York Mills Gallery
1885 Leslie Street M3B 2M3 Toronto (Ontario) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save
32 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
Number of guests 50 to 1000
Share

Reviews for York Mills Gallery

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Awards

32

21 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Jared Kaminsky · Married on 15/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had 400 smiling faces in the door. Everyone loved the venue. It felt spacious, and we had everything we need to make it a huge success. The space can be transformed into a fairy tale land with the drapes, and chandeliers. We were super happy with our experience at YMG!

    Sent on 30/11/2017
  • M

    Mira Saad · Married on 01/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The YMG was a dream venue! Not only is it a beautiful venue, but the service is even more amazing! After an exhaustive search of trying to find the perfect venue, we were frustrated to think that we might not find something that met all our criteria - at least not in Toronto. Isaac was extremely responsive and accommodating with all of our requests and went above and beyond to make our day special. His attention to detail is incredible from the perfectly landscaped exterior (great for photos), to the way that the servers enter a room with food. They went out of their way to know exactly what the bride and groom wanted to drink for the evening - our glasses were never empty - even with water in between, which was much appreciated at a Russian wedding with vodka flowing!
    Frances was so integral to making our day run smoothly! My never ending texts never seemed to bother her - she was like a best friend giving advice on every single aspect of our day. The itinerary was planned out perfectly and helped me consider a lot of things that I otherwise wouldn't have even thought of. On the day of our wedding she face timed me as I was getting ready to confirm how I wanted the room to look. I could not have pulled off this day without her!
    Thank you for making our day everything we wanted it to be and more!! Absolutely recommend!

    Sent on 28/11/2017
  • J

    Jessica Susa · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wedding with 360 people in attendance at the YMG1 . All of our guests loved the venue and the food. Everywhere you look is a great photo opportunity. We had the tenderloin and lobster dishes and they were outstanding. The staff did a great job and we are very happy with the service. Thanks again behalf of all of our family and friends.

    Sent on 13/09/2017
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer Macdonald · Married on 05/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had both mine and my brothers wedding in this venue. We had a great experience in both weddings. Ymg Staff was very helpful, professional and knowledgeable of our wedding customs and did their best to make our wedding a memorable one. Isaac is an amazing person, he was always available to help whenever we needed and tried his best to accommodate our unreasonable demands at times. The gallery is beautiful, spacious and well decorated with lighting with a nice dance floor. There was barely any need for external decoration. I want to Thank Isaac, Aileen, Frances, the office team and the wonderful waitstaff for making us a memorable occasion! Thank you!

    Sent on 30/11/2017
  • J

    Jenn Macaster · Married on 22/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The YMG gets 5/5 from me! Georgeous venue, delicious food, and my guests loved the atmosphere. A HUGE thank you to the in house coordinator Frances who was on the ball with every little detail. She did a fantastic job making my dream wedding come to life. Highly recommend the venue and team!!

    Sent on 30/11/2017
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa Voisard · Married on 24/06/2017

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We found out about YMG when calling preferred caterers for another venue we were looking at. catertrendz owns this venue and was building a new venue next door, for smaller weddings called YMG2. If we booked before construction was complete, we received a discounted price on the catering costs.

    We met with the catering manager who showed us the space during construction, we looked over the menu and were able to add upgrades and stay in budget. We decided to book them, and went into the office to sign the contract. Present was only the catering manager, despite the contract containing a piece about sole power being the only allowed sound and lighting company in the space. I was only explained about the plug in fee, and was actually given a list of companies I could reach out to for DJ services, so I was under the impression that any DJ could be used, bring their equipment and we pay the plug in fee. Sole power was contacted for a quote, but came back with a quote that was 2.5x higher than anyone else. We decided not to go with them, for cost and professionalism reasons. We never hear from Sole Power again until 3 months before the wedding. This is important later. I will touch upon this further down.

    Over the next few months, we have a catering manager who is pretty responsive, then suddenly I send an email and get a response from someone else. The catering manager is now gone and has been replaced with someone else. It would have been nice for them to let me know and reach to me, before I found out they were replaced. Nevertheless, our new contact is fine, I have hired a wedding coordinator at this point, so she takes over most of the communication. We schedule a tasting about 3 months before the wedding and the food is delicious. We end up having in YMG1, which I guess is ok, but the space was freezing. We never once took off our coats for the entire meal.

