (they had ordered veal) and when he asked the server, she remarked, “what does purple mean?” referring to our colour coded system. We had given Stella clear instructions for each special menu or allergy meal as well as our meal/colour codes. One person with a severe seafood allergy received the seafood antipasto plate instead of the regular antipasto plate. She is also 8 months pregnant with her first child. Had she not realized there was seafood on her plate, there could have been very serious consequences as a result of your staff’s lack of concern or care for the job that they do.

    We were constantly reminded that it is our wedding day, that we should enjoy it and that everything will be taken care of, obviously we needed to be much more diligent. We did not spend 16 months planning this one day to have it play out not as planned. We had no other problems with any of our vendors what so ever. In hindsight, I think it would have been beneficial to meet with Marco (or whoever would be looking after us that day) before the wedding day to go over every detail so that we know that everyone is on the same page and aware of every detail. We hope that Royal Ambassador is able to learn from this and make improvements in it’s service for all of the future brides and grooms that you may have.

    Kyle and I will only ever have this one wedding day, we wish that we could look back on it with great memories rather then memories of things gone wrong.
    _____________________________________
    My mother's list of complaints:

    DJ's from a tent (I believe) on your property were playing very loud music during my daughter's wedding ceremony. It took one of the guests some time to get across the grass and over to the tent to ask them to stop playing the music. This ate into, easily, half of the service.
    After pictures were taken, and I returned to the hall, I asked to speak to the manager, Marco. I relayed what had happened and he said the hall was not responsible as the DJ's did not belong to your venue. I explained to him that it, in fact, was his job to see to it that things ran smoothly and events like loud music playing during a wedding ceremony were unacceptable. He shrugged and replied that some people are rude. When I said that a wedding is something that happens once in a person's life, he had no response for me.
    I'd like to follow this by saying that, at the end of the evening, we discovered that the DJ's who were playing the music do, in fact, work for you. They apologized for playing the music. They said they were helping the DJ's who were with the other wedding party and they weren't aware of my daughter's wedding. This was nice of them; however, it is still unacceptable. They should have been informed by your manager with a time line of events when and when not to play music so as not to disrupt other celebrations at your venue. This yet again goes back to the poor management that we were beholden to throughout the evening.
    Several guests received either the wrong food or no food at all. Two guests, a friend, and a family member, have seafood allergies. One received the antipasto with the shrimp (she indicated on her response card that she had a seafood allergy); the other, was given the halibut for her main course when she didn't order the halibut (because of her seafood allergy). Luckily, another guest at the table agreed to switch meals with her as your staff was completely unaccommodating.
    My daughter, who is a vegan, and requested the vegan meal, received the regular meal.
    Several people received food extremely late - so much so, that half of some tables were finished eating while the others were just receiving their food.
    A table of close friends and family members did not receive their main courses. The staff, after bringing salad, proceeded to take away their dishes and the salt and pepper. When the group said that they had not received their meals, the staff seemed confused and it took a long time for the food to arrive. When it did arrive, half got their meals, while half continued to wait. When they finally got their main courses, it was simply the meat portion - no vegetables or roasted potatoes. One person got veal when she ordered the halibut. The staff then told her that they had run out of the halibut. This same table was also not given the mango sorbet for dessert. They were told that there was no more mango sorbet. So, they received another dessert. How, do I ask you, is it possible to run out of dessert? The management had to know the number of people who were attending the event. Where was the preparedness? Where was the planning?
    The Sweet Table was set up just before 11:00 p.m. and packed up promptly by 11:30 p.m. Many people had not gone out yet to get dessert and were disappointed. I assumed, incorrectly, that the dessert was all eaten. My daughter informed me the next day that the staff packed up several uneaten cakes to give to her. While this is all well and good, she and her husband are not going to eat five full cakes. What was the hurry? Clearly, several staff members were not feeling the need to rush during the main course service.
    Many staff members seemed highly confused, and some unable to speak English. When we asked for Mary, on a couple of occasions, there were staff who asked who Mary was. Was it their first shift?
    Ultimately, all of the above issues, in my opinion, fall directly under the jurisdiction of management. For us, that was Marco. He was wholly unacceptable in his job and a complete and utter non-presence in the facility. It was a highly disappointing evening. I've done my best to shelter my daughter from hearing about all of the disappointed guests and will continue to do so as I don't want her to feel that people didn't have a good time. Additionally, I must mention that these were only the guests who happened to mention that they had issues.

    Given the number of issues, errors, and mistakes, I would venture a guess, that there were many more, and people were too polite to say anything. One guest said he would be go without food, which was just appalling to me, but he did not want to upset me or Jessica's father. Organization and communication with staff and clients are key to quality Customer Service. I know I don't have to tell you that. However, you may want to tell Marco that, because, clearly, he has no understanding of the basics of management. To put someone in charge of a large scale event such as a wedding who is completely inept and unaccepting of his lack of responsibility, to me, is a fireable offence. I am gravely upset and angry and I will tell all of the guests, if need be, to never hold a function at your venue. Although the grounds are spectacular, the service was probably the worst I have ever had and I have had some bad service over the years.
    _________________________________

    To all future brides, I recommend doing a lot of research before you sign your life away to a hall. They make up the largest contributor to your wedding and hence they can very quickly ruin it for you and your groom.

