Poets Cove Resort & Spa
9801 Spalding Rd V0N 2M3 Pender Island (British Columbia) Map · Phone number
Write a review Hired? Save

Reviews for Poets Cove Resort & Spa

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Response time 4.5

Awards

12
Order by:
  • A

    Adam Rayburn · Married on 28/07/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    A Wonderful Wedding

    We had a spectacular wedding that we will always look back fondly on. The PC staff were all great and seemed genuinely invested in the wedding’s success. The only minor complaint was that there was some very loud live music playing right beside the terrace where our guests were congregating outside our reception. They turned down upon request. It wasn’t that big of a deal but maybe something you will want to inquire about.

    Sent on 25/08/2018
  • J

    Jennifer Hughes · Married on 10/05/2014

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Overall we were pretty disappointed. We had booked the "elopement" package and originally had an amazing experience planning with the coordinator. Less than one month before the wedding, the resort was sold. The new owners and management team are doing a VERY poor job of maintaining the previous standards. We were given a new coordinator 2 days before the wedding and she was very cold, had no clue who we were, and had no clue what she was doing. It took us 6 hours upon arrival to track her down and meet with her to discuss the plan for the next morning. She had NOT reviewed our file, did not know our names, what was included, etc. We were literally left to our own devices, there was a lot of confusion, and we had very little help. There was a mix up with the cake which prevented us being able to take photos with our photographer, we did not receive our "turn down service" which included champagne, truffles, and flower pedals, and the coordinator failed to decorate the ceremony site as requested. In fact, we saw her walking around the resort with our requested decor in hand, but she never put it out. There was no support before or after the ceremony and if it was not for the AMAZING hair, spa, and make-up people, it would have been even more upsetting. We had no follow-up, we were not made to feel special, and we felt very ignored.

    Although this is a BEAUTIFUL facility and everything is very clean and modern, I would not recommend having your wedding here. I was lucky that I had only booked an elopement as I can only imagine the disaster that those who have booked large weddings will have to go through. It also does not look like it will get better any time soon as there will be another NEW wedding coordinator as this one is only staying for 3 weeks (he looks to be a 22 year old kid).

    The new management and owners should be ashamed of themselves. I really hope they realize how their decisions are going to affect their business.

    Sent on 18/05/2014
  • S

    Sophia Kent · Married on 25/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alaia and her team were amazing. My husband and I fell in love with the place when we first saw the website: but what really sold us was the responsiveness of Alaia and her team. My husband is active duty military so scheduling can be a bit of a challenge: he didn't know if he had leave to attend his own wedding until mid February and we almost had to cancel our tour of the resort. I also have a lot of unusual food allergies - as did several of my guests, but the team rose to the task of making food that was safe for all of us to eat - and not only was it safe, it was delicious! When I decided to do a self-catered meal, Alaia was ready with options for tables and chairs - as well as several options for tents should the weather turn stormy - which thankfully it didn't. Our wedding was exactly what we wanted: Small, relaxed, and enjoyed by everyone -including ourselves. When my sailor forgot his tie ... the resort even found one for him - one of the front desk agents even offered to go home and get him one if they didn't have one on site that would work for him. Alaia and her team went above and beyond to make our wedding perfect for us. Special thanks also to Nicole for her amazing ability to transform my unruly hair into a work of art and Holly for her lovely and elegant make-up.

    Sent on 29/04/2014
  • [Anonymous]

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Poets Cove Resort & Spa a couple weeks ago in Sept. and we couldnt have asked for a better venue. The staff was awesome, everyone was so friendly to all of our guests and it was evident that they went out of their way to accommodate all of our special requests. The event planner Alaia really made our wedding planning such a great experience, she was always available to answer questions and really lovely to work with!

    Sent on 16/09/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you so much for the lovely review. No requests or questions are ever too much on a wedding day. It's all about the bride and groom, and your friends and family; I'm so glad that this came across from all of our staff!
  • [Anonymous]

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jasmine and her team were incredible and went to great lengths to ensure we had everything we needed to make our wedding day (and weekend) a huge success. I would do it all over again in a heart beat!