    The venue was actually very flexible with what we could use to decorate. However, in our contract it was stated there were "plenty" of rectangle tables, which actually only meant 3. We wanted to use rectangle tables and not round ones, so we had to pay extra to rent those. This was not expected as I was asked specifically and mentioned in the contract. The linens, tableware and glasses were all included.

    Back to the DJ situation. i would have reviewed Sole Power but they don't have a page here and they are affiliated with the venue, so this is the best place for this. As i mentioned previously, after getting a ridiculously high quote, for things I didn't understand. No effort was made to explain anything to me, nor was it shared above a few sentences in my contract that if i hired someone other than sole power, there would be consequences. I had already put down a deposit with another company, and it wasn't worth losing that. So I discover that my DJ is not allowed to bring in any speakers, or lights. We have to pay for a tech from sole power, even though i am paying the plug in fee. We have to rent all the equipment from Sole Power, even though my DJ had incuded it all for free. After a lot of attempts to compromise, we ended up with a $1000 bill for things I could have had for free. Sole power was gracious enough to discount the tech fee, but we still had to feed him a meal. Funny part was that we shared him with the wedding next door, and he chose to eat dinner there and not ours, so I paid for a vendor meal that wasn't eaten. So... before you sign a contract, make sure that someone from Sole power and YMG are present to explain EXACTLY what you are signing up for.

    Now on to the wedding day. We arrived at the venue just before our guests, our coordinator had been there since noon which is when they allowed her to start set up. Everything looked great. A few small issues, the bridal suite safe never locked, despite multiple attempts to fix it. They just gave up and never mentioned it again. Thank goodness my brother in law kept on top of our gifts and stored them safely since we couldn't use the on site safe.
    The bartenders were super friendly, in fact I think they were a little drunk. They had shots prepoured on the bar, which was nice, but they didn't have a shaker, so it meant all the shots were warm. The waitstaff forgot to pour champagne at the head table for the toast, so we had to cheers with empty glasses. At the end of the evening, the bathroom baskets were accidentally left behind, and when we went the following day to retrieve them, we were told they were taken by the cleaning staff and they were gone. No attempt at retrieving anything except the baskets themselves. We also had a few guests bring desserts and it took 3 weeks to get the dishes they gave them to the kitchen in back. I actually had to call the venue myself, because they kept asking for a photo of a bowl (who has a photo of a bowl), and refused to let anyone in the kitchen to look for themselves and didn't make any attempt to look. Finally after some persuading, they allowed the bowl owner and she located it in a few minutes.

    Overall, our wedding day was great, just a few hiccups from mostly just not knowing, since, you know, I've never planned a wedding before. If i had to do it again, I would still get married here, i would just have made a few different decisions about music and lights.

    Sent on 27/11/2017

    York Mills Gallery's reply:

    Thank you for your "review". This review is now 6 month after the wedding. To be honest; I am not sure where this came from. A week after the wedding you had sent me a direct message (if I could post screenshot, I would) stating that you "over the moon" and "thrilled with everything". At YMG we strive to make ourselves better every day. I would encourage you to reach out to us and let us know how we can make your next experience with us a better one. Thank you
  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am taking the time to write this review as I recently held a formal sixtieth birthday celebration for my mother at York Mills Gallery (YMG2), and want to share the wonderful evening I had with others who may be considering the YMG space for an upcoming event. From initial contact to post-event follow-up, Isaac, Frances and the entire team provided a level of professionalism that was truly unforgettable. They assisted with making my vision a realisation, and in the process demonstrated patience with my concerns or uncertainty and provided the requisite level of knowledge and guidance in terms of the space and its possibilities when making recommendations. I felt that they were very upfront from the beginning, providing me with all my options and the associated costs, ensuring there was a complete understanding of the contract and our mutual obligations. I appreciated their thoroughness as it is a critical element in event planning that ensures a surprise-free ending.

    The event space speaks, and shows, for itself. It is absolutely stunning when lit for the evening and will impress even the most stubborn of guests. Beyond what you can see, however, is the staff ‘behind the scenes’ that made our celebration a truly magical event. Assigned coordinators on hand the night of ensured that the evening proceeded without any glitches. Service staff, from the bartenders, to the waitstaff, to the coat check attendant, were so incredibly courteous to my guests, going above and beyond time and time again, that a full week later I am still hearing stories of ways in which staff attended to an individual guests’ needs unexpectedly. Lastly, the Chef and his amazing team. They put together a special menu in honour of our west indian background that impressed each and every guest who had the pleasure of tasting their dishes. The hors d’hoeuvres and three-course meal was above what I could have expected and was one of many elements that reassured me that I made the best decision by selecting YMG2 to host my mother’s birthday celebration.