    Sent on 18/07/2011
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Venue. Super food. Amazing staff. My daughter got married there and people are still raving what a great wedding it was.......

    Sent on 14/02/2015
  • S

    Sandra C. · Married on 23/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Royal Ambassador is an amazing venue to have your ceremony and reception - if you are lucky enough to book it - they are in demand. We had a beautiful outdoor ceremony in late october followed by an amazing reception. We had a large wedding and the food, service, atmosphere was unbeilievable! if we had to do it all over again - we wouldn't change a thing!

    Sent on 28/12/2011
  • K

    Kristan C. · Married on 10/10/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Royal Ambassador. Our ceremony was amazing and the staff was very well organized with ensuring that there was an appropriate amount of time between our ceremony and other ceremonies. Stella and Angie were very helpful with any concerns that we had prior to the wedding. Stella set up many dates that we could come see other weddings of similar sizes during the set up and Angie was available and helpful during our planning process. Both were flexible when we wanted to add the midnight BBQ station on the terrace (which was a real hit), and arrange our first dance in the gazebo (at no added cost).

    We had the main hall for our reception, and so after our ceremony, our antipasto bar was set up on the terrace for our guests to enjoy. We had the opportunity to take our pictures right there on site while our guests were enjoying the terrace.

    The food was served hot and delicious, our servers helpful, and the entire night was great. I do not have any complaints regarding this venue. I have attended weddings there since, and have had a great experience each time. I was fortunate that my wedding date was not on a peak date and so I was able to negotiate a reasonable price. I recommend that anybody who falls in love with this venue but not the prices considers off season dates.

    The Royal Ambassador set the stage for a fabulous wedding that people are still complimenting me on over a year later!

    Sent on 02/01/2012
  • T

    Renee L. · Married on 02/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I were planning our wedding, we we're looking for the following things in our ceremony and reception venue:
    1) A place where we could have both our wedding ceremony and reception in one place (no 4-5 hour wait in between)
    2) Something out of the city that was still easily accessible and had ample parking for guests
    3) Something that was scenic, elegant, and classy - where we could take our pictures as well.
    4) A place where we felt we would be very well taken care of both during the wedding planning and they day of our event. This was especially important since both my husband and I were both no longer living in Toronto at the time and were planning the entire wedding remotely.
    5) Did I mention I'm a Taurus (aka stubborn perfectionist) and can be pretty particular.

    We pretty much knew what we were looking for from the start, so we considered 3-4 places based on our criteria, however as soon as we went to visit The Royal Ambassador we knew this was the perfect place. Here's why:
    1) We were able to have our ceremony outside in the gazebo, and the reception in the East Ballroom. We had about 150 guests. Everything in one place!
    2) It was easy to get to, not far from Pearson Airport (half our guests were from out of city or town), good selection of hotels near airport, Brampton, Mississauga, and there was plenty of parking that guests didn't have to pay for!
    3) The grounds were absolutely gorgeous (gazebo, waterfall, lake, and beautiful trees that were changing colors in the fall when we got married), and the hall was classy and elegant with high ceilings, chandeliers, floor to ceiling windows, and a lovely terrace.
    4) While we fell in love with the place, it was the staff (Stella and Angie to be specific) that really made the whole experience very enjoyable. From start to finish Stella and Angie were very personable, helpful, attentive, detail oriented, and organized. I really appreciated their help and insights during the planning process which made our wedding day so great. One thing my husband and I found extremely helpful was they provided a list of vendors covering everything from photographer to DJ to cakes to decorator. This saved us a lot of time searching for potential vendors (as my husband and I were not located in Toronto), and I can honestly say everyone we worked with was professional, courteous, and did a great job. There weren't any no shows, surprises or disappointments.

    Feedback from our guests during and after the wedding:
    1) Many commented how lovely the place was, and several of them also said had they known about The Royal Ambassador when they were getting married they would have done it there.
    2) The staff the day of the event were courteous and professional and made sure our guests weren't out of food or beverages (we did have open bar but for dinner had wine, water on the tables). Our guests all said the food was very good and there was plenty of it. In fact one guest thought the antipasto bar we had chosen for the reception after the ceremony was the dinner!
    3) Our wedding party and many guests commented how well run and well organized the wedding was. The event ran on time and to schedule (not kidding) and food was served in a timely manner. My husband and I had heard many horror stories from friends, family and just even reading on the internet of ministers not showing up, waiting for hours for dinner to be served, flowers not showing up, etc. We did not have one single problem.

    I can honestly tell you that having our wedding at The Royal Ambassador was the best decision my husband and I made. It was a truly pleasurable experience, and we had a really fantastic day.

    Sent on 26/01/2012
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.