The Royal Ambassador

91 reviews | Caledon (Ontario)
See Photos, Pricing and Details

Reviews for The Royal Ambassador

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.0
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.1
  • Response time 4.1

Awards

91
Order by:
  • A

    Ashley Mitchell · Married on 27/09/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Royal Ambassador was a gorgeous venue and we loved having such a beautiful outdoor wedding and indoor reception location! The Royal Ambassador started out great with customer service - our first meeting answered all of our questions and pretty much solidified that we would hold our wedding there. We worked with Stella at the start and very end of the wedding planning and Shannon in the middle. The transfer of the wedding plans back and forth was a little concerning at first - our wedding did run well with a few hitches - like all weddings. Our ceremony started about 20 minutes late due to the ceremony before us running late (I do think the weddings should be spaced out more, as this cut into our photo session time). However, it was beautiful and the staff were great - they ensured our guests had food and drinks during cocktail hour and made sure we were on schedule. Following dinner was great as well - the end of night table and room was set up beautifully and presented well, and the bar tenders were great (we heard a lot of compliments from guests!).

    There were a few concerns during dinner - which the guests would not have noticed, but I did. One of the main concerns was that the whole head table was given the wrong chicken (a bland chicken rather then a stuffed one) and I was given the wrong pasta (a gluten free rose sauce rather then a gluten free white sauce that I had taste tested). Other then that the meal came out in a different order then was agreed on and there was some confusion over guest meal requests. In the grand scheme of things - we had a great day and enjoyed our venue! We know quiet a few guests who said they would like to come back to this location for a romantic dinner or would like to suggest this location for a loved one's wedding.

    thank you!

    Ashley Tucker (Mitchell)

    Sent on 07/04/2015
  • L

    leighton campbell · Married on 31/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shannon at the Royal Ambassador was wonderful in handling all the details of our wedding event. The grounds speak for themselves as the are stunning and well maintained. Our questions were always answered, our tasting was great- and all changes big and small were made easily. They were very organized which made the day run effortlessly. The staff was great. I even had a lady assigned to me and ensured we had everything we needed before during and after the wedding, including while we were taking photos. Nothing is ever perfect and sure slight issues happened-as they always will ( a wobbly chair that was replaced, the bbq had issues lighting that was quickly resolved,the vendors table wasn't served tight away ect * but they handled everything and sorted them out right away- as close to perfect can be from my eyes. We actually unfortunately had a medical emergency where an older guest needed to be taken away in an ambulance and the venue did their part to expedite the process of care. Very professional.

    Sent on 22/09/2014
  • [Anonymous]

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful location...right on a lake with a gazebo....looked like a story book wedding
    Service staff were friendly & thorough
    Food was excellent
    On your actual day, no one from the office helps you...which is a shame...

    Sent on 04/09/2014
  • R

    Robin Rutten · Married on 30/08/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and were married at the royal ambassador on Aug 30th 2014. It was beautiful. The prep leading up to the day was great! Shannon made herself available for questions facility visits etc. we loved the quality of the maintained grounds and the lovely emabssy east ball room. My guest RAVED about the food! Quality and amount. The service staff was amazing, the bar staff made a point to know and make the parents of the bride and groom feel special. The wait staff took great care of the guest and the ones assigned to my wedding party took care to keep us hydrated and happy. My wedding had 28 alergy accomidations and the chef nailed all of them...including a last minute addition day of. The only hiccup of this perfect day was ...i was late to the ceremony... Limo got lost :( ... The RA staff wanted to move my ceremony from one gazebo to the other to accomidate the other wedding that followed. We compromised and split the ceremony between the two... But There was little flexibilty in the schedule and my ceremony was very rushed...understanding that it was imposing on the other wedding, some aspects of this could have been managed differently. Ie asked the other bride to start 10-15mins later... However...the staff recovered with exceptional service and amazing quality of food. My advise...discuss, contingency plans, the schedule of other weddings befor and after your ceremony with you wedding co-ordinator in advance so you can manage your expectations day of. ...all in all get married here...worth every penny!

    Sent on 07/10/2014
  • K

    Kathryn Wozniak · Married on 16/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Royal ambassador was the first venue we visited. The beautiful grounds were imprinted in our brains and my husband and I both knew, this was the venue for us. Shannon was there for us every step of the way as we planned our wedding. She quickly responded to every email and phone call, answering all our questions and making sure we perfected every detail so our day would be special. The grounds at Royal Ambassador is every brides dream come true. You have to see it to believe it, the pictures do no justice to how beautiful it is. When it came time to plan the menu, the food we tasted was amazing. (Even for me, as I am a vegetarian.) and they were able to provide special meals for any allergy or food restriction for our guests. When it came to the day of, Shannon was there helping us every step of the way to help is determine if we should move the ceremony inside, as it was raining. We made the right call and had a beautiful ceremony inside the tent. The staff quickly and seamlessly moved the chairs for our guests for the ceremony and set everything up for us. Everything flowed perfectly the day of and that is due to the amazing staff members at Royal Ambassador. The guests were amazed by the service and food. Anna (a staff member) made sure my husband and I were taken care of and brought us drinks and food as we were running around taking pictures. I can honestly say I did not stress one bit the day of the wedding. Everything was taken care of and well organized. I had the time of my life. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart, my husband and I had a blast!