    Sent on 27/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you! Hopefully we see you again in the future and can create a wonderful stress free vacation as well.
  • [Anonymous]

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jasmine was fantastic! Poets Cove was very accommodating. Such a beautiful place!
    Our only complaint was 3 gentlemen "crashed" our reception. 3 times we had to ask them to leave, one of the guys tried to hit our bartender and the cops were called.
    All in all it was such a great weekend and we'll absolutely be back to Poets Cove!

    Sent on 27/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you for the review! We really apologize for the disruption and have now put in a policy to ensure that security is on when there are weddings or high occupancy to assist in case any issues arise. It sounds like the rest of your day ran smoothly and I really hope that the other memories are what lasts for years to come!
  • C

    Candice Wheeler-Cust · Married on 28/07/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first moment we stepped foot onto the Poet's Cove property, we knew there was no where else we should get married. Not only is it one of the most picturesque places we have ever been, but all the staff there is also so sweet, and very accommodating. The overall value for your money is fantastic. We had looked into a couple other all in one venues, and found that Poet's Cove was by far the most affordable, and to be completely honest we probably would have paid more. Our family and friends were in complete awe of the natural beauty of Pender Island, and had no complaints at all about the resort, including the cost of the rooms which is what we were most concerned about when we booked the resort. The food on the wedding day was AMAZING, and again so affordable for what you received. We chose to go with one of the resorts buffet options and could not have been happier. Quite a few of our guests were vegeiterian, or had other dietary concerns, and the resort made sure no one would go hungry. Again SO accommodating! We love Poet's Cove so much that we plan on going back every year for our anniversary.

    Sent on 27/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind review Candice! We think the spot is magical and we're so glad that you share the sentiments. It's a bit of travel to get here so it's great to hear that the final destination was worth it. We look forward to your next visit!
  • S

    Selena Robison · Married on 17/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Poets Cove Resort and Spa was the most PERFECT place for our wedding in the summer of 2012. I am still in awe as to how amazing and memorable it all was! From the gorgeous scenery to the details of the fresh, local food, everything was exactly what we wanted. Part of the fun of having our wedding at Poets Cove was the journey for us and our guests. It was so fun to take the ferry from Vancouver and then drive the small winding roads of Pender Island to finally make it to your destination right on the water where the gorgeous cottages await you. The whole weekend provided so many personal details that reflected our tastes as a couple and thoroughly impressed our guests. We loved the fact that we could organize a welcome BBQ at our own cottage (serving fish tacos as we requested) with a beautiful view of the marina and then host a yoga session the morning of our wedding right on the terrace where we were to later be married. Our guests also had ample opportunity to take part in excursions provided by the resort. I should also mention that the planning process went great as well. A list of vendors from the island was provided to us which was extremely helpful plus Poets Cove allowed us to think outside the box. Whenever we thought of something we wanted, they were right there to accommodate us. I still can't thank Poets Cove enough for such an amazing trip! There is nothing I would change about our special day. :)

    Sent on 24/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    What a lovely comment, thank you Selena! It's always so much fun to see the individual tastes of couples come out in their wedding and the days surrounding it. It sounds like all of your planning and hard work created a truly memorable event for your guests!
  • C

    Christine Wishart · Married on 01/07/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Poet's cove did a great job in ensuring that our wedding day was everything we would have hoped for and more!

    Sent on 20/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you so much for speaking highly of the staff. Everyone at the resort really loves to help contribute to making wedding celebrations the best they can be!

  • [Anonymous]

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The planner and staff were very helpful. They were quick to attend to our every need. It was a wonderful worry free day.

    Sent on 27/06/2013

    Poets Cove Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you so much, we strive to make the wedding day effortless!
Hired this vendor?

ContestYou could win $1,000!

Plan your wedding on WeddingWire to earn chances to win $1,000. Learn more.