    Advance apologies to anyone who had to grab a coffee to read through my essay. I just have nothing but positive things to say about YMG2 and would highly recommend the space to anyone with an upcoming wedding or celebration – it may be one of the best decisions you make during your event planning.

    Sent on 14/03/2017
  • [Anonymous]

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    If you want a truly honest review, read this.

    My husband and I had our wedding reception at YMG last year. The experience of planning the wedding with the venue, in my opinion, should also be taken into consideration when writing a review.

    The planning process was a nightmare! One of the owners who meets with you initially to get you to sign a contract is a real talker. Everything is "Oh no problem" "Yes we have that or we can get it" "No worries, whatever you want!" "Not a problem", etc. Turns out, many things were indeed a problem, and promises made during our initial consultation and signing were not honoured (even if it was written in the contract). There were MANY extra fees for things that were of course not mentioned when we were first discussing things. We were very explicit when asking about prices and what is included in a given price and what not. But of course, when going back to the drawing board to finalize menu, pricing and the contract- these things were no longer included, or cost more. Not to mention, the first woman we had as our planner was AWFUL. She was extremely rude, and not willing to work with us on anything. Her opinion was all that seemed to matter. Thank goodness she left the company and we got to work with someone new- who was better. Advice: PUT EVERYTHING IN WRITING right from the beginning (but just know that even then, it will not be guaranteed as they only refer to the contract and its importance when it is relevant and beneficial to them).

    We had a very specific soup we wanted, and requested for our menu tasting. It was gross at the tasting, to which they were very apologetic and agreed to have us in for another tasting to try again. They asked us exactly how we wanted it and how it is made. During our second tasting they pulled through and the soup was amazing- we were so excited! The other food was great too- no complaints. However, the night of our reception we were served the soup from the first tasting. We were EXTREMELY frustrated and disappointed. Why have us in for a second tasting if you're not going to produce what we agreed to for the night of?

    There also seemed to be a huge lack in communication between employees at YMG. I was at the venue the Friday (wedding was Saturday). I spoke to the venue manager or whoever this man was that was involved with things on the day of, and asked if we can leave some things there and come get them in the morning as we did not have vehicles and were staying in a hotel. He said no problem as long as everything is gone by noon on sunday. Great! We were there before 10am and cleared everything out. The week after the wedding, do I not get an email scolding me for leaving stuff there? "No one told you you could leave stuff there, everything is to be cleared out the night before, bla bla bla." On top of that, they tried to charge us all of these extra cleaning fees and what not. After I explained who I talked to, the charge was reversed (with no apology or anything may I add).

    These are only a few of the very large list of things that caused us headaches throughout this planning process.

    Although, I must say, the night in general was great (besides the gross soup, guests having to wait an unnecessary amount of time for wine to be poured, and lack of service at our espresso station that we paid EXTRA for and were promised EXTRA staff). - because at that point what else are we supposed to do but try to enjoy? The venue is beautiful and different and they are able to provide great food. We had a fantastic time, thank you to our vendors and entertainment. Just be aware it is quite expensive, and there are other venues that have the same look as YMG that provide a much better planning experience and customer service.

    I hope other people that have had similar experiences speak up and write a review, so hopefully other couples in the future do not have to go through what we did.

    Sent on 18/03/2017
  • M

    Melissa Ragno · Married on 16/07/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Everything was amazing! Isaac is awesome and Frances knows her stuff! Rosa was so accommodating and thorough! People are still raving about our wedding and the food is great! Thank you for such an amazing day!

    Sent on 19/07/2016

    York Mills Gallery's reply:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our YMG with other potential clients! We are delighted to read that you felt at home with us and that you enjoyed our venue and our service. We would be very happy to have you with us soon again..
  • A

    Angelika K · Married on 12/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I would like to thank the exceptional staff at York Mills Gallery! From start to finish everyone was exceptionally kind, flexible, professional and made sure to personalize our wedding celebration!! They truly did want us to be happy and made sure that happened The whole evening was absolutely seamless, stress-free and truly magical. Thank you so very much to all staff at YMG!!!!

    Sent on 24/02/2016
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.