    Sent on 13/09/2014
  • Y

    Yianna Yiannacou · Married on 16/08/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding there August 16, 2014 and it went by without a hitch.

    It all started with meeting Shannon/Stella/John the owner. We signed the contract with John but Stella and Shannon helped me with the planning. They were both amazing with answering all my emails and all my questions. No complaints there at all!

    The first concern the day of the wedding was that we were getting married under the gazebo that day and, of course with my luck, it was raining. I was so upset. I got a call from my husband and he told me I had the choice between inside and out. I chose inside since I didn't want my guests to get wet. I think my husband was on the fence and kept the decision to himself until the VERY last moment. Everything was set up outside and when he told the hall we wanted to do it inside they reacted without a flaw!

    By the time I got there, everything was already set up and ready to go. There was no confusion and I felt like everything flowed smoothly.

    A big Thank You goes out to Marie who not only did everything in her power to make our wedding day unforgettable but she also did it with such earnest and love. She was there while we were taking pictures asking if we wanted something to eat or drink. She was on top of everything that I didn't even think of. She was On. The. Ball. I cannot thank her enough for all her help on that day.

    Overall our guests were marveled at how beautiful the hall was and how amazing the food and service turned out to be. The dessert bar at the end was unbelievable. They made it so that my husband and I were the first ones to see it before they allowed the guests in. That was sweet. I didn't eat any of it but it all looked AMAZING. Everyone had a blast and that was all I could ask for.

    The only complaint I had was that our food was NOT the same as it was at our tasting. It was delicious regardless of what they gave us but the meat and the fish did not match what we had at our tasting. Whatever.

    Sent on 29/09/2014
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding of my DREAMS! I picked the absolute best place to host my Wedding. From the grounds, to the staff and the food... Every detail of my wedding was an actual dream come true. Guests are still raving about the customer service they received and the incredible food that was served. Thank you to everyone at The Royal Ambassador!

    Sent on 03/10/2014
  • M

    Megan Sheard · Married on 20/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband Kevin and I had our wedding ceremony/reception at The Royal Ambassador Friday June 20th 2014. We were absolutely thrilled with the gorgeous grounds, the attentive staff + delicious food. We couldn't be happier with our wedding day!
    OUR CEREMONY: outside at the Terrace Gazebo, it was absolutely stunning! As a bride being able to look out from the balcony, take a deep breathe and walk down the beautiful walk way was everything i ever dreamed of! I loved that it made my walk down the aisle nice and long so I was able to really take the time and take it all in!
    Cocktail hour/ DINNER: We were busy with photos (and we had a getaway car to go to our new house around the corner in town to take photos). As soon as we got back the staff constantly made sure Kev and I had a drink + they made sure I got to try the signature drink which I worked so hard on to come up with! After our guests said that there was an abundance of appetizers/drinks during cocktail hour. Dinner was even better than the tasting and we loved the tasting! The lobster bisque was fantastic and the beef tenderloin was cooked to perfection. Our guests raved about the food!
    THE STAFF: We loved how attentive the staff was for us as bride and groom + to all our guests! They followed us around during our outdoor photoshoot constantly making sure we + the photographers/videographers had drinks! They helped us make sure we had everything at the end of the night to pack in the cars! I wish I remembered the specific names of the staff to mention them!
    OUR REP: Shannon was fabulous with all the planning + my one million questions. She was always calm. As a DIY bride I created most the decor, table cards, photobooth station, picture frames all my self and we had two SUVs full. She helped us bring it in and organize it prior to.
    THANK YOU to The Royal as this was the most important day of our life!!

    Sent on 07/02/2015
  • K

    Kristen Morris · Married on 05/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were very pleased with the Ambassador. Shannon was our contact person throughout the planning and organization stages and she was very helpful and quick to respond. Marie was our go-to person on our wedding day and she was fantastic. She made sure everything ran on schedule as it should, made sure we had food and drinks, and even calmed my nerves right before walking down the aisle! You don't realize how valuable her role is until you have been in a wedding where you don't have someone to do this for you. She made our day/night run so smoothly, we really can't thank her enough. The food and service was excellent and our guests are still raving to us about it. The only thing that we were not pleased with was the showing of the venue to other people while we were getting our pictures taken, so we kept having to stop to let people through and/or be watched by strangers as we were having our pictures taken. They had also recommended the Monte Carlo Inn as the host hotel, but that hotel and the staff/service was absolutely awful so would 100% suggest you go with a different hotel.

    Sent on 20/07/2014
  • S

    Sylwia Lawrynowicz · Married on 02/11/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Royal Ambassador was the perfect venue for our wedding. It was absolutely beautiful. I also had my bridal shower in the tent, and that was stunning as well. The team at Royal Ambassador was great! They were very professional and accommodating. Shannon was our point of contact and she did a wonderful job. She was always available to meet with us, or to even answer any questions we had. We were very happy with the service they provided and will use them again for our future functions!

    Sent on 18/11/2013
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.